📷 Portraits of the Wild Ones I Walk With

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE • 4 years ago (edited)

Hive Portrait Photography Contest ( #portraitcontest ) is a weekly photography contest by @portraitcontest, giving photographers a chance to freely share their camera talents.


Easter Sunday - April 12, 2020

Yesterday, we greeted the day with an early morning family portrait session. We walked in a gentle rain into the woods where the wildflowers are. When the sunrise arrived, colors flying, the butterflies and bees came out of hiding. Joy sprung alive in all of us.

This is @wildfamily. Isn't she lovely?


Wild Beauty Surrounds Us

Naturally, I captured some video footage along with the photography. Here are some simple glimpses of everyday heaven. Feels like a breath of fresh air, cherishing the pleasant scenery. I'm thankful for these reminders to slow down, look around, and listen to the gifts of the present moment.

I'm happy to say that I showed up for my family and shined on Easter Sunday. I did my best to stay present with the kids. We created origami Easter eggs, and we held several Easter egg hunts. We talked about the significance of this holiday. We kept things merry and bright.


Jumping for Joy

My intention was to start a Spring tradition of capturing on family portrait on Easter Sunday. So we started with a photo featuring our tribe of five. And then our 10-year-old son, Daniel, had the bright idea to make it a jump fest.

Daniel Lindsay, age 10

Rosalie, Gabriel, and Daniel

Star, Bunny, and Ninja

We took our turn too


Art is All We Are

LindsayFamilyEaster202034.jpg

LindsayFamilyEaster202017.jpg

LindsayFamilyEaster202010.jpg

LindsayFamilyEaster202012.jpg

Honey

Yes, we're living in a time of unknowns. And yet, there are many things I do know. I know that I am blessed to be with this family. I know I am lucky to have these loved ones in my life, so near and dear to me. I know that the brilliance and beauty I see and hear is a light of encouragement that cleans my heart and invigorates my thoughts.

I also have faith. I have faith that I am cared for, and provided for, by a Creator who is infinitely kind and generous. I see this truth in the fact that the wildflowers flourish, the butterflies float, and the birds sing, living with complete ease, freedom, and abundance, trusting there is an unlimited Source of Pure Love available always to all of us.

I feel grateful for my camera, and for the opportunity to earn a living with this camera. I feel grateful for yesterday's holiday, with all its sweetness. I feel grateful for the medicine of music, and for the freedom to sing and play as I feel inspired. I feel grateful for the miracle of life, and for my family's good health and well-being.


Acknowledgements

All footage and photos are original, by Cabe Lindsay, captured in Austin, Texas, on Sunday April 12, 2020. The camera is a Canon Mark III 5D, with a Canon 70-200 lens, with a variable UV filter.

Cheers to @portraitcontest for the invitation to capture some camera magic this week. I really appreciate the encouragement! Cheers to this Hive here, which seems to be thriving. Let's keep on buzzing, brothers and sister, let's keep things humming.

🌞 🌜 🌟 ✨

Sort:  

this is so beautiful and moving!

Thanks so much! It feels really good to have a place like Hive to share, and an invitation like this one to try something new. And I really appreciate your comment here—feels encouraging.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.