Words are hard

Words are hard

.
. by @d-pend .
.


THUMB words are hard.png


c 3.png
c.png


a 1.png


a 2.png
thumb option 5.png


Note
.


What spurred this video was an internal reflection on communicating and creating. I often feel like there are so many things I want to share, but then when push comes to shove, I'm not really sure what to say. In many ways I'm more at home in nonverbal methods of expression, which explains the affinity for music and visual art.

It might seem a bit strange that a writer of poetry feels uncomfortable with words, but I believe part of what draws me to the literary arts is the challenging aspect of aligning the intangible creative impulse with the concrete technical building blocks of language.

Once again, just a bit of improvised piano in the background in the key of C Kirnberger at A=430 hz. I had changed my tuning to that for a song I made using samples of my grandma's old upright piano and decided to leave it that way as it has an interesting sound to it.

I hope you enjoy this video and have a great day!


thumb option 5 1.pnga 3.png


Video
.


c 4.png

c 5.png


b 1.png


c 2.png
a 1.png


video, words and images by @d-pend
created for HIVE on Oct. 8, 2020.


a.pngc 1.png


c 1.png

Sort:  

Daniel! I realise of-course this post in blockchain terms is ancient, from another century almost, BUT when I stumbled across it, I realised it has been forever since I heard that amazing voice... The one that has the ability to bring resonance, emotion and profound meaning to words...

... and obviously, I felt compelled to comment.

One of my blockchain highlights was taking part in your poetry show 'way back when' and hearing my own words brought to life in a way that made my soul fly, hyperbole? Nope!

Interesting then, that the topic at hand is the awkward, at times, complicated nature of words, language and choosing the ones that feel precise enough to convey feelings, thoughts, emotions and ideas.

I am not in the least surprised to hear you speaking in this vein, for one who feels the weight of words, understands the joy and pain made manifest through them and weaves words as skillfully as you do, the gravitas of the task is not lost, there is almost a responsibility to use them well, use them wisely and properly. Coupled with the fact you always seemed a little self deprecating regarding your talents and perhaps do not see your own craft as being as wonderful as others do, this should be an obvious reaction.

However, this is also fabulously endearing and the freedom from ego, arrogance and some of the other qualities that are often replete with those who engage in similar pursuits is refreshing and you always seem to radiate warmth and appear utterly approachable (not quite the right word, but considering the topic at hand, I thought I wouldn't overthink it).

The piano complimented the words and philosophy beautifully, I shall be paying a lot more attention to your body of work on YouTube in the coming weeks, I often take time out to read your words, they are often as a balm to the mind and soul but must confess I have never stumbled across anything of yours such as this video, so full of personality and philosophical musings, much really did resonate.

Take good care Daniel, I wish I had a little more time to keep in touch with many fabulous creative, inspiring and awesometasical people here, but life, work, family...

Awesometastical???

Oh yeah, sometimes when the right words don't come easily, I create them, it has served me well through the years :)

Poems are probably the most artistic way to deal with the written word. I am German-speaking and I realize that although I speak very good English, I have to give up when it comes to poetry. Because poems work as a whole, the totality of what a poem expresses cannot be broken down into its individual parts. Poems are so blatantly different from books or other texts because it is basically absurd to put a copyright on them. A poem wants to spread, it should be repeated by as many people as possible.

Really good poems - that's how I see it - are a gift from the poet to the many who lack the words, who have the desire to express something, but cannot find a creative way to do so. When I write greeting cards or want to say something valuable to another person at the end of a letter, I use poems for it.

Poetry probably comes close to what cannot really be grasped, it is the approach to the sensation that cannot really be transmitted and it is precisely this realization that one cannot nail down truth or sensation that is the beauty and strength of poetry.

The knowledge that a sentence can take two people apart by their subjective understanding sometimes triggers that love-hate relationship in me, too. I then become word-less and speech-less while in the very back of my mind the superstructure of all what is there, creates desperation. If I am able to I calm myself down to just accept a situation, forgive myself for being incapable to express myself, it gets better and I don't have to break up the contact but stay with it.

Your commentary is much appreciated... and extremely spot on!

Poems are so blatantly different from books or other texts because it is basically absurd to put a copyright on them. A poem wants to spread, it should be repeated by as many people as possible.

Absolutely.

Poetry probably comes close to what cannot really be grasped, it is the approach to the sensation that cannot really be transmitted and it is precisely this realization that one cannot nail down truth or sensation that is the beauty and strength of poetry.

Right, the paradoxical attempt to go beyond words... through words. By juxtaposing familiar language with neologisms or strange turns of phrase, one can potentially jolt the mind of the reader out of linear thinking — much like a zen koan.

The knowledge that a sentence can take two people apart by their subjective understanding sometimes triggers that love-hate relationship in me, too. I then become word-less and speech-less while in the very back of my mind the superstructure of all what is there, creates desperation. If I am able to I calm myself down to just accept a situation, forgive myself for being incapable to express myself, it gets better and I don't have to break up the contact but stay with it.

Beautifully expressed. That sense of calm poise despite the perception of obstacles is invaluable for any endeavor in life, and certainly an inestimable asset in communication.

This is one of the best comments I've gotten in a while, thanks for taking the time! Peace.

Thank you and you are welcome. I can see that you are very experienced in doing the art of poems and also thinking in philosophical terms about it. I listened a lot to Alan Watts and learned a great deal about foreign traditions, expressions and the handling with words.

One of the most precious things I picked up from him, was that an expression offers the most, if it irritates you. If I stumble upon an unusual phrase, I become irritated in the purest form of irritation, the poet or the writer or the artist succeeded in transmitting something which hits me, as the recipient, inner-worldly. The freedom of choice how a work of art can be understood is the best experience, no? Zen Koans are doing that. Humor does it. ... The unexpected does it.

Silence does it on an almost unbearable level.

"Irritation" is, in my eyes, overly underestimated. :) that counts for "disturbance" as well, which I find often enough to be of a positive quality.

I do love the paradox, great that you mentioned it. It's a great helper in getting a clear mind and it never stops to be interesting.

Didn't know you were a musician. I can relate to what you expressed. I used to be "better" at joining the two axis... then, not sure why... I got lost, and things got a bit out of order. But deep inside I know I can still do it. One day... LOL

Didn't know you were a musician.

Yep, I got my undergrad in Piano :-) I used to play in a professional touring band after I graduated back in 2013/2014. It wasn't the life for me but I got a lot of life experience out of it! I have been more inclined towards poetry for the past three years but I still make music off and on.

I can relate to what you expressed. I used to be "better" at joining the two axis... then, not sure why... I got lost, and things got a bit out of order. But deep inside I know I can still do it. One day... LOL

Haha, absolutely! Thanks for stopping by @forykw.

I think the key to authentic communication and one that delivers enjoyment and peace is to suspend judgement and allow the flow and feeling.

I think you probably do this better than you think.

I think the key to authentic communication and one that delivers enjoyment and peace is to suspend judgement and allow the flow and feeling.

Well said. As soon as the analytical mind oversteps its bounds... well, problems seem to "abound." And thanks for the reassurance. 😉

Good to hear from you :-)