An Easy No Fuss Crock Pot Dinner

Beef Dinner.png

Pulled Beef Using 8 Ingredients

I don't post much about food. So many people are much better and that seems to be their "Jam". I like to cook and obviously love to eat food. So today I was thinking, why not? Why not post about something I made recently. It may not appeal to my vegetarian friends, and that may be the one reason I don't like to post about it, but I suppose they just won't read it??

I like to cook this beef dish, that utilizes 8 different ingredients; Angus Beef, butter, salt, pepper, dry ranch powder, dry onion soup mix, and diced sweet onion. That's it!

I gathered up all the items and laid them out so they were ready to use.

IMG_8460.JPG

That dry ranch dressing mix has come in real handy for a lot of dishes I make. I don't particularly like ranch dressing, but I like the flavor of it in my cooking.

I prefer a 3 pound plus piece of Angus Beef Chuck. I can easily get two or three meals out of it, being it is just my wife and I eating. It runs us, here in South Jersey, about

IMG_8462.JPG

IMG_8461.JPG

I prep the surface of the meat with a little salt and pepper, then brown it up in a pan on high heat. I melt a small pat of butter in the pan first, before introducing the meat. It may take a minute or two on either side to brown it up nicely. I also use a fork and hold it on its sides to brown them too. This helps to lock in the juices.

IMG_8464.JPG

While that's browning, I get my crock pot ready and fit it with a one time use disposable bag liner. Man I love these things. It makes for easy clean up and no more burning juices. They are a bit pricey though.

IMG_8466.JPG

IMG_8467.JPG

I sprinkle one or two tablespoons of both the ranch, and onion soup mix into the bottom of the crock pot.

IMG_8468.JPG

The meat is fully browned, so I remove it from the pan and put it directly into the crock pot, on top of the dry mixes.

IMG_8469.JPG

I then apply more of the ranch mix and onion soup mix, along with a dash more salt and pepper. Besides adding too much salt or pepper, you really can't add too much of the other mixes, or at least I don't think you can?? haha. Somebody will out there!

IMG_8470.JPG

Last thing to add into the dish is that sweet onion. I chop it up in small slivers and sprinkle it over the top of the meat. You could add in anything else you want too, like carrots or potatoes, but I am not going too.

IMG_8471.JPG

IMG_8472.JPG

All that's left is to place the top on, lock it in and set the temperature to low heat. I let it cook about 6 to 8 hours. I set the timer when I leave for work in the morning, and then it's ready to eat by the time I get home.

IMG_8473.JPG

When its done, it should fall apart very easily. I put it into a dish with deep sides and pull it apart with a fork. I like to make mashed potatoes and put it on top of that. You could put it onto a roll and eat it like a sandwich, if that floats your boat. I made a side of carrots to go with the dish and called it a meal!

IMG_8485.JPG

Whatever we don't eat, I divide into freezer bags, seal them air tight, and freeze it for another meal on another day. This was not at all hard to prepare, like most crock pot meals. It was easy to clean up and easy to eat! hehe. If your brave, give it a try sometime.. you won't regret it!!

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_E0436 2.JPG

“It seems to me that our three basic needs, for food and security and love, are so mixed and mingled and entwined that we cannot straightly think of one without the others. So it happens that when I write of hunger, I am really writing about love and the hunger for it, and warmth and the love of it and the hunger for it… and then the warmth and richness and fine reality of hunger satisfied… and it is all one.”

― M.F.K. Fisher, The Art of Eating

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Looks easy enough. I've never seen those liner-bags before though; Seems like a good way to go. I would have thought they would be affected by the heat although I guess they are made for it, hence the cost.

This looks like an easy enough process. Add some baked potatoes, pumpkin and steamed sugar snap peas and it's a meal fit for a king!

So you had to go and throw in some pumpkin.. huh? lol. Good stuff and sweet snap peas are the bomb. I rarely cook those because my wife hates them.

Those liners are made for high heat, sort of like the oven bags they sell for turkeys and such. Sometimes I feel bad for using them because of the environment.. just one more plastic contribution. Then it's just so stinking easy so I forget about that part.

Thanks for swinging by! 😁

Well, I didn't want to just agree with you without throwing in a little G-dog spin on it...I'm more than happy to tuck into a slab-o-meat but my parents drummed into me the importance of veggies when I was a kid...Lessons I haven't forgotten. :)

Don't worry about the bags mate, I think there's bigger issues than a pulled beef baking bag or two. :)

This looks pretty amazing. I was never much of a fan of pot roast when I was a kid, but I love it now. I don't usually eat it that much because my wife doesn't like beef. My occasional "fixes" come in the form of a burger or NY strip. I understand what you are saying about the salt and pepper. Sometimes that soup mix can have a high sodium content then you add salt and it gets crazy. Nice post. If they call come out like this you should definitely do more food posts!

Something else to post about! My blog is a mess. haha. I have a bit of an addiction to salt and am slowly trying to ween myself off of it. NY Strip sounds just wonderful.. Here I go getting hungry again. It would be nice to cut meat out of my diet totally, BUT.. a big BUT.. I'm not quite ready yet. 😁

I would never be able to cut it out totally. We eat a ton of chicken now and I get beef and pork occasionally. We usually buy about 20 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breasts every other month. I then process it into some vacuum sealed bags of breasts for grilling, little cubes for casseroles and stuff like that and then I grind the rest into burger.

The crock pot makes for great meals, for sure. Especially in the cooler months there's something so welcoming about the aroma of a crock pot sitting for the day in the kitchen. Mmmmm.

Your right. Love the smell when I get home and also it reminds me that I don't have to cook but rather get right to eating.. lol

It looks good, it sure is very tasty.

yup. not too bad :-)