You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About material goods

I agree with everything you say. "Being in a privileged position, we have a duty to share the obtained goods with those who have not been lucky in life so much" is a very powerful phrase (also very difficult to apply). Peter Singer defends a similar position with very convincing arguments. Where in Latin America are you? Greetings!

Sort:  

True, it's difficult to apply, although not impossible. I didn't hear about Peter Singer before although after short search I know I want to read more. Thanks for that - I have the opportunity to learn something new.
I'm in Argentina, Rosario.

The story of the boy drowning in the pond is perhaps the best known. One day you are walking by a pond and you see a boy drowning. You have two options: save him and ruin your new clothes or let him die. Obviously everyone chooses to save the child. However, few are those who choose to donate the money that cost those clothes to save a child who is at risk of dying in another part of the world. Singer arrives at a concept of effective altruism, as a good utilitarian, in which one should reduce suffering and extreme poverty as effectively as possible. He is also known for his writings on animal liberation. Ah, I am in San Pedro, province of Buenos Aires.