My California - Processing Hardrock Gold Ore

Hardrock cover.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @thesocalhive I show you how I process...

Hardrock Gold Ore!!

socalhive divider.png

A few months back I was driving across the Mojave desert and I had some extra time so I decided to do a little exploring out a random dirt road that took me out to the middle of nowhere. As I got out into the hills I started seeing old tailings piles as I drove up the road... pretty good sized ones too. Then I got to where the road got a bit rougher than I felt comfortable driving on so I stopped to take a look around. Up on a ridge about two hundred feet above me I saw a place where it looked like it had been mined so I hiked up and checked it out. I looked around and found two more mines nearby, but I wasn't really seeing anything exciting. Regardless I figured there had to be something there since the old timers had put in so much work so I filled up a bucket and headed back to the truck and drove home.

Fast forward to now and I finally found some time to checkout the material, crush it down, and pan it out... and believe it or not, I actually find a little bit of gold!!

GOPR0392.jpeg
At the mine collecting the material

GOPR1491.jpeg
My heavy duty Chain Mill Rock Crusher

GOPR1499.jpeg
My gold panning station

The Video

Until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!

Hardrock thanks.png

socalhive divider.png

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalHive is building and supporting the Hive Blockchain community in Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Hive, we'd love for you to follow us @theSoCalHive and join our group on Discord

socalhive divider.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


MM2xCIQi-image.png

Dividerbar.jpg

20180828_205946_img.jpg
Dividerbar.jpg

HYBHapp banner.png

pinmapple banner.png

Sort:  

Awesome! Well done and nice video! 😎

Thanks! You ever need to crush anything into a fine powder you know who to call. lol.

Not even mad to admit I'm jealous, lol. This is always something I've wanted to do. Awesome man, good to know this exists and it's not too far away
!tip

There is so much gold in California still!! If you ever wanna dig just let me know... I know a bunch of spots. I'm not getting rich on it, but with the rising gold prices... I'm happy to have every little flake!!!

🎁 Hi @derekrichardson! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @johneyreacko!

@johneyreacko wrote lately about: Can You Name This Flower? Feel free to follow @johneyreacko if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

WOW... so awesome! Thanks for showing us the entire process! It must be so fun! Quite an operation going there! Now are those sheep or goats in the background? Did you wake them up, @derekrichardson?
Hmmm... shake, shake and wash, then do that many times over again... and then BOOM!!!! flakes of gold!!! AWESOME! OMG!!! Oh yeah.. all gold is good gold!!!
Where did you say did you get those rocks from? Mojave desert? WOW, just amazing!
Thanks for sharing the video, my friend. I enjoyed every minute of it.
BTW, the American Prospector is one of my favorite designs in silver, and I even wear one as a bracelet charm!
Take care 🥰🌺🤙

Thanks @silversaver888! It is definitely a fun hobby.

Haha! Yep my neighbors have a bunch of goats... they were all excited for some reason.🐐🐐🐐🐐

Yep... basically just shake and wash. There's a few more tricks you can learn once you get better, but all you really need to do is stratify the material (by shaking) so that the gold drops down to the bottom and then you can wash away the top layer. Then just repeat the process getting more careful as you get to the last 2 cups or so of material.

These rocks came from a mine way out in the hills about an hour northeast of Barstow.⛏🤠 It was fun to check it out, but I know there are much better spots around the Barstow area. There's a few GPAA claims that I wanna check out that are supposed to be pretty damn good.

I saw your recent post with the "American Prospector" silver coins... I was drooling!! 😛 I gotta try to get a few of those for myself. 💰💰