Iris In Bloom.. Clematis Not In Bloom.. A Waiting Game

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

IMG_2335.JPG

I Have Been Watching This Clematis ..

For quite a while now. Come on and BLOOM already!! I'm starting to get very frustrated with it.. haha. Okay, a bit of a joke there, but really I have been more than patient with it. We walk Pepper around the neighborhood most evenings, and I see other peoples Clematis in full bloom. What Gives??!! I am thinking that it may be because the original vines died off last year and I trimmed the plant back to the ground. I wasn't even sure that it would grow again. To my surprise it did and now I sit and wait.

IMG_2334.JPG

The leaves and vine look healthy enough, no question there. The little tid-bit of evidence that ensures me that it will bloom, and it will bloom profusely, is that this sucker is LOADED with blooms! I am not even about to count them all. I am super excited about that much. Given the facts here, I am willing to be very patient. The reward will be worth the wait.

IMG_6909.JPG

I know I said this same thing a while back, but I do believe that some of the blooms will be opening up rather soon. Like this one below.. It is swollen and just looks like its ready to show me it's purple beauty.

IMG_6910.JPG

I was messing around taking these pictures after work, and tried to untie the string attaching the vines to the steaks, but my fat fingers could not manage to loosen the knots. I gave up and then by the time I said hello to the dogs, I forgot to go back out with a knife. Maybe tonight if I remember, but if I am going to be totally honest, I will most likely forget again. I did allow plenty of room for the vines to grow, as not to strangle them, but was it enough? I know.. I am babbling on about this more than I should. I am doing this for a good reason. So it WILL sink in to my dense brain :)

IMG_2337.JPG

IMG_2336.JPG

This is the top of the mail box looking toward our home. The vines are wrapping and twisting around anything they can, including themselves. Last year it was hard to even see any of the box.. I am hopping for the same this year. It just looks good being nice and full. There is a down side to it being so visually inviting, and I am getting to that.

IMG_2338.JPG

Here we are looking out into the street from the back side. Everything is filling in nicely. The Liriope (the short lime green grass looking stuff) is beginning to spread. It won't bloom till much later in the summer. They will also be a nice mellow purple color.. smaller flowers though. The Iris are starting to bloom! White flowers with a yellow center. I thought that I planted some purple ones in there as well (last year), but I guess not.

IMG_6908.JPG

I took this shot a few weeks ago. I wanted to include it because gives a good visual representation of how the garden bed looked pre-bloom. I can just make out the Iris buds poking out the tops of the plants. It only took a few warm days and they were open. They will probably be done blooming in another week or two, then I will be charged with the task of dead heading them (removing the spent bloom stalks). Oh Boy!! What is that under there?? I can see it from here!

IMG_2332.JPG

WEEDS! What else. More weeds. I'll tend to this this weekend whaile I am out mowing the grass. I'll get in there head first and pull them all out of there.. haha.

IMG_2333.JPG

Now For The Down Side I Mentioned Above..

Bird S@#! (poop). The bad part of having visual interest, and a roosting spot, is the birds love hanging out there too. I suppose it could be worse.. A Grisly Bear could of decided to hide under there, although that is a far stretch of the imagination.. Lets go with painfully, stinging hornets. That's a more realistic ideas. Well, after all that talk, the poop doesn't seem so bad. I will wash it away and make room for more.

IMG_2339.JPG

I Want To Turn Your Attention To ..

The front entrance of our home. As I mentioned above, the Iris are in bloom. It's so calming and cheerful to arrive home to this sight. The whites and purples of the Iris flowers are a delight to see when I pull into the driveway. We have already received two compliments on how beautiful they look. I am open to taking more if you decide to give me them! hehehe. No pressure.

I try my best but find it very difficult to not include Molly or Pepper in these blog posts. Sooo let's not break the norm here. Pepper lent a hand, or rather some pee. It was his way of helping out where he could. He was just trying to be nice and fertilize the new growth. If you ask him, those plants didn't smell right to begin with. Make sure you get them all Pepper! Not just the ones at the edge!!

IMG_6842.JPG

As for the plants that didn't die of over urination.. They are teaming with life and pretty purple/white/yellow colors.

