Oak In The Foothills - Ink and Pencil Drawing

Oak In The Foothills121654651.png

It's Been Two Months ..

Since I drew anything. The last time I drew something, it was a blind contour drawing of an old water spigot. This was just a day or so before we first started to notice Pepper not feeling well. Everyone knows how the story progressed from there, by now, so I won't go down that depressive path on this post. It's Been Two Months!! Well, that ended today. I finished a new drawing.

Over the last several days, during my lunch break, I spent about 5 to 10 minutes working on a drawing. I wanted to draw a tree. I've been reading posts about trees, noticing the trees in my neighborhood dropping their leaves, and just overall felt the urge to sketch a tree. Free of leaves is my obvious favorite form.

I Named It 'Oak In The Foothills'

Crop_OakAtTheFootHills.JPG

The Process ..

I started out drawing a rough sketch of the tree using a 5B pencil. I did this so I could easily erase and adjust the rough sketch before utilizing a fine point black pen.

IMG_3249.JPG

IMG_3250.JPG

IMG_3251.JPG

After I roughed in the idea floating around in my head, I grabbed my fine point black pen and started laying in the state of my pen and ink drawing.

IMG_3252.JPG

IMG_3253.JPG

IMG_3254.JPG

When I didn't need the pencil sketched under-drawing any longer, I took my eraser and got rid of it. Now I can really see my pen lines and get down to business.

IMG_3256.JPG

IMG_3257.JPG

IMG_3258.JPG

At this point the pen and ink portion of the work is complete. I was going back and forth about doing anything more to it. I decided to add back in some of the pencil, but this time in different areas.

IMG_3259.JPG

I wanted to shade certain parts of the drawing to give more tonal value and a sense of depth. I also wanted to draw the viewers eye toward the center of the tree and right to its magnificent branches. I did my best at creating a halo like effect at the center of the tree. I think I managed to pull it off??

IMG_3261.JPG

It is so exciting to have completed something artistic. I needed to jump back on the horse so to speak. With the passing of Pepper, I felt like my creativity had been packed away in a dark closet. When your sad and depressed, I don't feel like creating anything. Maybe this is a turning point, but if nothing else, a start.

The Finished Drawing ..

'Oak In The Foothills'
Crop_OakAtTheFootHills.JPG

I was trying to express the idea of a young oak trying to establish itself in the foothills of an approaching mountain. The site where the tree has rooted and been growing for several years, is quite windy. You may have noticed how the branches on the one side are growing away from the wind and are a little tattered from the occasional gusts.

Progression Summery ..

ComboProgression_1603305279.jpg

Close up of the tree

IMG_E3262.JPG

Like I mentioned, hopefully this is the kick-start of creativity that I needed to get the juices flowing again. It would be nice to feel that motivation again, find some inspiration, and complete some new works!

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Pepperdrawingart1181151.jpg

“I recount as this journey begins where I rest to gather the tale from this same old house resting on the hill, leaving me a view of a carnival once seen from just across the tracks. My pallet is dry now. The colors I see no more. The rain has washed away many of the signs that once stood for a prosper home and family. My grave is waiting. The dreams once filled my head with images of world unison, hope and companionship for all. The saga spoken through my canvas drew darker as the years went on to the bitter cold nights. All that comes to me now are glimpses of faces that graced my soul.”

― Kris Courtney, Norma Jean's Sun

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

I like that, it looks like a giant dwarf laying down next to the tree with his booted feet resting against the tree trunk and his big knobby knees raised a little, as he leans back against a hillock, as if he is the guardian of the tree.

I don't know if you meant for him to be there, or if any one else would even notice him, but that is what I like about art and photography, I get to see things with out being in a loony bin or on drugs.

Oh My Gosh!!! 😆 You always see the neatest things. No I didn't mean to make it appear that way, but now I see it too and can not un-see it. It reminds me of the troll guy thing in the movie the Labyrinth. I think his name was Ludo or something like that. He had horns though.. hmmm.. Yeah, I guess nothing like this Knobby Kneed Guy you see.. 😅

I guess it is my one tiny talent seeing things that are not there. LoL.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

A start is always good! It is difficult to be creative when being sad but slowly you will manage
!ENGAGE 20

Yeah.. It Sucks! I hear about some who get more creative when feeling this way, but NOT me. lol. Thank you for the ENGAGE as well 😊

You're welcome!

Very nice artwork! :)

!discovery 15

Thank you and thank you for the support! It means a lot. 😊


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you!!!!!! 😁

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank you @jaynie 😁 as ALWAYS I APPRECIATE the extra support 😊

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.