Let's eat from the same apple

What makes a family stand united and be genuinely happy with what they have? As our modern society offers more technology and more luxury, the people grow further and further apart. They rather hold a phone instead of cuddling with their lover, they rather chase money and status instead of pursuing meaningful connections, they rather be cruel and mean instead of trying to understand the pain behind the smile.

When we can all have a bite from the same apple, neither of us will get hungry. Compassion and the power of appreciating what trully matters are important. We are given a mind and a heart. The purpose of those is to be put to good use. A cold bitter heart can't be open towards genuine love because it is fearful and it does not trust. An ignorant mind can't embrace knowledge because it believes it knows it all and has everything/everyone figured out. Can you really know what is inside a human heart? No... You can't. No one can.

IMG_20200707_065911.jpg

Neither of us is perfect, but we can try to become better. Baby steps. As long as the direction is right, the speed does not matter.

I was feeling very humbled after I watched the story of this family living in Nepal. In this short movie made by National Geographic we can see the beauty of a family where love is trully in the air. Simple people, working the land, trying to make money from an apple farm to be able to buy food and care for their children.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=b-wRvrodaPM

I have seen, just like you, people in palaces or in huge villas who were miserable and unhappy. The air filled with hatred, contempt and hostility made it a hard place to live . It does not matter where you stay, if you have a tiny room, an apartment, a villa, a penthouse. If there is no love and respect between the two people.... It is a prison. For both of them. Love should not feel like this. We often expect our partner to be the one to help us heal, not the one to put salt on our wounds and tear our heart into pieces. We should be better than causing pain, we should be better than receiving pain.

I smiled when I saw these simple people, eating all at the same table crowded in a tiny house. They were all smiling. They were all kind to each other. They were trully a family. It does not take a fortune to be kind. Only an open heart to eat from the same apple when that might be your last one.
A full belly with an empty soul is unbearable for too long. I would rather share an apple with my love than to feast myself at a table where I am alone.

Have a lovely day and toodle loo!

MY SOCIAL MEDIA
My etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/CreativeMaryT
My merch shop: https://teespring.com/stores/creativemaryt
My twitch channel:


My fiverr:https://www.fiverr.com/maryiscreative
My t-shirt facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/zatelier2020/
My t-shirt instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/zatelier2020/
My facebook with my art: https://www.facebook.com/mariaterezabarnea
My instagram with my art: https://www.instagram.com/barneatereza/?hl=en
MY ASMR CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOsgu6zI5Z1Z39YZFVmEYUg
MY HANDMADE CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiL2v85haDPzEfMSAM8pJ2w
MY PAINTING AND NAIL ART CHANNEL: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8OHdZWy8i-vWlmbuFmBLpQ
My personal blog: https://maryhasnolamb.wordpress.com/
My podcast: https://soundcloud.com/user-535456754
My spotify:

My patreon with drawing and facepainting: https://www.patreon.com/mariamary90
My photography
https://500px.com/mariaterezaphotography

If you want to support me and show appreciation for the work that I do I accept donations here: https://www.paypal.me/CreativeMariaTereza
or through my paypal direct e-mail adress [email protected]. Thank you!

Sort:  

One thing that is very important, and often gets overlooked, is the importance of a family eating together. That simple action brings the whole family together and connections get stronger while bonding over a meal.
My family, has lost that for many many years now as we all have different times to eat. Though some morning chat is starting to take place and that's somehow heartwarming. :)

Hey! Family meals are important. You know what I would exclude from the family having a meal moment? I would exclude the phones, the TV, the technology. I would enjoy maybe a slow music and have people talk. Or just sit in silence and enjoy. Being actually present in the moment.

I find it sad when people join for a meal and sit on their phone, or watch tv. They are not interacting with each other, they are absent in their minds. It is deeply hurtful to attend such meals when nobody pays attention to anyone, it is almost like room service in a family gathering. I came, I watched tv, I ate, bye.

I think that these moments of short connection can be very powerful. People want to feel they matter, that they are wanted. Nobody wants to feel like an accessory on the family dinner, just the 5th person to fill the spot. I honestly do hope that people will start to cut off technology in important moments with their loved ones, it is trully a cancer for loving relationships. I would enjoy so much quality time knowing that the other person isn't eager to ditch me for a phone. Unfortunately, some find that brick of plastic more interesting than human interaction. Very hurtful. But hopefully there are also people who value and treasure time well spent with their loved ones.

Thanks so much for reading!

