Bozzlife: It's always something...

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

IMG_20200709_062703.jpg


If it was the first time I woke up to a situation like this in the past month I might call it a fluke. Sadly, this was the second time in a month that I woke up to a flat tire on my truck.

The first time we had been camping for the weekend and on Sunday morning I was getting the truck hooked up to the trailer so we could head home when @mrsbozz said "hey, you have a flat tire!".

Between the friends we camp with and myself it was a fairly quick and easy process to swap it out with the spare. I took the tire in to the local shop and they patched the hole for no charge. Since it is the same tire, I am guessing the hole was worse than any of us thought.


I think you would be hard pressed to find anyone who disagrees with you that 2020 has been a pretty rough year so far...


Personally, my wife and I have had any number of trials and tribulations thrown our way. Despite that, the thing that I have really been reflecting on through all of this is the idea of Equalibirum.

Covid-19 threw a pretty heavy punch at all of us. With both of us working in education, we were basically making stuff up on the fly to get us and our students through the end of the year. Thanks to the state government, we continued to get paid though... equilibrium.

In May a three day storm dumped endless amounts of rain on our region. We were hit with a once in 500 year storm that caused immense flooding. Dams failed and several small towns were basically wiped off the map.

We had some minor issues with a pipe in our front yard (dig back through my blog to find it), but our basement stayed dry. I know this one might be a stretch since we still had to dig up our driveway, but back in October 2019, our basement flooded and not having to go through that again is a blessing to me. I choose to see this situation as another example of equilibrium.

image003.jpg


In early June we had another significant storm come through and a tree fell on our deck. I wrote some posts about this as well if you are looking back to read about the flood.

Anyway, besides the damage to the deck, the house was unscathed along with our A/C unit. On top of that, our insurance fully covered the cost of the repairs to the deck (shocking, I know!). Let me say it again... equilibrium.

Finally, we come to this morning. A tire that just doesn't seem to want to stay fixed, so now I am looking at a full set of new tires for the truck. If you have ever been tire shopping, you can attest to how expensive they can be.

Here is the kicker though, I just picked up some side work that paid me pretty decent and because of that, I should be able to cover the cost of the new tires without having to dip into our savings or checking account. I'll say it one final time... equilibrium.

I believe in a higher power, so I am not discounting the fact that God is/was at work in these situations. Even taking that into consideration, the world seems to have a way of working things out, and how nice is it to be able to trust in that?


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg

Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


@eos.detroit BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

Sort:  

Coincidence is God's way of remaining anonymous. Just sayin'

With all the rest of it, 2020 is going to be on my highlight reel because I found and met my birth family. What's a little pandemic action compared to that?

Life remains life. Sometimes you just have to look a little harder to find the good stuff, but it's ALWAYS there if you look.

Thanks for a great reminder post.

PS I missed the tree on the deck because I was travelling. Wow!

Yeah, between that, the floods and the driveway it has been nuts! There are lots of people who used to have lake front property that are now looking at a muddy river. Plus the wiped out towns and now the class action lawsuits. This stuff is crazier than the movies!

It's funny because I actually thought 2019 was rough and then 2020 came and I am thinking 2019 was actually not bad. I guess this is were the talk of resilience and perseverance will actually be put into action. I believe in God also and that things will always work out. One way or the other

Yeah, when our basement flooded in 2019 I didn't think it could get much worse. Boy was I wrong!

I’m sorry to hear of the challenges @bozz but am thrilled that equilibrium is working it all out. I feel like this year is a test.

Big parts of life are suffering and sustaining through misery, that is the only way to earn yourself the ultimate reward, true wisdom.

Well said!

Your description was perfect, very well written.

Are you using cheap tyres or just having a spate of bad luck? Saying this... cheap tyres last a long time if you get lucky!

These are the tires that were on the truck when I bought it. I knew they were going to need replaced at some point. The new ones aren't the fanciest, but I am still looking at about $700 for the set.

hey @bozz, .. "I believe in a higher power, ", ... that's another thing we have in common!, ... is it possible that if the tyre wasn't flat your journey could have got you into worse trouble?, ... its the way I accept things sometimes, but I got to agree with you 2020 is a bit of a downer. 😌

For sure! Many times when I get stuck in traffic or behind someone slow I always think "where is the accident that I am avoiding because of this".

I cracked my windshield this week so I’m right there with you...

That sucks! Hopefully insurance covers it!

I owe $200 I have to get the whole thing replaced... 14” cracks from impact. I guess it’s better than the $600-1000 out of pocket.

dang, that sucks!

Yeah not to mention it’s a 7 day lead time.

yeah it's been that kind of year. Wasn't it you that had extensive damage to the basement because of flooding? Fortunately the extent of my issues has been the fact that I am basically trapped in a country with no sign of any sort of timeline about when I can be able to get out. I did move here intentionally but with a business plan that involved travel to other countries to establish it. But at least a tree didn't fall on my deck! (i don't have a deck) :P

Yeah, that was back in October of 2019 that we had the flood in our basement. That is what really started everything I think. Between that, Corona, my leg, the driveway, and now the deck we have had our fill of this kind of stuff.