Practica el minimalismo en tu trabajo // Practice minimalism in your work

in Blog to Grow2 years ago

Hola, querido hiver.
¿Cuántas iniciativas se convocan en Hive todos los días? Ignoro por completo la respuesta. De hecho, es algo que no me preocupa en absoluto. Pero es que la semana pasada me volvió a ocurrir: recibí la invitación de dos personas diferentes para participar en una misma iniciativa. Gracias por pensar en mí, @lormez16 y @cescajove. Me siento más que honrada por ello porque ambas me servís de inspiración.

Ya te he dicho alguna vez que no creo en las casualidades, por lo que me he puesto manos a la obra y a redactar este post. Ya no llega para optar a ninguna recompensa, pero eso es lo de menos. Lo gano en oportunidad de reflexión y de compartirla contigo. ¿Hacen falta más motivos?

La convocatoria original está en este enlace y el tema a tratar es el minimalismo en el trabajo.

Fuente Imagen


A qué nos referimos con minimalismo

El minimalismo está lejos de ser una moda. Quizás se esté conociendo más tras la pandemia de Covid-19, gracias a fenómenos como la gran renuncia, pero hace años que se escribe sobre esta corriente que de momento podemos elegir como opción y que, como no cambien los acontecimientos venideros, muchos van a tener que practicar por obligación.

Consideramos minimalismo a un estilo de vida en el que se da prioridad absoluta a lo esencial, desechando todo lo superfluo o accesorio.

Menos es más.
Mies Van der Rohe, arquitecto alemán.

Elegir el minimalismo es optar por el camino difícil, al menos en la sociedad occidental actual. Es un acto de valentía conformarse y sentirse bien con lo que se tiene, cuando a todas horas eres bombardeado con estímulos dirigidos a que aumente tu consumo de objetos, experiencias y personas. A veces dan ganas de irse a una cueva a vivir como un asceta. Humm, si tienen wifi me lo pensaría, jeje.


Prácticas minimalistas en el trabajo

Centrándonos en lo que se pedía en el concurso, aplicar el minimalismo al trabajo, te cuento lo que he practicado y practico. Es mi forma de trabajar, lo que yo necesito para sentirme productiva al tiempo que motivada y tranquila con lo que hago. Te invito a que pruebes estas prácticas y me cuentes tus resultados.

1. Establece pocos objetivos, bien claros y definidos
En España decimos que el que mucho abarca, poco aprieta. Reflexiona sobre lo que quieres conseguir, elige pocas metas y haz que cada tarea que realices esté enfocada hacia ellas.

Te surgirán nuevas posibilidades deslumbrantes cual fuegos artificiales, te lo aseguro. No es fácil evitar los cantos de sirena a menos que, como Ulises y sus marineros, te calces unos buenos tapones en las orejas. Yo lo llamo ponerse las anteojeras de burro. ¿Cómo se consigue? Pasa a la recomendación 2.

2. Aprende a decir NO
Sí, en mayúsculas y en negrita. N-O. Hay que ver lo difícil que se nos hace pronunciar estas dos letras. Queremos que todos nos aprecien y tememos que si no aceptamos lo que nos proponen dejarán de hacerlo. Pues ahí va un secreto a voces: ¡¡LES DA IGUAL!! (Te advertí que iba a gritar). Te recuerdo que estamos refiriéndonos al ámbito laboral, por lo que no estás ahí para hacer amigos. Que si llegan, genial. Pero no creo que esté en tus objetivos del punto 1, ¿me equivoco?

3. Evita las distracciones. Multitarea incluida
Céntrate en lo que tienes entre manos. Si tu tarea requiere concentración, aíslate tanto como puedas: cámbiate de estancia, cierra la puerta, ponte auriculares, colócate mirando hacia la pared. Combínalas si es necesario.

Una distracción provocada por nosotros mismos es la multitarea. Pretender realizar más de una cosa a la vez y que ambas estén bien hechas es tener una ignorancia supina o ser más candoroso que Heidi. Nuestra atención es un recurso limitado y como tal debes tratarla. Algo tan sencillo como quitar el sonido a las notificaciones del móvil se traduce en un aumento de tu concentración (a tecnología puede ser tu peor pesadilla o tu mejor aliada).

4. Procesa por lotes
Esta es una de las recomendaciones que más he tardado en aplicar, lo reconozco. Desde que lo descubrí no solo me cunde más, sino que encima me quedo con la sensación de que hago más de lo previsto en un principio.

