So Lovers We May Stay - Sifting Through My Poetry On A Saturday Morning

Script Stationers Blog Banner.png

Saturday Morning Has Arrived ..

And the weather is overcast and there was a light drizzle that just passed through. My wife and I were planning on taking a day trip to the beach, about a half hour ride from here. If the weather doesn't clear up, that may not happen. It would be nice to get to take one more ride down to the shore before winter weather makes the area less pleasant.

IMG_8492 2.JPG

Sifting Through Poetry ..

So this brings me to where I am now. Sitting at my desk, looking out the window at the dreary day, hoping for it to clear up a little. I turn around in my chair and begin moving and shuffling that which has collected dust. In the mess of old tax documents, folders and papers, I found my old stash of Poems.

IMG_8490.JPG

IMG_8488.JPG

I thought it would be cool to reach in, grab one of them and share it with you. Most of these I wrote a long time ago. They are written on lined paper, ripped from note pads, pieces of scrap paper, and even an envelope. I guess I used whatever was available when the creative juices were flowing.

IMG_8489.JPG

So Here We Go ..

I reach into the mix and pull out a poem titled 'So Lovers We May Stay'. I don't remember the exact day I wrote this poem, but I do remember writing it and how I felt when doing so. I also remember why I wrote it and who it was about.

IMG_8491 2.JPG

My wife, which was my girlfriend at the time, was heading off to college and I suppose I was kind of depressed about it. Who am I kidding, I was super depressed about her leaving. I was lucky though. She was only going to a University about an hour or so from here, but that didn't ease the pain in my heart. Some of those emotions, I funneled into creativity. That creativity led to this poem..

'So Lovers We May Stay'

My heart kind of broke,
When I kissed her goodbye.
We have to part for a while,
And that makes me cry.

We sat around laughing,
A few weeks before.
And how I cry like a baby,
Six hours past four.

This won't last forever,
But our love will stay true.
I'll see you soon my lover,
Then my heart won't be so blue.

Keep me in your prayers and dreams,
So lovers we may stay.
I will do the same my dear,
Every single day.

Our Love Survived ..

Despite knowing this was temporary, the fact was still the same; We would be separated and apart from one another. We spent so much of our days, hours and minutes together, that this was going to be tough. It turned out that in a few short years, I ended up following my heart to her and to the same University. Back together we were once more.

We eventually both graduated with over priced degrees, lived together, grew together, cried together, laughed together, loved together and soon became husband and wife. To this day, the growing, laughing, crying, living, and loving together as one, continues to build upon our love story.

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

22664_1337216159268_6439837_n.jpg

“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you simply, without problems or pride: I love you in this way because I do not know any other way of loving but this, in which there is no I or you, so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand, so intimate that when I fall asleep your eyes close.”

― Pablo Neruda, 100 Love Sonnets

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Awwwwww my heart melts! So adorable, you seem quite a romantic soul, that is a rare quality! You looked so cute in the picture with her!
!ENGAGE 20

Awww.. Thank you. I think my wife is the cuter one by far. Seems like yesterday. 😁

You are a great couple, both of you should be proud

Awesome poem! I have a stash of stuff I wrote when I was much younger as well. Nothing as good as what you have here. We got lucky and had some beautiful weather on Saturday. I was able to get the lawn mowed and the deck furniture put away as well as one of the rail sections taken off so I can just shove the snow off the end of it this winter.

Good idea with taking the rail off! Sounds like your all set for the 'Big One'. haha. I don't know if my stuff is any good, but it's fun to share it anyhow. I don't embarrass that easily. 😁

They got 8.3 inches in a city in the UP this past weekend, so I am hoping it isn't too long before we get some. Ideally my trailer would be back from the dealership and stored safely at my parents house. I have no desire to tow that thing with snow on the roads!

Was 70 yesterday, now in the 30s...life in Michigan.

Have to love the changes of seasons in the north and northeast! fun fun. 😬

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

That's so awesome that you were able to share how you felt like that, and then continue to see the love flourish! Good on ya! Thanks for sharing! That's a heartwarming story that we could all use.