My Blue Trail in Balaton Highlands 1. From Tapolca to Szent György-hegy

in Outdoors2 years ago (edited)

On Sunday, I got up very early, before sunrise at my accommodation. Although we had planned other activities together on Saturday evening, the woman who was going to drive us was not feeling well, so I went for a Blue Trail hike on my own. The sun was already shining, but it was still quite chilly when I took the bus to Tapolca. I planned to hike 17 kilometers to Badacsonytördemic following the blue signs.

P1490998.jpg

Well, I had already lost the blue sign in Tapolca, so I left the town in the wrong place, so I had to drive a long stretch along the busy road. Residential areas are not my favourite anyway, as it is much easier to miss the painted signs. The other is completely open terrain with no trees, no rocks, no buildings, lots of forking paths where I don't know which way to go. I was very happy when I found the first sign outside the city, but I was not happy that I had to drive almost all the way on an asphalt road. I now walk in boots, which have stiff soles, and the hard asphalt or concrete is not good for my feet.

P1500004.JPG

P1500005.JPG

P1500009.JPG

P1500013.jpg

But the sight in the morning made up for all these inconveniences. At first the grass was wet everywhere from yesterday's rain and glistening in the sun.
I was surrounded by several volcanic mountains: in front of me the Szent György hill, where I was heading, to my left Csobánc with the castle on top, a little further away Badacsony and Szigliget, with lots of vineyards and colourful villages, in a sub-Mediterranean atmosphere.

P1500015.JPG

Finally, I saw the famous basalt columns of Mount St George. They look like organ pipes! But to get up there, I'd have to find the blue sign that I'd lost in the maze of vineyard roads! I keep heading for the mountain, but I keep bumping into private property! Finally I met 3 women who helped me because they were also going to the top of the hill.

P1500017.JPG

I walked ahead because I could follow the signs, but sometimes I stopped for a photo. Here is a buffet car with a nice view. Of course, out of season, it was closed.

P1500018.jpg

P1500019.JPG

I had to bend a bit higher under the branches, of course I have to take the backpack off, otherwise I get stuck.

P1500020.jpg

It was only a few steps to the rest area, next to the tourist chalet (Kaán Károly kulcsosház). Unfortunately the house is very neglected, who knows when it was last used! Next to it, tourists built small towers of stones.

P1500022.jpg

P1500023.JPG

From here a very steep staircase leads to the basalt towers. The photo doesn't show it!

20220918_101428.jpg

P1500027.JPG

P1500028.JPG

P1500031.JPG

P1500029.JPG

P1500030.JPG

Read on to find out how this amazing geological formation was formed. Just click on it and zoom in!

P1500036.JPG

P1500032.JPG

View from the top

P1500033.JPG

Second blooming of blackthorn with ripe berries

P1500037.JPG

I'll continue from here in another post!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @fairyberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!