You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spreading "misinformation" and "conspiracy theories"... This is a phrase I am hearing/reading more often these days.

in Informationwar3 years ago

It can be easy to momentarily forget that our truth is simply that. Ours. We can lose track of the FACTS and start to apply our own bias in interpretation.

It's not completely avoidable as we are human. Yet we can become aware of it and hopefully keep it from steering us wrong too often.

You are just getting to know me. I have a real pet peeve when it comes to absolutes (most often are not true) and generalizations (really just a different category of absolute).

It makes it hard for me to think of anything that I believe should be censored for being misinformation.

There is no one that I absolutely trust. This includes myself, because I debate internally with myself frequently, and thus change my mind frequently.

There is an upside to this maybe.

I'll listen/read/watch anyone talk about ANYTHING. I can do so without fear they are going to corrupt my mind. I can listen without believing them. I can also listen and think some parts of what they are saying don't make sense to me, yet I might see some parts that do.

Instead of zoning in on something I disagree with and then tossing out the entire thing I can sometimes still find some bits of value in the whole.

Since I don't believe anyone completely EVERYTHING is potentially misinformation as far as I am concerned.

The key is whether someone is knowingly telling you something they know is false. That is what we call a lie. "knowingly" is the keyword there.

If a person believes what they are telling you is true then they are not lying. They can still be incorrect, but it isn't a lie.