Weekend Vinyl ~ Martin Denny ~ Sayonara

Weekend Vinyl  Martin Denny.png

This Weekends Vinyl Pick ..

Martin Denny ~ Sayonara

I really wanted to skip the pick this weekend. Sunday is the day I set aside some time, in the morning to listen to something from the box. I woke up, and went to let Molly out and noticed it was raining. Yuck! Now I really, really didn't feel like listening to anything. I sucked it up and thought that it may improve my mood if I did. I wasn't going to be doing a whole heck of a lot outdoors, so why not listen to a record.

IMG_3285.JPG

I made myself a cup of breakfast blend coffee and walked over to where I keep a rather heavy box of vinyl records. I set the coffee down and ran my fingers across the top of the album covers (stacked straight up and down in the box), and then randomly stopped. I pulled out the record that I stopped on.

IMG_3287.JPG

Who was it going to be?! "No big band please. No big band please." I just wasn't in the mood for 'big band' type tunes. Maybe after the coffee sets in I would be a little more receptive to it, but not right now. I pulled it out and immediately noticed an pretty Asian or Island girl, wearing a pink shirt, on the cover.

IMG_3288.JPG

I thought that this would be nice.. A nice melodic voice of a female to brighten my spirits on this dreary day.. I Was Wrong, and I'll get to that part in a bit. I pulled out the record from the cover. There was no fancy insert, like the last album I played; Weekend Vinyl ~ Billy Joel ~ Songs In The Attic. Nope, this was just a simple one record cover with a plain yellowish (was probably white in 1967) protective paper sleeve.

IMG_3293.JPG

IMG_3290.JPG

I quickly put the record on the player and started it spinning. My ears were awaiting a new discovery. I never heard of Martin Denny, so this would be a musical surprise for me.

IMG_3296.JPG

Here we go!!! I hear the first few little static crackles ....

IMG_3297.JPG

What is that noise? Birds, chimes and then in comes a piano? Oh boy this is going to be very weird. I am determined to hear it through, at least the first few songs. I keep hearing bird calls and a vibraphone, mixed in with the flowing melody of jazz piano, bass and percussion.

Soon I found myself almost becoming relaxed in a way. I sat down, away from the record player, and began to close my eyes and figure this strange melody out. I kept thinking that this is a strange mix of musical instruments. Sometimes it was like they were playing independently from one another, as if all playing a different song. I could definitely hear Asian influences in most of the songs, which I rather liked. With my eyes closed, I kept envisioning myself in some sort of off street gypsy novelty shop. Call me crazy!

IMG_3289.JPG

On the rear of the album cover, there are a few album notes that explain the artists interpretation of this unique sound:

The MARTIN DENNY sound is comprised of percussive effects, bird calls and instruments cleverly employed to acquaint you with the complex rhythms that are part of the culture of the Hawaiian Islands. He has brought more of Fiftieth State to the Mainland than a Lurline luxury liner filled with Hulu Dancers, Mai Tais, Muu Muus and Poi.

DENNY became enchanted with Hawaii during a six-month engagement at the now famous Don The Beachcomber's. His jazz trio was instrumental in turning the night spot into the number one tourist attraction on the island. Adding a fourth member to the group -- DENNY was signed to a long term contract at the Shell Bar in the then newly opened Hawaiian Village. In this exotic tropical environment the MARTIN DENNY sound was concieved.
The lush DENNY treatment is evident throughout this SUNSET RECORDS album as you listen to such great standards as MY FUNNY VALENTINE -- PARADISE -- TENDERLY -- and MY ROMANCE.

The artistry and perfection of performance which is MARTIN DENNY is reflected here in his exciting version of STRANGE MUSIC.

MARTIN DENNY has proven his versatility by discovering new talent and participating in the production of several outstanding albums. And while we're on the subject of outstanding albums -- this one will leave you spellbound!
SAYONARA.

I think they said it best when it was stated, "The artistry and perfection of performance which is MARTIN DENNY is reflected here in his exciting version of STRANGE MUSIC." Strange Music being the real key phrase.

Here is a list of the tracks on the album:

IMG_3295.JPG

1603729245.jpg

In Summary ..

Song after song, I waited for a calming female voice, that never did come. The female on the cover was PURE TRICKERY! This was, I guess you could call it, smooth jazz with no singing; Simply pure, strange instrumental.It could be pure genius or a complete disaster. Right now, at the present time, I am unsure of which it is. Maybe I'll give it another listen when the coffee kicks in, or when I have a beer in hand (Or Mai Tai .. haha)

They did incorporate some different styles and instrumentation in the oddest of places (bird calls aside). For example, at 9:30 into side one of the record.. A Banjo! Possibly a banjo being slowly picked. The song I was listening to was titled 'My Funny Valentine'. I didn't think it was the song I knew from Frank Sinatra, until I listened almost the whole way through. It in fact was a version of that song, but not one I care for.

That's about it for this one. You really have to give it a listen, if you can manage after the first track. I think it gets better, especially on side two. I am going to include the link to YouTube below. If you have a little free time and like weird stuff, give it a shot!

For now.. Sayonara!


Hive text divider.png

Album Credits:

Martin Denny - Sayonara
Label: Sunset Records
Catalog number: SUS-5169
Date: 1967
Art Director: Woody Woodward
Cover Photography: Ken Kim
Cover Model: Joanne Miya

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_3364 2.JPG

'MUSIC OF THE UNIVERSE'

"Without the orchestra of the universe,
There would be no ether.
And without its instrumentation
By the ether,
There would be no waves.
And without any waves,
There would be no sound.
And without sound,
There would be no music.
And without music,
There would be no life.
And without a life force,
There would be no matter.
But it does not matter -
Because what is matter,
If there is no light?”
― Suzy Kassem, Rise Up and Salute the Sun: The Writings of Suzy Kassem

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Very interesting! Even though I participated in a Record Store event this weekend, I didn't listen to any records. I have never heard of this guy either. It sounds like some really crazy stuff. I guess a lot of people might find Roger Whitaker weird to when he gets into his whistling bit, but I really like him. Thanks for sharing this!

You Did?! I didn't get a chance to browse my Hive lists yet.. Looking forward to reading it. True.. Whitaker was odd, but this stuff was really odd. haha. Have a great day (or what's left of it at least).

Thanks, you too! Yeah, it was a really great time. I am not sure I will do it again, it is a bit pricey!