Please join me in supporting Ukraine with a virtual tour around the country

in Curated Collections2 years ago (edited)

This is a collection of travel posts in Ukraine from various Hivers, some who have managed to flee to safety, whilst others insist on staying behind to defend their country. Whilst I have never been to Ukraine, I have read many posts in the past when curating for Pinmapple. I wanted to share a selection with everyone so when you see Ukraine as it is today, you will know the damage it has caused to people's life, normal people just like you and I. Normally when I produce a collection using other people's post I will set all the authors as beneficiary. In this case I won't. I will set @scrodinger and @zirochka as 50/50 beneficiary, the funds to be used to support Ukraine as they see fit. I hope you will join me to support Ukriane and enjoy your virtual tour around the country.

Creators for Peace - Ukraine Instagram Post.png

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@blind-spot/from-atop-the-wonderous-chalk-cliffs-by-the-oskil-river
The white cliffs of the Dvorichensky National Park is located on the east side of Ukraine less than 20km from the Russian border, so close that according to the BBC it is controlled by the Russians now. The author of this post, @blind-spot is from UAE and has been living in Ukraine for many years. He fled to Poland when the war broke out and currently is trying to sort out all the paperwork so he can stay in Poland, not the easiest thing to do when he is getting limited support from his own embassy.

https://peakd.com/hive-178708/@lilideleopolis/some-detective-stories-of-chernihiv-churches-en
@lilideleopolis is a regular on Pinmapple often taking us to see the many beautiful places in Ukraine. In this post, she is at the ancient city of Chernihiv in the north of Ukraine. Fortunately the Russians hasn't managed to control this area yet, but it seems they are on the outskirts. I hope they won't be able to make any further advances.

https://peakd.com/swmchallenge/@gmenka/a-walk-in-the-best-park-for-recreation
As we all know, Donetsk is one of two Russian backed separatist areas that Putin used as an excuse to start this war. From @gmenka's post we are told that the Donestsk park has the largest rose garden in Ukraine, it all looked so peaceful and calm back in 2018.

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@thijsvermeer/entering-the-exclusion-zone-at-chernobyl-traveling-back-in-time
Chernobyl, the site of one of the worse nuclear disaster was taken over by Russia very early on in the war. During peace time, many visited the exclusion zone to see for themselves the aftermath of the 1986 disaster. This is a great post from @thijsvermeer about his experience.

https://peakd.com/travel/@erikaflynn/spring-walk-in-asmolov-park-sumy-ukraine
Sumy is located in the north eastern region of Ukraine just 35km from the border. It was invaded by the Russians very early on and fighting between the two countries is still continuing. @erikaflynn took us on a walk around back in 2019. I can imagine the two worlds couldn't be more different now.

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@priyanarc/a-day-at-houryiv-kozachok-village-zolochivsky-district-kharkov-oblast-ukraine-selo-gurev-kozachok-zolochevskii-raion
@priyanarc, a Bangaldeshi has been living in Kharkiv in the east of Ukraine for many years. She had to flee when the war broke out and is now safe in Poland. Last year she had to sort out some paperwork for her Ukrainian residency and that took her to a little village towards the Russian border. Another gem from Ukraine that probably is changed beyond recognition today.

https://peakd.com/hive-155530/@olga.maslievich/night-walk-around-the-town-hall-and-lviv-croissants-34-photos-of-architectural-masterpieces
Lviv is the largest city in western Ukraine and the hometown of @olga.maslievich. She wrote this post 5 months ago on her last night in Lviv before moving to live further out of the city. You can feel her sentiment of having to leave the city, and no doubt now she has had to leave the country, must be so heart breaking for her.

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@nadin-zakrevska/den-nezalezhnosti-moyeyi-derzhavi-independence-day-of-my-state-ua-en
Last year was Ukraine's 30th Independance day and @nadin-zakrevska took her son on a trip to the capital Kyiv. For those who's never been to Kyiv, myself include, they city looks so beautiful, with lots of history and architecture. I hope I can make it there one day and the glory will still be there. @nadin-zakrevska is now safely in Poland with her son.

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@scrodinger/odesa-guidebook-must-see-places-7-odessa-passage
Odessa is a port city in the south of Ukraine and holds strategic significance. Odessa Passage is one of the most famous landmark in the city and it will be devastnig if that is destroyed. @scrodinger lives in Odessa, and is still there. In her latest post she said "Arrivals" to the region and near Odessa began. Please follow her blog where she shares the latest chronicle and is curating Ukrainian posts.

https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@zirochka/fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them-in-kyiv-p-17-20
Last and not the least, I must include a post from @zirochka who is still in Kyiv. Those are the days when she could roam freely around Kyiv with her little friend Sonia and show us the knick knacks of the city. Hopefully these happy days will return very soon.

