A Fisherman, Stood Quietly This Autumn Morning - Story and Drawing

Autumn Morning Fishing.png

It’s Monday Morning ..

I crawl out of bed at a little before 5:00 am. I run through my normal morning routine which includes lots of boring stuff. Most of it may be completed while sleep walking, or so I feel; Let Molly out, let Molly in, feed Molly, let her out and in again, wash, shave, clean teeth, dress, etc.. you get the picture. Before heading out today, I prepped a whole chicken that will be slowly cooking in the crock pot. I am so looking forward to that chicken.

IMG_1898.JPG

I step out the front door and am greeted by the chilly fall like air. I see small wisps of smoke lingering over head. A sign that surely others are up and about, lighting morning fires in order to drive out last night’s cold from their kitchens and living rooms. I see it getting caught up in the tops of the trees with no breeze to move it along. The humidity is a little higher today, and I can feel it as I take my first deep breaths while heading to the truck.

rainwater5470471_1920.jpg

source pixabay

I notice the dew that had collected on the windows of my vehicle. Almost all the pearl shaped droplets of water are the same size and shape. They also appear to be sparkling, as they reflect the light of a distant streetlamp. Right before I open the door and disturb their perfect symmetry, I become aware of an orange tint covering each droplet. It’s enough to make me turn my head, and so I do, toward the east. The sun is making an approach on the horizon, and it’s time for me to go.

As I made my way to work, out of the confines of traffic and neighborhoods, the dim yellow orange sky was growing in intensity. On my daily route into work, I always have the pleasure of passing a cute little lake. It is usually too early to see any human life present, but rather only wildlife flying over head or floating on its surface.

2189565956265.jpg

215456595659.jpg

The lake I pass by everyday

Today was different. Today I saw a fisherman. He stood quietly and almost unnoticeable, by the water’s edge. I passed him by in a matter of moments. As fast as I saw him he was gone from sight. The glimpse I had was enough to spark a few memories and a little envy. There he was, alone and entertained by the lure of the water’s edge. He was enjoying nature at its finest. The color of the sky, a bright orange yellow, coupled with the calm silence of the water’s surface, painted a smile upon my face.

In one arm he held a fishing rod, in the other a cup of coffee. He wore a loose fitting fisherman’s hat, adorned with a rather large, square fishing license. He was motionless, as he peered off onto the surface of the lake and the gathering color of the imminent sunrise. The water could have been mistaken for glass if not for the majestic swans, cutting their way through the surface, up searching for their morning meals and disturbing the perfect morning reflection. They also appeared to be veiled in orange rather than the iconic white I was so accustom to.

I had memories of fishing in the early morning light; Watching nature, with all her splendor and beauty, awaken the sleeping world. I remember how quiet it was and how it felt so nice to be alone and lost in the moment. It is times like these that make it hard to keep motivated and work minded. I found myself lost in a daydream of sorts, while I finished the rest of my drive into work.

Later on, after thinking about that fisherman, standing proud and still at the water’s edge, I was reminded of a drawing I made not long ago. I called the drawing ‘The Right Fishing Spot’. It depicted a fisherman at the water’s edge, with a fishing rod tucked under his arm. He stood still and silent, like the man I saw today. A scene intended to reflect a respect and appreciation for Mother Nature.

IMG_53405894873934852_fisherman23_autumntake.jpg

I wanted to share that drawing with you again today, while I sulk at the fact I have to work. I wish I were fishing or at least enjoying the edge of the water. None the less, I will accept the choices I have made and look forward to a time in the future, when I can enjoy a moment like this. So in honor of this ramble about the start of my morning, I decided to cast a little of that morning color, that Autumn Color, into the art work; Just a slight change from the black and white that it once was (and still is.. the original is still untouched).

215466546595626596265959.PNG

Hive text divider.png

Creating The Art Piece ..

Pictures From An Earlier Post
I drew and posted about this piece earlier this spring, so I won’t bore you with all those details again. If you’re interested in reading that post, here is the link to ‘The Right Fishing Spot’ If you’re not interested in following the link, I’ll share a few photos of the process here and below.

1579633489.jpg

IMG_5332.JPG

IMG_5333.JPG

IMG_5334.JPG

IMG_5335.JPG

IMG_5336.JPG

IMG_5338.JPG

IMG_5340.JPG

As Always, Thank You for reading my blog and I hope you found some enjoyment in these ramblings. Have a great day or night!

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

2548862651616516565156.jpg

"Every morning
before the birds start
trilling me their stories,
I give birth to a new love
through my same old heart
when a lake’s placidity
finds life in the swans breath
Only for you...

From the poem 'Only For You”
― Munia Khan, To Evince the Blue

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

A nice start the day recap, I missed the fisherman post back in Jan., so that was nice to go back and see. The street lamp picture is kind of eerie, it looks like it is reflecting a window at the top. I like the picture of the cattails and the picture looks real good in the orangey sepia tone.

Your an ace at spotting things in photos. Yup. That's a reflection off my truck window. I was thinking about this post while I was pulling out of the driveway and thought I better grab a photo.

I took that photo of the cat tails maybe this summer. I actually stopped one day instead of driving by that lake. Today I was like, "I wish I was that guy" fishing. One day. One day.

Thanks for going back to check out the fishing post. I've done a few of them. Lol. 😁

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4500 comments. Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

No spam either lol 😆 😁 thanks for the continued support and badges. Have a great day!! ❤️☀️👋😊

Thank you too for your unfailing support @bdmillergallery! ❤️

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.io/diyhub!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you @priyanarc and @diyhub for the curation. I appreciate the support your giving me 😁

So nice to have a lake nearby! I am sure that the fisherman was very happy to enjoy the fresh morning air.
The morning dew has a certain charm to it if you take the time to be in the moment

!ENGAGE 20

We live on a lake, but also I pass one on the way into the office. Water has a way of soothing things. I would really like to move closer to the beach, but for now this is just fine. Have to save a little more money for the shore life! haha. Not much under a million dollars down there.

It would have been nice to just pull over and enjoy the view with this guy, but I am sure he wanted to be left undisturbed.. hehe.

I think so too, usually people who love nature also love silence and solitude once in a while.

Property near the beach... That sounds dreamy. I think it would be nice to wake up and hear the soothing sound of the waves

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.