Bozzlife: Throwing in the Towel

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

Well, after several weeks of thinking it over and over, I am finally done.

Don't be silly, I am not quitting Hive. Far from it in fact! What I am quitting is my futile chase after that elusive #posh upvote.

Since the inception of Hive and even before with Steem I was constantly chasing after upvotes from #OCD, #GEMS, and several other groups.

My posts would bounce around from one community to the other with no apparent home. For some reason unknown to mere mortals, #powerhousecreatives has welcomed and accepted me and I feel that this is probably the best home currently for my material.

Don't get me wrong, I will still use the GEMS tag and the OCD tag, I think they are great communities and they do some awesome things on this blockchain.

What you won't see at the bottom of my posts is the #posh tag and here is my reasoning.

I understand there are a lot of people who use the tag. I also understand that they have limited curators and resources with which to work. It would be virtually impossible to hit all of the posts that deserve it. I get that.

However, if I am using the POSH tag for a period of four months five times a week, statistically I should receive at least one bump. That hasn't happened. Perhaps for the reasons I mentioned in the previous sentence.

Maybe it is because my posts make too much. After some investigation and questioning I found that was the case with the GEMS tag. Who knew, on a platform where we have seen posts make hundreds if not thousands of dollars consistently that receiving $10 for your posts would be considered too much.

I am obviously biased of course, but I think my content is pretty damn good. Witty at times, insightful, informative, thought provoking...

Living in the states, I know I am not going to be paying any bills with my earnings on Hive. The fact that I power everything that I earn ensures that as well. Do I think my content is worth hundreds of dollars? No. Do I think my posts are worth $30? You bet your ass.

Now, I know it sounds like I am complaining, but believe me, I am not. After writing a post a while ago about being content with what you get, I know I have no right to complain.

I just wanted to let people know if you have been hunting for that GEMS, OCD, or POSH upvote, you are not alone. I encourage you to keep striving for it. Me, I have made the decision to focus my efforts on bolstering the already quality content that is on #powerhousecreatives.

Will I still be doing some whale hunting here and there? Of course. Save a few purists like @steevc (much respect), we'd be lying if we said we weren't here to make a little coin some day.

Good luck to all of you!

PS - I have gotten in the habit of promoting my posts on Twitter because of POSH, I plan on continuing that too, just without the #posh tag now.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg

Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


@eos.detroit BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

Sort:  

Anyway, I prefer communities about a specific topic compared to 'communities' which are about receiving upvotes only. :)

Fair enough! I know you are not alone!

I have not had much luck with posh either. It may have got me an extra vote a couple of times. I do not bother with gems or ocd. I am not going to fish for votes generally. I do okay on my posts and I would rather have real engagement in comments than more votes.

I am not going to post in the GEMS/OCD communities as that makes no sense to me if I want engagement. People only post there to get votes and nobody will go there looking for content to read from what I can see. Post in relevant communities.

Those are my thoughts anyway.

Well said. You guys are making me contemplate my entire hive post routine. Now to find some communities with good engagement.

I think we need to break some old habits to optimise the experience for the less well off.

This is true. I see you doing it all the time and I appreciate what you are doing.

One of the great things about Hive is that you can help others whilst still earning. There's lots of underappreciated content and the curation rewards can be better on that than on posts by people who trend all the time.

Yeah I'm working on following new users everyday.

I always value your opinion! Sadly, even engagement seems to have fallen off a bit as I wrote about a while ago.

Posts about Hive can get a lot of comments, but we need to get people more active in communities around other topics. Having a good stream of relevant posts is part of what keeps them coming back.

Right you are brother...

I think of the analogy of throwing a small pebble...

Let's focus on those waves aye? ✌🤘

Post in relevant communities.

This is what I try to pass on also for those looking to build a follower base. I do still post occasionally in GEMS and OCD, there is a need for the general service box store, but when I am on a content hunt outside of my following list I look to the communities.

I just cannot be bothered chasing after votes, but then I get decent rewards anyway. I will stick with communities I enjoy.

I've never gotten a posh upvote either and came to the same conclusion. Love my @powerhousecreatives though - and @thealliance - and @innerblocks - and @naturalmedicine - where I find friends and colleagues!

Those are some really awesome communities!

Like steevc mentioned, the relevant communities are the way to go at least that is also my thought on it. GEMS and OCD are good for a random, I can't think what community to post this in, they are kind of catch-all box stores. As far as finding content to read outside of the group of people I follow, I rely a lot on communities. I never know what mood I am going to be in, so having choice does help.

That is a very good way to put it. Thanks for that input.

Agreed brother...

No penthouse in the future, but you are right...

Positive energy brings positive energy. And if one post we work forever on changes someone's mind... brain... heck, makes them smile. Then we are one step in the right direction...

#tomorrowisthegoal #thoughtfuldailypost
!tip

It can be hard to find that positive energy sometimes!

Oh I know my friend. Not easy to keep treading water!! I'm one to proclaim when asked...

How are you?

... with; "I woke up, the rest is a bonus!"

I appreciate your honesty. It must not have been an easy decision. I am still looking forward to your quality posts wherever it may be.

Thank you!

Posh is on a break at the moment. They are not voting those tags while they reset their procedures.

Good to know thanks! Have they been on a break for three to four months? Just trying to figure the odds and statistics!

Hey ya!

As you know I post my stuff at PHC. It's the place I've found that is most like the old SteemEngine, where I was firmly at home.

I was a curator for a while at OCD. Back then it was supposed to be about 'new accounts' and fresh content. It wasn't much, and I had to move on. But I still maintain a relationship with some really good people that I met there.

I'm happy posting at PHC even though I might make a little more elsewhere. It's a good place on Hive and in Discord (though sometimes very slooooow).

I actually caught a little bitty Currie vote here on hive in the very early days. I wasn't looking for it and was adequately surprised.

So. I'm glad you are posting via PHC because you ARE witty and intelligent and articulate and I do enjoy reading your posts!

Thanks! I appreciate it! PHC is a pretty great place. I agree, it is very similar to the old SteemEngine. I know I don't spend as much time on the Discord Server as I should. I have so many I jump back and forth between that it gets hard to dedicate the appropriate time to each one.

I did the POSH thing a few times, but got bored with it. These days I mostly post to OCD and onchainart. (I am half asleep, can't remember if I wrote that right)

I swear to God, though.. My upvotes go up with however much stake I own. I never know if anyone cares what I write about. Lol! Oh well.

I still use OCD. I don't really do anything artistic, so I probably am best to avoid the onchainart tag! They might run me out of town!

Man I feel the same way. I started using #posh after seeing your posts and have yet to see any real returns. I don’t expect it yet I find that my content receives around 1-2 hive. I think it is worth more than that, but obviously I’m finding it hard to gain traction outside of a few close friends. I might be following you to new communities. Thanks for all your support!

Of course! I love your beer reviews and the food stuff you have been doing lately is awesome as well. Plus, your market review stuff has also been very insightful. I think your stuff is worth more than that too. Sadly, I have found that with many of these types of platforms it is more about who you know than how good your content is.

I think that is the case. I know a lot of people are on auto vote which is great to constantly reward creators you like, but it prevents a lot of people from branching out to new authors. Another thing I noticed as with most social media. If a post has a large value people will vote on it because they think that that large value means it’s good content.

Great points!

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 75000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @wesphilbin!

Check out @wesphilbin blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @wesphilbin on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening