You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OLD BARNS № 081 & 082

In my world that would be a barn and a shed :) I don't know exactly what the standard was for the two categories. It wasn't pure size, and it wasn't pure shape, either. It's stuff I learned from my father and grandfather and I feel fairly comfortable with the two descriptions. Not that I can write them down :)

That was an interesting rabbit hole you exposed. We didn't raise flax but our Canadian relatives did. I did know that linoleum started as linseed oil, but at some point asphalt was added and it wasn't near so natural. I remember my dad putting a linoleum floor down in the old farmhouse. It was a serious project for him.

Our barns were all red. There was a specific 'Barn Red' when I was young that was about the color of these two. We got that from Sears and Roebuck catalog order, came in to town on the train. It was not particularly shiny and didn't last all that long so when I was probably a teenager we switched to a Sherwin Williams product that was 'firehouse red' and lasted a LONG time. Which is a good thing when it comes to painting barns.

So, to your pair. It's a good setting and a great picture. My best guess would be cows in the shed and hay in the barn. Just a guess mind you, and based on an idea from 3000 miles away and the use of our barns (and sheds :))

It's a great photo and rendition. Thank you.

Sort:  

It wasn't pure size, and it wasn't pure shape

That's interesting. I always thought it was more size than anything. That being said, though, I have categorized many 'outbuildings' in my Old Barn Project which I'm pretty sure were chicken coops, sheds, and other such things. I like saving them for posterity, especially the ones I have passed frequently. The actual barns are definitely more in-number, though. If you ever think of a way to put the distinctions into words, I'd love to hear them! 🙂

Hmmmmm. A Barn always had a high roof with room for loose hay in the center. There were a few round barns in the area and they fit that part of the description. Size was always part of the equation but there were some large (combine) sheds that had as much square footage as the ordinary barn.

My Grandfather had the barn built (by a regionally famous builder) on the place where I grew up. Our nearest neighbor had a barn built by the same guy at the same time. Theirs was slightly smaller and was painted grey in all my years to our red. But if one neighbor painted their barn you could be the other would the next year :)

Smaller sheds often had other names: Coop, grainery, loafing shed, milking shed etc. So I'd guess shape was/is the primary consideration. Know that may have changed, it's been over 40 years since I was really conversant. For instance we would never (and I still don't) call a pickup a truck. A truck was purpose built to haul farm goods.