Sort:  

This artcile is definitely undervalued!

What I always miss in discussions about Freedom is the term: Respect. In the definitions given about freedom, I don't see the word respect as well. To me that is a major flaw in defining freedom.

You defined freedom as...

I personally define freedom as, " having an unrestricted access to provide for one's needs, as long as such action causes no more harm than necessary." Necessary harm is " taking/killing only what you need to survive.

Taking and Killing what is only necessary to survive. This leaves open to do harm to others in whatever way: from taking their resources to taking their lives (think about being on top of a mountain, too far away from food and only one other human in your vicinity).

I think Freedom is a state of mind and has little to do with governments. As you stated as well: absolute freedom probably doesn't exists. I do agree very much with that, since when we want to live with others, we have 'rights' but we also have 'obligations', especially when we want to respect everything and everyone around us. In theory, one can say: Freedom is the choice to take care of the obligations or not, but in the end one can't just decide to not take care of all the obligations and wander off to somewhere else. If we all would do that, we'll end up on our own, all of us; And that is something we humans are not programmed for. We humans are tribble focussed. And being able to live in a tribe, we have to make sacrifices. Regardless of the fact we have rulers or no rulers. The effects may not be that different.

It is definitely a complicated topic, because of how we define things individually(perspective). I should have better explained mine.

For me what's necessary is only what we need to live; food, water and freedom. So, this doesn't leave open doing unnecessary harm for no reason.

As for respect; respect is earned, courtesy is given. If I'm thirsty and come across a person with a canteen with no other water for miles, I won't take his property. But, if that person claims all the land and says the lake is his, I will. If he tries to deprive me of a true necessity, I'll kill him, so I can live.

I'm not a Pacifist and killing is necessary no matter what. I don't give man more rights than plants or animals. So, I don't leave open doing harm "for whatever reason", in whatever way. Though, it will happen anyway.

The key is that we are all equally free, then we can fully defend ourselves when our lives are threatened. Self-defense by whatever means necessary is what helps to keep the balance.

Thanks for weighing in and the kind words. While I love Hive, it's missing the component of thoughtful, detailed conversation, just like most social platforms.

Nice to meet you, my friend.😀

You're welcome.

I do realise we may be better of without national governments and maybe even local government. However, I can't figure out what it means when we truly have to take care of ourselves, including defending ourselves against harm done to us. As you say, there will always be individuals who will do unnecessary harm to others. Therefore there will always be the treat to ourself of someone else doing harm to us. Even if we would live in a very peaceful community; We have to be awake for someone doing harm to us, whether this is someone from within the community, or someone outside the community. Wouldn't this bring us in a state of fear constantly? The same (or at least a very similar) 'fear' governments are using to keep a society together?

EDIT: HIVE is like STEEM, lots of money grabbing ongoing, no time to read long form posts, since when doing so and thinking and then writing a response, eats too much of most users time they like to use to get more money from the reward pool. Very unfortunate, but in my view very true! Will this change over time? I hope so, but I doubt it :( Social networking and rewarding in the way Steem and HIVE does, is likely gonna fail over time. Patreon type of rewarding is likely the future! Ie tipping and rewarding using funds that are available from other sources then a free money generator like the Steem/Hive reward pool.

Traditions and ways of life are born through how we raise our children. While we are too numerous to all scatter individually, we can create a new norm within a few generations.

I myself would be off to the mountains alone in a heartbeat. Ppl stress me out more than they ease my feelings of loneliness.

I think the key is to get back to our tribal roots. Smaller groups self-govern more effectively and turn out better stewards of the Earth.

Large groups are where issues, control and armies arise.

I tend to agree with you small groups are better over large groups. Small groups have the social control as a prime element. This however requires geo located tribes and groups, no digital/virtual groups as some of the crypto fanatics think the new world will look like. We need to break down the globalisme though. In small tribal groups, the concept of global almost monopolistic organisations will not work...or better said, when we have those large organisations, we will have great difficulty transforming to a small tribal group world society.

