You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finalising life

Governments have their records, now you have your record of your dads life, your feelings, and family thoughts recorded.

The taking care of things after, that is the hard part, dealing sometimes with the uncaring world of commerce and of law. We did not have to deal with a lot of it for my mother in-law's death but we had to deal with enough to know it is not something I would want to do, but would. We learn just how soulless some parts of the bureaucracy can be.

Sort:  

Yes, I agree with you completely.

I remember dealing with some things for my mum when she passed and one particular company was relentless in chasing her for a $55 purchase she'd made from them...They were brutal and ignored every single attempt from me at advising that she'd passed. I never paid it, on principle. The other was Telstra, a telco, Australia's premier telco. They kept sending phone bills for about 6 months despite me having terminated it with a copy of the death certificate. Idiots.

The worst thing were the banks though. She had a house I had to sell, situated over 3,000km from me so I had to fly in and out and then be in attendance at the auction. Terrible process, and I'm a licensed land agent!

Anyway, it's not something I'd suggest anyone stick their hand up for, being an executor...Terrible experience.