Thoughts from a desk | About Social Media censorship

in Informationwar3 years ago

One of the things I despise the most - and I don't mean to be political here, take this post as a general critique to humanity and our deviant ways, not a specific political party - is censorship masked as protection and cancel culture disguised as oppression.

Today, I woke up and a friend had shared with me an Instagram image that turned out to be censored by the platform in order to protect the viewers and I was like "what? why? and also, who does Instagram think they are to decide what is harmful for me or anyone else for that matter?".

See, the problem of giving this kind of power to tech giants like Instagram/Facebook/Whatsapp to do things like this that little by little, tech giants continue to get a hold of every single piece of controllable entity. And yeah, that power is handed to them by us, if we didn't comply with their crap and just stopped using it once a crazy measure such as this one was taken, they would stop, they would know their limits, but they keep pushing those limits and people keep taking it in their rear, no questions asked.

image.png

Instagram and Fact checkers get to decide what gets posted or not, just like an publisher and like a social media platform.

Since Donald Trump won the US elections in 2016, tech giants realized the power that social media actually has besides the well known data control that makes them incredibly powerful. Social media has been used for a decade to shape society towards a reality that the powers high above want, that is well known, but in 2016 social media proved there is another use case for these platforms, and that is actually to change reality, not just shape it in a subtle way by using subconscious strategies; social media can not only shape society, but it can also change the reality. Trump won thanks to meme magic in social media, and sure as hell they won't let that happen again, at least not when the outcome is not the one they want.

And that is when it get really scary. Most people I know - and I'm not surrounded by idiots. Granted, my inner circle is not made off MENSA members, or Quantum mechanics experts, or anything like that, but I wouldn't be exaggerating when I say most of them are a step or two below that level - browse Facebook and get their news from it, not from Papers or Websites (which are also following the same narrative as social media and tech giants, so it doesn't matter in the end, but it matters by principle). This means that anything they read, has already been curated - and censors if needed, or even nuked - by Facebook.

The information way is already here and it's not only affecting society in a subconscious way, it is now actively messing up with it in a deeper level.

I would like to go on a much deeper level here, but this is my first freewrite in about a year and I'm getting dry, not of ideas, but of ways to express myself and to be able to keep writing about this topic. I promise I will make another post about this once I'm back on track.

Sort:  

It's funny how only one side's information ends up getting flagged isn't it? Hopefully a lot of people will leave the major social media sites and not join a different one, but replace it with nothing.

Just part of the Nanny State, isn't it? Once you give others the power, they automatically get authority over what you're old enough (or smart/strong enough) to see, and what you are not. Trouble is, most people aren't even aware of this censorship. They simply assume they're being fed the right version of the news. Of reality.

I was just talking about this the other day with a friend. This video from a local news agency had gone viral, and she was raving about it. I dared point out that said agency might not have people's best interests at heart, and that she ought to take everything with a grain of salt. She looked at me like I was a conspiracy theorist, because... why would anyone want to lie?

More freewrites, please ;)

I am almost done with the social media such as twitter , instagram and the facebook its beyond a joke now you can not post or say anything with ought getting a warning or a removal of post or comment or even losing the account. this week I lost my Instagram account that is a commercial and corporate photography page because apparently I broke there community guidelines ? Iposted a picture of a door and this goes against there guidelines ? WTF is going on with this platform I set up a new account and within half hour of posting 6 images I broke there guidelines as I was apparently now spamming I give up with it its ridicules now.
If I lose now any accounts due to there stupid platforms I will not set up any new ones .

Totally agree. It's getting stupid out there. Beyond frustrating, it's dangerous.

100% upvoted by our trail of 150+ people :)

This is apparently "okay" because the sites that aren't being censored (aka pushing the acceptable narrative) are "reputable" -_-