Sort:  

What a wonderful idea of the post! Taking a virtual tour around the country, stopping in those cities that are on news almost every day and not because of their attractions 😨 I think if how much all those authours changed, and cities too. It can't be reversed.

It's a shame that I checked it out only today, I'm.so sorry for that.

THANK YOU! 💛💙

Don't worry @zirochka you have more important things to do right now than to respond to all the notifications and messages on Hive!! Hopefully the additional payout will help more people in need.

By the way, remember the charity concert in UK I mentioned? That was tonight and they raised over £11m. Antytila wasn't allowed to perform in the end as the organisers said this is a humanitarian function and can't have a military connection as the band as currently soldiers. Here's a clip if you're interested, be nice to relax a little 🙂

I missed the concert and almost missed your comment 😊

Hopefully the additional payout will help more people in need.

There are so many calls for help, so it will help! My most sincere appreciation ❤️

The raised amount from the charity concert is impressive indeed. And the video made me feel nostalgic...

Like in Syria, the Russians hope the continues killings will become old news and a new norm. We need to keep supporting and be aware that the criminal Oligarchs are exploiting Russia and the world.

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That´s a very nice initiative Pauline, thank you so much for all your care and support of our Ukrainian fellows. I´m so proud and happy to see all the solidarity coming from our community, it´s so heartwarming in these sad times...

Слава Україні!

Every one is doing what they can to help,and since we're so far away, moral support is the best we can do under these circumstances. I hear you're helping to find accommodation in Poland? Hope to all goes well

Absolutely, every help counts, every effort matters... Me helping to find accommodation? Not really, I just connected some people. The thanks and credit should go the Krakowian Hivers, it will be them who will take care of one of our fellow Hiver who escaped from the war nightmare...

Connections are key, that's what makes things work 💪

This is so thoughtful and heartbreaking. Thank you for gathering together all of these posts. 💙💛

That's the least I can do now, thanks for helping to spread the post

This post is absolutely fantastic. It's going to take me a little while to get through them but I'm reading each and every one. Thank you so much for sharing.

Thanks for your support as well

Thank you so much for doing this @livinguktaiwan , I am familiar with some of these Hivers and have been supporting their posts when I can. Am going to see the Ukrainians that I don't know 💙💛

Thank @tengolotodo, I think a couple are no longer active on Hive, but as long as they are safe and sound, that's what matters now

My pleasure @livinguktaiwan yeah I have noticed that but I hope they are safe and sound too. It is good as I have found some other users via these posts.

Thanks for your mention!

Hope all is well in Poland for you and your son, and that you can return home very soon

Those days, were unforgettable... I just hope that one day I will be able to get back to my home from where I started my life from zero. I will go back to my city Kharkiv again...

I'm sure you will. Just look after yourself now. Take care

Wonderful initiative. Thank you!

Just doing what they can to help those in need. Thanks for dropping by

Brilliant post and I follow a couple of the people already, in fact long before the war broke out. I’ve been keeping up to date with someone I know from years back, who isn’t on hive. A Brit living in Odessa with his Ukrainian wife both have fled to Bucharest and likely to move on from there soon.

Let’s hope this stupid stupid pointless war ends soon.

It's great that your friend got out, will he be coming back home first? Odessa seems like the next target and it's very worrying 😔

They’ll be coming home as in Surrey for awhile. I’d say that they are amongst the luckier ones right now. However will they have a home to return to when this ends. It’s horrifying. Here I am in the comfort of my living room and can’t ever imagine what it would be like to be under attack.

I dunno, sometimes I think it could be us, and we have no basement to go to....

You are right. We do ruffle a lot of feathers as a nation and always a potential target. I might start taking the Preppers more seriously.

Congratulations @livinguktaiwan! You received a personal badge!

Congratulations on the purchase of your NFT for Peace.
Thank you for encouraging peace in Ukraine and helping civilians who suffer from war.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy 6th Birthday to the Hive Community
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you very much for your support! Be sure to come to us after the war is over. I promise a tour not only of interesting places but also in gastronomic terms ❤️
The support of the Hive community is extremely valuable to us! And yours personally!

You got me at gastronomy!!! I will definitely take up your offer when the time comes.

You take care in Odessa and look after yourself 💙💛

What is happening in Ukraine right now is just heartbreaking, I was able to go through all the posts featured in this publication, and it's just awful what has happened to this beautiful country.

The old buildings and different beautiful structures are just exquisite, I hope the Ukrainians whom this war has displaced make their way back to their home, you did a great job highlighting these struggles faced by Ukrainians.

My thoughts and prayers are with them.

Thanks for dropping by