IMG_6901.JPG

Okay.. Get Ready To Be Over Stimulated With Iris Pictures! ..

IMG_6903.JPG

IMG_6904.JPG

IMG_6902.JPG

IMG_6905.JPG

IMG_6907.JPG

IMG_6906.JPG

Just for the record, The birds like to poop here to.. on my bolder rocks. They are so lucky that I like birds :-/ Otherwise........ nothing would happen. I am a sucker for birds. Like the dogs, they are too cute. Anyhow, they are learning by example. Pepper!!

IMG_6789.JPG

The evidence that will soon (hopefully) be washed away with the impending rain.

IMG_6789 2.JPG

Hope You Enjoyed The Flowers!

See you all again soon! As always, I appreciate each and every one of my readers and the constant support and love that they give me. Yup.. I am talking to you! Thank You!!!!!!!!!!!!!

text16.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

text16.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale in

My Etsy Store

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in SBD or STEEM) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

text16.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

PHC and C2 tag.png

text16.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, @c-squared, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

text16.png
text16.png

IMG_5534.JPG

“To hear never-heard sounds,

To see never-seen colors and shapes,
To try to understand the imperceptible
Power pervading the world;
To fly and find pure ethereal substances
That are not of matter
But of that invisible soul pervading reality.
To hear another soul and to whisper to another soul;
To be a lantern in the darkness
Or an umbrella in a stormy day;
To feel much more than know.
To be the eyes of an eagle, slope of a mountain;
To be a wave understanding the influence of the moon;
To be a tree and read the memory of the leaves;
To be an insignificant pedestrian on the streets
Of crazy cities watching, watching, and watching.
To be a smile on the face of a woman
And shine in her memory
As a moment saved without planning.”
― Dejan Stojanovic

text16.png
text16.png

Sort:  

They are indeed such glorious flowers!!! As for the bird poop.... blegh, it is the one thing I detest!! Lol

Love your house, its gorgeous!

!tip

Hahaha.. Bird Poop Sucks! hehe.. Thank you for the tip, the steemitbloggers reblog and cross post, and the support! That was unexpected and much appreciated @jaynie 😁 Thank you for the compliment on our home. We love it here. We built it about 2007 but are now realizing that since children never happened for us that the home may be a tad too big for us. We may decide to move in a few years. We'll see. I would like to move toward the beach but don't want to add 20 minutes to my commute. Thanks again for all the love!

Maybe if you paint the mail box with abstract white lines it might go well with the bird splashing art technique lol😂 I loved the iris pictures, so purple💜 The poem at the end was cool, loved the "To be a smile on the face of a woman
And shine in her memory
As a moment saved without planning.”

WHAT?! My Mind is blown!! Never thought about it like that.. I'm on it 😆😉

Didn't think anyone ever read those end poems or quotes. Thank you for mentioning that. What a great poem.. right? What really drew me in was ..

To be a tree and read the memory of the leaves;
To be an insignificant pedestrian on the streets

To me this speaks about Humility. It's not all about me and what makes me great in my eyes.. I need to value humility and take a back seat to my partner. Push her forward and to the forefront.. into the spotlight of life and let her shine.

Some awesome writing in that one! Thanks again for swinging by and saying hello.. I must get better at that myself!

I look forward to see a spectacular personalised bird friendly mail box hihi🐦😁Glad I could inspire you. Humility is so important, I think a partner can really feel appreciated and loved when helped to achieve dreams and pursue something. A great partner is always a great assistant😊❤️

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted, reblogged and cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for the support and curation 😊

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION. theunion.png

Wow! 😁 Thank you!! I greatly appreciate the curation support and being noticed. 😊

Wonderful garden pictures, @bdmillergallery. I hope your climatis will bloom soon! The irises are gorgeous! We have some, but it's too early for them, so I really enjoyed seeing your pictures. Your whole garden is beautiful. And of course it's always so cute when your dog photo-bombs your photos.

Haha.. Pepper is so good at the photo bomb! Thank you for the garden compliments 😊 I don't know about that there Clematis. Maybe end of the week I'll have a post about the blooms.. I hope!

🎁 Hi @bdmillergallery! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Hake Braai Time & Weekend Contemplation... Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.