The Sunday Morning Chill ~ Today Pepper Is Not Feeling Well

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

It's Sunday Morning ..

And the household is still very much at rest. After a absolutely beautiful day spent out doors yesterday (weather was AWESOME) we made plans to head down to Wildwood for the evening. We spent the evening with friends, drinking and eating at a local outdoor bar and grill. The air had just a slight chill to it and the humidity level was quite low. Perfect for just hanging out to watch the Ice Hockey playoffs on the bar TV's.

Capture55.jpg
source

It was a pleasant evening. We got in on the later side and were greeted by two barking dogs and a nice pile of dog puke. Pepper has been off lately. We don't know if it is just old age related or something bigger going on. He already has a set of old age related complications including sight, hearing and joints. Recently he has been puking every so often, has no energy, and eats little to none. So we made him a vet appointment to get get checked out. I'll keep you posted.

IMG_7859.JPG

This morning things are still the same; no energy, no appetite and just off.. not himself. Otherwise, he seems happy and content. Content is a good word choice for his current location. His doggy bunk bed! I had to put him up into it this morning due to his lack of energy, but once he was settled in to his comfy spot, he was quite "content".

IMG_7867.JPG

We have the bed sitting right at the back window of my art studio/home office. It looks out over the entire back yard, full of sounds (he can't hear) and smells. The geese and ducks on the lake squawk back and forth, the birds chatter all day long, and the occasional voice of a neighbor or fisherman can be heard.

IMG_7861.JPG

Pepper just sits there soaking it all in. Today is no different. Here you can see him just snuggled into a sunny spot with the rewarding view of the world as he knows it. Underneath the top part, is a secondary chill spot. Not his most favorite, but I do find him here now and again. He prefers in mostly in the evenings for some reason. If I am working at night, he tends to slide in there to catch some Z's.

IMG_7863.JPG

This photo below is weird. I really can't wait to get a new phone that takes decent photos. The light shines very brightly into this room, often heating it up to where I have to shut the windows and let the air conditioning cool it back down. On those cold winter mornings, I like sitting in that chair, in the warm bright sun, while the dogs sleep away their worries.

IMG_7866.JPG

You may have noticed something strange I have going on under the bed. Coffee mugs stuck under the legs. Hey, it was the best thing I could come up with at the time, to raise the bed to the perfect height. The pup's like to rest their heads on the edge of the window sill, and the original height was just too short. It may be silly but it works! I really have to get something more permanent figured out, but for some reason I am fine with the mugs being there. I never really liked the set anyhow.

IMG_7862.JPG

Sleep Pepper, Sleep.. Hopefully you feel better soon and we can go out and run in the yard some more. It makes me sad and I just hate when he is feeling off.

IMG_7865.JPG

IMG_7864.JPG

IMG_7858.JPG

IMG_7860.JPG

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

064 2.JPG

“As the years pass, I am coming more and more to understand that it is the common, everyday blessings of our common everyday lives for which we should be particularly grateful. They are the things that fill our lives with comfort and our hearts with gladness -- just the pure air to breathe and the strength to breath it; just warmth and shelter and home folks; just plain food that gives us strength; the bright sunshine on a cold day; and a cool breeze when the day is warm.”

― Laura Ingalls Wilder, Writings to Young Women from Laura Ingalls Wilder: On Wisdom and Virtues

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

I hope Pepper starts to feel better and it is nothing serious. It really sucks the not knowing what to do and how to help them. One of our little girls had to go in for cancer surgery not to long ago and had to be fixed, since then she has changed a little bit, but still one really happy hoppy chihuahua, she loves bouncing around. Since the surgery she is not as stable as she used to be so we need to keep a close eye on her when she is in one of her bounce and hop all over the place moods.

Awww.. poor pup. Our friends lost a dog to cancer. Absolutely devastating. They are, after all, our children. Pepper was worse past few days. He stopped eating and then drinking. Vomiting, lethargic.. yada yada. Since he now will not walk farther than a foot or two, he HAD to go in to the vet. We waited because of the Holiday weekend. So the wife took him this morning..just waiting on results of a blood test.

Thank you for the concern @bashadow 😊

It is tough, the waiting and the not knowing, at least as human adults we can say when we are sick, poor little loved pets try to tell us how ever they can.

It does suck waiting. If my dogs are sick, my day pretty much sucks. Funny how much I rely on them to lift my spirits. I don't like to worry. Since he is older, that in itself worries me. I'll keep you posted.

I sure hope Pepper feels better in no time. BTW his name brought back a very old memory from my youth. I once had a dog named Butter, but my fave uncle always, always called him Pepper. I havent thought of that in ages.

It's funny how little things we see, hear, smell or in this case read, trigger memories from our past. I like the name Pepper.. but Butter is an awesome name too! He is not doing better, but in fact worse.. He took a trip to emergency this morning for blood work and fluids. Now we just have to wait for results that can not come soon enough. Thank you for the kind words and concern. I appreciate them greatly. 😊

Awesome shots of your hairy dogs. I would love to make sketch of them.😄

sketch away! I have done a few here and there. Painting or drawing hair is always a nice challenge.

Haha, oh yeah! That's good to know.

Poor little guy not feeling g well. Hate when our fuzzy babies don't feel well, they can't tell us what's wrong. Hope heels better soon.

As for the cups, do what you must; it's all good.

Haha.. Those cups have been there for about 10 years now. I may as well just leave them there a little while longer. It does suck when the fur babies get ill. He went to get checked out today (still not eating and drinking) just waiting on the blood test results. Thank you for the concern 😊

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thanks Everyone!!

Awww, here's to lighting candles for the furbabies.
I'm enchanted by the cups as raisers for the bed. At first I thought it was a little too "iffy", but realized that it was a masterful fix indeed.

Here's to painting. And be-ing.

I will give the pups some lovins for you 😊

The cups were just the right size.. now they have been there for about 10 years, I hate to move them. lol.

get well soon Pepper!

Thank you! He's still in rough shape, just waiting on results from blood work. Thank you for the concern 😊

Is Pepper feeling ok now?

Unfortunately he is not. He is lethargic now and no longer eating or drinking. Poor guy just lays there. My wife took him to the vet this morning. They took blood and are waiting for some results.

Thank you for asking 😊 I appreciate it.

Sorry to hear about this! I am sure that the vet will work out a treatment scheme and get Pepper back on tracks!

He got a nice bed. Thanks to you!
Get well soon, little one.

That he does! Thank you for the well wishes 😊