La técnica es de lo más sencillo: consiste en agrupar las tareas de naturaleza similar o que precisen de la misma herramienta para llevarlas a cabo. Al no cambiar de herramienta, conseguirás una inercia que facilita terminar más rápido invirtiendo menos energía. El ejemplo más típico es el de procesar todo tu correo electrónico de una vez, hasta conseguir una bandeja de entrada vacía.

5. Pocas herramientas, bien aprovechadas
Soy una friki de los programas y aplicaciones de productividad. Me encanta probarlos todos, cuantos más colorines, casillas o etiquetas ofrezcan, mejor. Y eso es un pozo sin fondo de procrastinación. ¿Adivinas qué es lo que mejor me ha funcionado? Las aplicaciones por defecto de calendario y recordatorios de mi móvil. Y para todo lo demás, ¡tacháaan! ¡Papel y boli! En mi post sobre bullet journal te conté cómo me organizo con estas maravillosas herramientas de tecnología punta, jeje.


A pesar de lo anterior, es importante reconocer cuándo ocurre un suceso con la importancia necesaria como para que envíes estas recomendaciones al garete y corras a apagar ese fuego. Hay que saber ser flexible y adaptarse a las circunstancias.

Recuerda ante cualquier duda esta pregunta mágica que Marco Aurelio nos propone hacernos a cada instante:

Esto, ¿puede serme acaso de alguna utilidad?
Marco Aurelio. Meditaciones.


Aviso: Todo lo publicado en este post es de mi autoría, excepto los elementos en los que doy crédito a su/s autor/es. Por tanto, en caso de plagio o difusión sin mi permiso, ejerceré mis derechos de autor si así lo estimo oportuno.
Si te gusta lo que publico, únete a mi Fanbase pinchando aquí




ENGLISH VERSION

Hello, dear hiver.
How many initiatives are called on Hive every day? I am completely unaware of the answer. In fact, I don't care about it at all. But it happened to me again last week: I received an invitation from two different people to participate in the same initiative. Thanks for thinking of me, @lormez16 and @cescajove. I feel more than honoured because you both inspire me.

I've already told you that I don't believe in coincidences, so I got down to work and wrote this post. It's not enough to qualify for any reward, but that's the least of it. I gain it in the opportunity to reflect and share it with you. Do we need more reasons?

The original call for entries is at this link and the theme is minimalism at work.

Image Source


What do we mean by minimalism?

Minimalism is far from being a fad. Perhaps it is becoming better known after the Covid-19 pandemic, thanks to phenomena such as the big renunciation, but for years now people have been writing about this trend that for the moment we can choose as an option and that, unless the coming events change, many are going to have to practice out of obligation.

We consider minimalism to be a lifestyle in which absolute priority is given to the essential, discarding everything superfluous or accessory.

Less is more.
Mies Van der Rohe, German architect.

Choosing minimalism is choosing the difficult path, at least in today's Western society. It is an act of courage to be content and feel good with what you have, when you are bombarded all the time with stimuli aimed at increasing your consumption of objects, experiences and people. Sometimes you feel like going to a cave to live like an ascetic. Humm, if they have wifi I'd think about it, hehe.


Minimalist practices at work

Focusing on what was asked for in the contest, applying minimalism at work, I will tell you what I have practiced and what I practice. It is my way of working, what I need to feel productive, motivated and at ease with what I do. I invite you to try these practices and let me know your results.

1. Set few, clear and well-defined goals.
In Spain we say that "he who grasps too much, grasps too little". Reflect on what you want to achieve, choose a few goals and make every task you perform focused on them.

New dazzling possibilities will appear like fireworks, I assure you. It is not easy to avoid the siren songs unless, like Ulysses and his sailors, you wear good earplugs. I call it donkey blinders. How do you do it? Move on to recommendation 2.

2. Learn to say NO.
Yes, in bold capital letters. N-O. It's hard for us to pronounce these two letters. We want everyone to appreciate us and we fear that if we don't accept what they propose to us, they will stop doing so. Well, here's an open secret: THEY DON'T CARE!!! (I warned you I was going to shout). I remind you that we are referring to the workplace, so you are not there to make friends. If they come along, great. But I don't think it's in your objectives in point 1, am I wrong?

3. Avoid distractions. Multitasking included.
Focus on the task at hand. If your task requires concentration, isolate yourself as much as you can: move to another room, close the door, put on headphones, face the wall. Combine them if necessary.

