Planting Flowers and Finishing Projects!

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

20200502_092536.jpg

I have fifteen pots that I fill with flowers each spring and it's one of my favorite things to do. My husband gets the chore of keeping them watered all summer, so it's a joint effort. Yesterday, Mom and I ventured out to the local landscape nursery - mask in place and sanitizing wipes in hand, keeping the 6' social distancing. And even then it's a little scary getting out. But we made it home with a trunk load of plants and today, a nice sunny 80 degrees! - I got them all planted.

My front porch has small pots attached to the railing and I always use the same flowers every year in them. I've tried alternating colors in the pots, but find I like the same color in them all better. Purple is my favorite. These will grow and fill out to cascade down the sides of the planter.

20200502_092907.jpg

I have three single pots along the middle of the front railing and on both corners there is a double pot arrangement.

20200502_092847.jpg.

Coming out of the front door on to the porch are our two favorite rockers with a nice Boston Fern in the middle and another of my potted plants on the end.

20200502_092951.jpg

I used a variety of plants mixed together in the remaining pots. One of the tips I got from reading about making up your pots was the rule of thumb to use a "Thriller", a "Filler", and a "Spiller". One tall spiky plant in the middle to be your Thriller, then a type of abundantly flowering short plant in the middle for your Filler, and finally a mining type plant to hang down the sides for your Spiller. You can't really see the begonias yet as they are still pretty small, but they will produce pretty flowers for the Filler before long.

20200502_092649.jpg

My landscaping has lots of perennial plants that come up (hopefully) each year and don't need to be replanted. My white hydrangea is one of my favorites and it is coming along very nicely for this early in the year. It's the centerpiece of the front lawn and it had some amazing huge flowers last year.

20200502_092507.jpg

My first flowers so far this year that have bloomed are already attracting the bees. I see I caught one at work:

20200502_093816.jpg

And I mentioned something about finishing projects. We've done a lot of power washing to get rid of winter's dreariness and dirt. Here is our concrete driveway after finishing the first two thirds. You can see by the final section left to do (which is now finished as well 😁) that it really made a difference in brightening up the driveway.

20200428_101234.jpg

And while we had the power washer out we used it to peel off all the loose paint around the garage door frame. I'm glad that it's the only thing around, other than the back patio steps, that is wood that has to be painted.

20200502_092717.jpg

And that is now finished as well. I should have taken a picture of me - I had more paint on me than ended up on the door somehow. I was able to get the back patio step and well as the door frame painted this morning. It feels so GOOD to get projects finished.

20200502_135531.jpg

text15.png

2gsjgna1uruv8X2R8t7XDv5HGXyHWCCu4rKmbB5pmEzjYSizzfjNdte3WjDpJwa9mk6TFQtnVQ1y9b9KfhHWUQzbnDePQPwDzSpLPH9Ny2NPEuJDfL.png

KNoz79cGRt59F26ze6eP2tUxiihBmkfXYo9w7DDKsQPNkNhkUqF9FjD9GHUyFiYcXWdH2ADpn47sAEk15XwKttojSHKQ6x4gvtZJ18Bd9YWcK1euPdX447jKfDNcNU9sBi6SPiU7NEn1xdUbh6N7XFEeD4r3cHsGvfVcXPH5J4ZGFeUd2spU9vgBMKiqSV2uQaxTaqeQBHG3V.png

TEAMUSAhive_footer_blueeyes.jpg

Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account at Sign up for Hive.

Sort:  

You have a very pretty porch and your flowers are so attractive I must say @ @blueeyes8960 I hope that I can soon renovate our decrepit house too we just needed a more comfortable place to live in :/

@cryptopie - thanks, and I hope also you are able to do a renovation to your home, lets hope HIVE keeps continuing in an upward trend.

your garden is looking good and if i was to be painting that door I am sure I would have got more paint one than the door as well LOL

Thanks @tattoodjay - I love spending time with the flowers and landscaping. I should have taken the paint-splotched-me pic, lol.

MY father was a great gardener, it always looked perfect both the flower and Vege garden and he loved his time there, its something I didn't get from him but if space permits in the place we find when we move, I may well give it a try again

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!

We have cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Nice flowers.
Greetings from the poker tables ;)

Are you kaycee on the table? Thanks for the comment!

i am a gardener too and i love flowers but mostly fruits trees

I don't have any trees in my yard :( . We keep intending to plant some but have never done it. Strawberries and blackberries are the extent of my fruit production.

It is already really nice ! And if you plant fruit trees , i advise you to buy 2/3 years old trees , you get the fruits faster 🙂
Then any raspberries , blackcurrent etc....grow super fast .
Also kiwis is giving a lot ( one male , one female )
Have fun , at least you have the space to do it 🍒

I'm thinking a cherry tree does sound wonderful, there are so pretty, as well loving the cherries. Mmmm a cherry pie sounds delicious doesn't it?

THE BEST 🍒🍒🍒🍒🍒🍒🍒🍒🍒🍒
Older the tree you buy faster and more fruits , you wont regret it

I am drinking now my blackcurrent tea ( leaves ) , pink color 😍

90A06B0CDAF24D21885C06B738379690.jpeg

I love herbal teas, looks good!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @freedomtowrite on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

@freedomtowrite and @innerblocks thanks for the curation!

Garden is looking lovely, front porch appears to be a lovely warm area to sit and relax.

Painting the home is one task I do enjoy, fresh lick of paint makes the place look new again, well done and have a lovely new week Tammy.

!tip

Thanks @joanstewart, and thank you for the tip! Yes, it's amazing how much brighter a place looks with fresh paint. But I'm glad there isn't much painting to do, a little of that goes a long way for me, lol.

We really do enjoy the porch, love sitting and rocking in the sun in the morning, then in the shade when it's hot in the afternoon - the porch faces east.

🎁 Hi @blueeyes8960! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: Kindness Counts Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.