Borchard Farms In Salinas Valley

in The SoCal Hive2 years ago

image.png

image.png

Happy October! The month where harvest has been brought in for a big portion of the world. The weather is starting to get cooler, and the day's shorter. For my family, and I, it is our favorite time of the year, since it is the month of Ghosts, Monsters, and Pumpkins! Yes we really enjoy all the fun stuff associated with Halloween. One of those things is visiting the local Pumpkin farm. Located just 3 miles from my home is Borchard Farms. It has become a family tradition, and going on 4 years now. Sure you can go to the store, and buy a Pumpkin, but that is boring, and that Pumpkin is not special. But gong to a Pumpkin Patch, such as one like this one, whatever Pumpkin you pick out is going to be something magical! Come take a walk with me, and check out what Borchard Farms has to offer.

image.png

Walking in, you are greeted with many hues of orange, yellow, and green. This Pumpkin Farm is the real deal. I asked an employee do you all grow all these Pumpkins here? I was amazed that Borchard Farms grows 60 different variety's of Squash, and Pumpkins! Only the smaller ones are brought in. Check out what they have to offer.








image.png

Here is a variety of Squash called Turban. It caught my eye because it looks like Amanita Muscaria Mushrooms! What do you think?


It also resembles an Acorn!

image.png

Now time for the smaller varietals of Squash, and Pumpkins








For anybody that has followed along my outdoor garden this year, you would recognize that Squash on the right above. Check out this post to see when I discovered that I was growing a Squash, and not a Watermelon. Turns out it was a Chilacayote Squash. It is not grown that much here in the states. But Borchard Farms does!

image.png

What about the Giant Pumpkins?


Yes! They have those too.



Sonics evil twin brother was there as well!


Check out this one. To me it looks like a mouth. What do you see?

image.png

They even have some varietals not of this world!


image.png

I have been obsessed with the Glass Corn I grew. Check these out!


I need to get my hands on some seeds of this corn. They have these for sale for 1-2$ for just 1 ear! Which I can really understand. Not to many big farms are growing corn for decoration. Then the corn itself is not a big producer. It is more for the hobby grower. But I am still determined to make some popcorn out of it one of these days. That is if I can not stop opening them up to look at them.

image.png

There is even some beautiful birds here to look at!

This is a hit with the kids. I suppose for us adults too. It is cool seeing these type of birds, which you rarely get to see. For me the only time I see these types is when I visit Borchard Farms.



Outside view of the bird pins. They have it good here!

image.png

More then just a Pumpkin Patch!


This is the first time I recall seeing this hay maze. The haze pyramid is there every year. I do wonder if they have to erect it each year, or is it something they have to do every few years. They defiantly put a lot of work, and effort into this place. There is no price of admission. You only pay for what you get.

image.png

What is this?

A weird sound was coming from the corn field. So we went to investigate.

As we entered, the sky turned dark, and grey!

We then got lost!



And then after 5 hours we got scared. Not sure why we wondered into this corn field! Maybe Borchard Farms isn't what it seems after all?

Just kidding! That corn maze is so much fun, and I would love to visit it at night. Which you actually can. The hours of operation are 11Am-8PM. It takes up 5 acres of space, and yes you can easily get lost. We still got 21 days left of October, and we will be visiting at least 1 more time before the end. What was your favorite Pumpkin? I would love to hear in the comments. I would also love to see a post of you, and your family visiting your local Pumpkin Patch. Use the tag #pumpkinpatch, and I will check in on it daily in the next few weeks. :)

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

That looks like an epic adventure in the pumpkin patch. The maze looks fun. It's crazy how many varieties of pumpkins there are out there

It is pretty amazing on how many varieties of squash and pumpkins there are! I bet they didn’t even have them all here. It would be cool to find that out. Thanks for checking out my post :)

This is so cool. I want to start a family tradition of going to a pumpkin patch now. We don’t have grandkids yet, but once we do, I think it would be so much fun to take them to a pumpkin patch to pick out their own pumpkins. Gotta start the tradition now though. Thanks for sharing this cool tradition.

Thanks bro! The kids Grandma used to take them on a day too when she lived here. So they always had an extra Pumpkin Patch day lol.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @canna-curate ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

looks awesome there👍 so many pumpkins!

Many! Thanks for checking it out :) sorry for the late reply, @ginabot usually tells me these things, but she is MIA lol

Congratulations @jonyoudyer, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Cool! Thank you