!ENGAGE 20

In my own family though, we still have along way to go. But the baby steps are promising. :)

Oh I see, nice. Do you have a big family?

Nah, we are just 4. me, my brother, and my parents. :)

Awesome, small packed family, lovely.

how about you guys? :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It is an interesting idea, when is enough enough? Especially in the modern world, when there is more of a 'race' to get the new thing that just doesn't seem to satisfy. It locks people into the cycle of working without purpose, only to realise later that they have paid in time.

Hello! When is it? That is a good question. When can we put a pause to this chase and focus on ourselves, on love, on family? When?

Here I believe that having a moment of stopping and reevaluating your life is what can change things. We often don't do this, because we always think we have more time. An illusion. We only have today, now, this very minute when I am writing this to you. Chasing money for years, thinking that your fixed schedule of acquiring things will be obeyed by the Grand Universe is wrong. How many people died alone and rich, still hoping that next year they will stop and focus on love? How many people died poor thinking tomorrow they will start to do something to get rich?

We always chase the future, ignore the present and linger on the past. Of course that in this way we are like a hamster on a wheel. We keep on running, we don't know where, why, for how long. This is the reality of the modern world. The fast fast era, when we prefer expediency over quality. A text over a call. A call over a meeting. A smile over a hug.

Funny thing... For me it is so clear we will all walk away from here empty handed and naked, just the way we were born, that's the way we're going to die. Only for those who chase more than fortune, material stuff, glory... For those the Universe will carry along their legacy :loving memories created with a family, a good education given to the kids which will last for generations, a bunch of awesome memories. For when that time when one will close their eyes, they could whisper to themselves : I have loved and I was loved. This is the greatest victory of them all.

Sorry for writing such a long reply, I easily get carried away when I feel so passionate about a subject.

Thanks for reading me, I appreciate!

I definitely agree with you here... it is a weird training that we have mostly had. That we end up working our lives away mostly in jobs that we don't like or have little meaning and interacting with people we don't really like, in pursuit of some numbers in a bank account, to have the ability do the things that we actually want to do and spend the time with the people that we love? It would be better to skip the second part!

Running to stay still... that is the crux of it.

I think the same, time spent with the loved ones should be a priority. And it is priceless. We chase the wrong things due to some misconceptions society portrayed as being right. But we always have a choice

First question on the top of the writing: love, respecting each other, responsibility , understanding each other. Money and other stuffs can be solved. But these i have written are fundamentals of a family. Money and technology are tools for humanity...Actually when you say eating the same apple you mean about Sharing...Of course sharing is a part of being family also...

Anyway i think so....

Have a nice day my friend...

Hey! I agree that love and respect should be on the first spot on a couple's priority list. Money is never enough, a house is just empty walls without a loving family inside. I think most people do not realise that sometimes we chase the wrong things. Buying a fancier car, all sorts of gadgets, cool clothes. But our heart is empty. We can only feel complete when we share. Our goods, our heart, our worries, our dreams. I strongly believe that success is not measured in fortune, but in how many hearts you touched with kindness. Fortune can be made and lost, genuine love can never be bought.

I think people surround themselves with all sorts of good thinking that this is how you become more attractive and lovable. So wrong....Those who will love you for what you have don't love you, they love the material things. The only way to love and to be loved is to open your heart and let someone in. To stay.

Thanks for reading this!

!ENGAGE 20

Love and respect are the essential key for a happy marriage. Once these are lost, then happy family life will be shattered. 😢 Contentment is also a factor. We have a saying, "Bisan saging basta loving," (Even if it's only banana for a meal as long as there's love) everything will turn out just fine. 😍

Thank you for your insight. We also see those things happening. Sad reality. 😢 But with us, we see to it to at least eat a meal together, if not all three meals. 😛

Hey! I agree with what you say. When there is love, you share a banana, an apple, a bread. Anything. You would not let the other starve while you feast and he or she would not let you starve while they feast. In love, you always have a kind consideration towards the other.

Thanks so much for reading and have a wonderful day!

Oh yes. My mom inculcated in us the joy of sharing. She always mentions the family of 9 kids, sharing a native nut a size of a thumb to all the nine children! Hahaha! 😂 Well, the Bible says so. 😍 "There is more happiness in giving than there is in receiving." So, a family is happier when they give and share with each other. ❤

So beautiful! Your mom really gave you a great education by teaching you the power of sharing!

Yes. 😍 I kept that beautiful story in my heart. ❤

Have a beautiful evening. 😍

You too😊

Congratulations @creativemary! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4500 comments. Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER