Sundays/ Domingos [Eng/Esp]

in Catarsis3 years ago
Hello friends of Catarsis a community like this is necessary for all of us who write and from time to time wish to express ourselves beyond just informing or talking about a topic. Today I want to share with you something that I have been thinking about for a long time and once while reviewing and reading things on the internet I came across a phrase that really made me stop:

PA180364.JPG
Source: @emimoron

Hola amigos de Catarsis una comunidad como esta es necesaria para todos nosotros los que escribimos y de vez en cuando deseamos expresarnos más allá de sólo informar o hablar de un tema. Hoy deseo compartir con ustedes algo que durante mucho tiempo he pensado y que una vez revisando y leyendo cosas en internet me topé con una frase que realmente me hizo detenerme:

"We are what we do and don't tell anyone. And what we think about on Sunday nights when we turn off the light." Book 1775 streets. This sentence made me think about what we really are or at least I am from that what I do that no one tells him or all that I reflect every Sunday, and you may wonder why Sundays, in my particular case it is because Sundays is my day off, well with a little more time for me and my things. For a long time now my days fade away in front of the computer screen as soon as I stop to prepare some food and continue, it has not been easy to work from home because many people assume that teleworking is 24 hours and that is not so.

“Somos eso que hacemos y no le contamos a nadie. Y lo que pensamos los domingos por la noche al apagar la luz.” Libro 1775 calles. Esta frase me hizo pensar en lo que realmente somos o por lo menos soy a partir de eso que hago que nadie le cuento o todo lo que reflexiono cada domingo, y ustedes se preguntarán porqué los domingos, en mi caso particular es porque los domingos es mi día libre, bueno con un poco más de tiempo para mí y mis cosas. Desde hace ya mucho tiempo mis días se desvanecen frente a la pantalla del computador apenas me detengo para preparar algo de comida y seguir, no ha sido nada fácil trabajar desde casa porque muchas personas asumen que el teletrabajo es de 24 horas y eso no es así.

But we can talk about that another time. What do I think about on Sunday nights after a long day dedicated to housework, shopping, cleaning and I'll stop counting all the things that I didn't do during the week and that must be done before Monday arrives. My thoughts every Sunday night fly away to faraway places that I once knew and swore that when I was over 40 years old I would visit again and even why not to stay and live there, beautiful islands of deep blue water with stories of pirates, mermaids and much more.

Pero bueno de eso podemos hablar en otra oportunidad. En qué pienso los domingos por la noche luego de un día largo dedicada a las cosas del hogar, hacer las compras, limpiar y paré usted de contar de todo eso que durante la semana no hecho y que debe quedar listo antes de que llegue el día lunes. Mis pensamientos cada domingo por la noche se van volando a lugares lejanos que una vez conocí y juraba que al cumplir más de 40 años volvería a visitar e incluso porque no a quedarme a vivir allá, hermosas islas de agua azul intenso con historias de piratas, sirenas y mucho más.

However, I turned 40 in the middle of the pandemic and it has been almost two years seeing the sea in the photos and in my memories; every Sunday I imagine the times I should have fulfilled my dreams and stayed in those places without caring about anything but fulfilling my dreams, I always said I know I will return to stay, today I am convinced that someday I will. After everything I have lived and spent every Sunday I can't help but think that I would trade all my studies, the languages I speak and the knowledge I have for the opportunity to have a business in front of the sea selling mojitos and some food and be happy with what I have every day.

Sin embargo, cumplí 40 en medio de la pandemia y son casi dos años viendo el mar en las fotos y en mis recuerdos; cada domingo me imagino las veces que debí cumplir mis sueños y quedarme en esos lugares sin importar nada más que cumplir mis sueños, siempre decía yo sé que volveré para quedarme, hoy estoy convencida que algún día lo haré. Luego de todo lo vivido y transcurrido cada domingo no puedo evitar pensar que cambiaría todos mis estudios, los idiomas que hablo y el conocimiento que tengo por la oportunidad de tener un negocio en frente del mar vender mojitos y algo de comida y ser feliz con lo que tenga cada día.

Every Sunday as I take the laundry out of the washing machine, check the food in the kitchen and clean the house I think that I spent all week wearing myself out in a job that makes me a slave to a schedule that demands so much more from me every day, I reflect on all the times I told my family that I would attend family gatherings later because I had work to do and that we still had time together and work could not wait, they did, big mistake, some of them I will never see again.

Cada domingo al sacar la ropa de lavadora, revisar la comida en la cocina y limpiar la casa pienso que pasó toda la semana desgastándome en un trabajo que me hace esclava de un horario que exige de mi mucho más cada día, reflexiono acerca de todas las veces que le dije a mi familia que luego asistiría a las reuniones familiares porque tenía trabajo que hacer y que aún nos quedaba tiempo juntos y el trabajo no podía esperar ellos sí, tamaño error, a algunos ya no los podré volver a ver.

This Sunday my thoughts have remained in the middle of the cups of coffee and the memories of the kisses and hugs that I will no longer give to those who were once an important part of my life and I could not recognize them, in my Sunday time passes slowly and today I have decided that it is better this way because when I turn off the light I will find myself again with the image of what I long for and what I really am, well I still have Sundays to reflect or act and I will decide, meanwhile as Sundays have changed.

Este domingo mis pensamientos se han quedado en medio de las tazas de café y los recuerdos de los besos y abrazos que ya no daré a quienes alguna vez fueron parte importante de mi vida y no pude reconocérselos, en mi domingo el tiempo pasa lento y hoy he decidido que es mejor así porque al apagar la luz me he de encontrar nuevamente con la imagen de eso que tanto anhelo y lo que realmente soy, bueno aún me quedan domingos para reflexionar o actuar ya lo decidiré, mientras tanto como han cambiado los domingos.

emimoron.jpg

Original photo of Bonaire Island @emimoron

Foto original de la Isla de Bonaire @emimoron

Sort:  

Such a wonderful post here that goes to the root of the problem with modern life: we are too often doing things we hate for work and it consumes us. We wish we took risks, did things differently but can’t do that or won’t do it for one reason or another. I think it’s important to try and do these things when we can because, especially with the past year and change, the more we do for ourselves the better we are and the less we can be damaged by the powers that shouldn’t be who are determined to destroy us. We do what we can and need to in order to keep our family safe, fed and warm in a household. We should be able to have the opportunity to do more than that and sometimes it’s small things that we can do to better the situations we are in. I think one of those things is thankfully cryptocurrency and the freedom it offers so many people. It’s still in its infancy but there is a lot of opportunity that is there and it’s not been stifled yet because the old guard doesn’t know enough about it to destroy it yet. The internet and computers are a challenge to our lives because we are constantly connected but we also are able to do something and break free just with the power of the internet and I think that’s huge.

Thanks for some wonderful thoughts here! I’m hoping that you can improve your work and home situation so that you get more time to do things that aren’t work and enjoy life, it doesn’t slow down it only gets faster unfortunately!!

Thank you very much for your comment certainly this year I have managed to improve some situations at the economic level, as you rightly point out thanks to cryptocurrencies and the freedom that gives you the internet however we have had situations in which I had to leave the important to address the urgent, but I feel that gradually move towards a change and as you say friend achieve risk to achieve something more, those dreams that I want to achieve. Thank you for your comment