Why dont you move to the mountains already today? Or you done so already? Guess thats gonna be the only way to transform from what the world looks today into this tribal way of living. Lead by example. The more start living in smaller communities, the more the mass will be exposed to this way of living, in one or the other way.

I will be going full nomad when the elderly couple I care for pass on. The link in my profile header is my detailed Introductiin which will give you an idea how I plan to do that.

And, I agree fully with what you said above.😀

Super interesting! Though very far from how I go through life (I use the system rather than escaping it I suppose), I love the way you go about your life! Now I understand where you coming from, and you are well prepared to go and live on your own at whatever remote place you like to go. I would need someone helping me all the time for a long time, since I hardly build with my own hands (for all I do, I sue my brains not my hands), though I know I can learn anything and done building stuff when I was really young.

Also good to see quite a few of your posts get some rewards, more than average. Based on your Intro post, well deserved!!!!

You probably will notice, but started to follow all your accounts. Now, for a long time I'm planning to update my follow list so I can actually use it. Now I simply have too many I follow to be able to pick out the most interesting post. I tell you this because though I followed you, I may not see your posts until the moment I start using my FEED again. Plan in action and maybe this conversation promoted the priority of this activity a bit more.

EDIT: Owww, also wanted to respond to how you grew up. Difficult and unwanted from outsiders point of view, but as you said yourself, it made you the person you are now; You got some positivity out of it. My upbringing was not so much a struggle in living in a poor environment and poor parents, but due to the mobility of my parents job, I spend most of my childhood and teens in boarding schools. Different to the norm; Most of the time away from my parents; Also seen be outsiders as 'poor you', but also I don't see it like that. For instance, I learned taking responsibility already very early in life, something that made me who I am today. I also learned how to survive in the midst of a large group of kids; all the time; it's like being in school but then 24x7; Can be tough, but one learns quickly to be nifty to make sure you won't become the one everybody is going after all the time :) Guess that helped in my 'solving problems' skills :)

Freedom is complex and so simple at the same time. I been studying about myself what I am, what I want ? Our environment, family , condition our way of think anda act, so who a I’m? Freedom is posible ?
Buda said we are one, but what does that mean? I think behind all our conditionings, we are a pure conciseness.

I believe we can only be free if we have no expectations of others. When we expect or demand anything from another, we are infringing on their freedom.

When we remove expectation and radiate this so others want to emulate it, we are on the path to freedom.

It's a long process and no, we cannot achieve freedom currently. But one can hope😀

Indeed. ✌️

Sorry I haven't gotten around to a deadpost yet, i will tomorrow! Glad you got some comments this time around.

When I connected with the post-Occupy momement, they blew my amateur mind a bit when they said they weren't proponents of voting. Voting means majority rules which means the minority always loses and can discourages compromise. I understand the arguments that that can't work on a large scale, though I think it's a wonderful sentiment to have even when deciding to use voting to simplify things. Consensus building should be part of any system, whether it's method is to debate endlessly until everyone agrees or gives up, to vote, or to delegate authority to a representative or leader. Otherwise people always gonna get fucked in the end.

Sorry that was a bit off topic from the main topic but I got sidetracked at the democracy bit.

Words, man! I think we need to be flexible with them, but we should feel free to invent new words or borrow from another language when we find a word to be to confusing because of it's multiple meanings.

As for your definition of freedom, it sounds more sound (hah! two meanings!) than most of the definitions I've seen.

I'm not sure what the last paragraph is getting at.😀

As for consensus building? Of course and the many pockets of smaller tribes gives one more choices, so they can find the one that fits them best or start a new one.

As for words and their meanings, you seem to be flexible here. Just remember, we are conditioned to resist change and tend to see through a lens of what we are used to.

To move forward, we must see past our conditioning.😀