A distraction caused by ourselves is multitasking. To pretend to do more than one thing at a time and have them both done well is either supremely ignorant or more naive than Heidi. Our attention is a limited resource and must be treated as such. Something as simple as turning off the sound of mobile notifications translates into an increase in your concentration (technology can be your worst nightmare or your best ally).

4. Batch process
This is one of the recommendations that I have been slowest to implement, I admit it. Since I discovered it, not only do I get more done, but I also have the feeling that I get more done than I originally planned.

The technique is very simple: it consists of grouping tasks of a similar nature or that require the same tool to carry them out. By not changing tools, you will achieve an inertia that makes it easier to finish faster while investing less energy. The most typical example is to process all your email in one go, until you get an empty inbox.

5. Few tools, well used
I'm a productivity software geek. I love trying them all, the more colours, boxes or labels they offer, the better. And that's a bottomless pit of procrastination. Guess what has worked best for me? The default calendar and reminder apps on my phone. And for everything else, ta-daaaan, pen and paper! In my post about bullet journal I told you how I get organised with these wonderful high-tech tools, hehe.


Despite the above, it is important to recognise when an event occurs that is important enough for you to send these recommendations to the gutter and run to put out the fire. You have to be flexible and adapt to the circumstances.

When in doubt, remember this magic question that Marcus Aurelius suggests we ask ourselves at all times:

Can this be of any use to me?
Marcus Aurelius. *Meditations.


Notice: Everything published in this post is of my authorship, except for the elements in which I give credit to its author/s. Therefore, in case of plagiarism or dissemination without my permission, I will exercise my copyright if I deem it appropriate.
Translated with (free version) www.DeepL.com/Translator
If you like my content, join my Fanbase clicking here


Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @palomap3 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What an excellent blog @palomap3! My mother believed in minimalism, but I only started practicing that during Covid.
How liberating to make do with what was in the food cupboards, I cleared out the kitchen cupboards and gave away utensils I wasn't using. I can now actually see what I have plus I discovered stuff I'd been searching for! The same happened with clothing and linen.
One almost feels lighter!
I have to learn to say no and work more smartly as I do waste a ton of time trying to multitask.
Thank you for sharing this excellent blog and advice here on Hive!

Absolutely, we have far fewer real needs than we think. It feels so light to let go of what is left over.
I was brought up in scarcity, there was no shortage of necessities but we had no whims. What I assumed with resignation then is now something I choose with conscience.
Thanks for your visit and for improving the post with your comment. 🤗

Desde un principio cuando escuche la palabra “Minimalismo” se me vino a la mente la conjugación de diversos conceptos. Para solucionar eso (para entonces no había internet) me di a la tarea de investigar, preguntando, indagando entre personas situadas en núcleos filosóficos y así… Alguien me informó, de forma general, que es una tendencia de ciertas personas en reducir o vivir con lo más esencial dentro de su entorno. Se despojan de algunos elementos que les parecen sobrantes o que no poseen la practicidad de uso. Casi toda esa filosofía es utilizada por decoradores, arquitectos y otras muchas actividades artísticas que disfrutan y aprovechan los componentes básicos.
En cuanto a tus cinco prácticas minimalistas, están bien infundadas para desarrollar una actividad cómoda, que te genera tranquilidad y beneficios cuando desarrollas tu actividad laboral. Usando pocos objetivos, se le puede dar una mayor atención para llegar a la meta. Decir “NO” siempre y cuando sea conveniente para conservar nuestra paz y armonía con ese entorno minimalista. Las distracciones a menudo son molestosas, que no generan ganancia al tiempo, a la hora. Procesar por lotes, eso depende del tipo de trabajo que desarrollas. Existen muchas actividades que se deben hacer “una por una”, como el “sacarles las piedras a las caraotas” (risas). Eso sí, toda herramienta de trabajo debe estar bien aprovechada y justificada en nuestra actividad laboral.
¡Bravo! Por tu publicación, me gustó haberla leido. ¡Gracias!
Saludos mi estimada @palomap3

Oh, ¡menudo pedazo de comentario! En efecto, la corriente minimalista se aplica también en las artes. Si bien el origen es supuestamente moderno, en realidad ya fue promulgado por los primeros filósofos conocidos. Solo que no se le dio un nombre como tal.
Cuando nos desprendemos de lo superfluo y nos centramos en lo esencial, se experimenta una comunión con nuestro quehacer. Al menos a mí me ocurre.
Me ha gustado mucho tu resumen, te estoy muy agradecida por haberme leído con tanta atención y por transmitir tus impresiones. Lo aprecio mucho, pues me sirve para seguir mejorando en mi escritura.
Te envío un fuerte abrazo desde España. 🤗

Oh this is incredible.... and yes imhabe written a participation post of this contest ... And you are right when we say no boldly... don't allow folks force you do things you aren't willing to do. And yup I just followed your fanbase💓

I wanted to give you a surprise and you give it to me!

You are right, the healthiest thing is to do what we want.

A big hug 🤗.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

A distraction caused by ourselves is multitasking. To pretend to do more than one thing at a time and have them both done well is either supremely ignorant or more naive than Heidi.

Spot on! I used to multitask so much that it profoundly affected my health. It's better to excel in one thing than to be mediocre in many things.

Via Dreemport.

You’re right! It is sad that some of us have had to learn this when we have fallen into burnout. Fortunately, it is never too late to remedy it. 😌

Thanks for your visit, dreemer. 🤗

You are most welcome. Your post is always a delight to read 😃

I've noticed that multitasking actually limits our effectiveness in a particular duty... It's rather better to finish up one before jumping into another
Making firm decisions is a big part of life yet to be perfected by many, well, we keep learning everyday

I enjoyed your piece, Minimalism 👍
Popped in via @dreemport

Totally agree. You hit the nail on the head with making firm decisions. It is something that has taken me four decades and a lot of suffering to achieve. Hopefully, I have another half a lifetime to enjoy putting it into practice. It's never too late to keep learning!
Thanks for your visit, dreemer. 🤗

You are welcome

Those are really great points. I like the saying no part the best!! We all need to say no more often.

It is hard to get rid of the ideas that they have tried to instil in you since you were a child. But when you get it, you are free! 🤗

For sure, this is the worst aspect of school, teaching kids to obey so-called "authority figures". It is the reason why the world is in the mess it currently is in.

I love to practice minimalism in my work, work as minimal as possible 😁

LOLLLL You are smart, very smart!!! I learned the hard way, but the important thing is that I did. 🤗

Great recommendations. Thanks for sharing.
#dreemport

Many of the techniques you talk about here are ones that have served me well! Work smarter not harder! Thanks for sharing :)

Hey, that's a good slogan! I love it. 🤩🤗

I'm an avid supporter of minimalism.

And yes it DOES take courage to flout society's ideals of "success" and abandon consumerism. The judgement and lack of respect from some people is quite eye-opening!

I never thought to take minimalism into the work place. And boy do I need this!

Interesting and helpful post and I DO LIKE THE WAY YOU WRITE! 😁

Happy Monday P 🌺

Ohhh I'm so flattered that you like my writing. It's mutual, I really admire the way you express yourself.

Minimalism brings an incredible freedom. Once you lighten the weight you wonder how the hell you could carry that weight on your back.

I can't remember who is the author of a saying that always appealed to me:

He is not richest who has the most, but he who needs the least.

A big hug and kisses. 😘❤️

Why thank you!

I adore the way the women around here uplift and support each other instead of the usual suspicion and competitiveness out there.

Such an incredible bunch of strong female role models.

And inspiring too.

I love the quote. And yes. The less you "need" the happier you are in my experience.

Massive hug back. 👩‍❤️‍👩 😊

Hola @palomap3
Que agradable leer tu post 😄

Mi experiencia con el minimalismo empezó con mi casa, dónde una vez al mes hacía limpieza profunda, sacaba todo de cajones, cajas, closet, y otros lugares de almacenamiento, después de limpiarlos volvía a colocarlos de manera ordenada.
Esa actividad me llevaba todo un fin de semana y me dejaba sin energía. Así que investigué sobre temas de limpieza "rápida" y en esa búsqueda me encontré con la filosofía minimalista... Cambió y sigue cambiando mi vida en todos los aspectos.

Lo más difícil fue aprender a decir NO, aún me cuesta, pero cada vez me quedo con menos culpa y más consciente de que es para poder entregar más valor.

En mi caso hago limpiezas generales cuando no tengo más remedio, soy más de ir manteniendo a diario. Lo que no quita para que, de vez en cuando, me dé el siroco y agarro la bolsa de basura y tiro sin contemplaciones, a lo Marie Kondo, jaja.

En lo de decir NO, pienso que los años y las experiencias nos van ayudando. Te vas dando cuenta de la importancia de poner límites para no terminar agotada.

Muchas gracias. ❤️🤗