My Five for #thriveonhive by @DerekRichardson

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

White_and_Pale_Pink_Fashion_Advertisement_Facebook_Cover_6.png

"Coming together is a beginning, staying together is progress, and working together is success." – Henry Ford

Hive is not simply a blockchain - it is a decision, a mindset and a like minded community that shares in the growth of such.

THE WHAT, WHY, WHO & WHERE OF IT ALL

These are my five...

WHAT

(What Hive offers you as an individial)

Hive is... in my opinion... the absolute best blockchain out there for me. It's a great place for me to share my life experiences with others, have others share their life experiences with me. And together we all learn about each other, create and grow friendships, and best of all we can easily support each other which all builds some really beautiful communities!

WHY

(How Hive is different to other social media and blogging platforms)

Now there are lots of sites online to write a blog. And I am admittedly on quite a few. lol. Now, there are many things to look at when looking at a blockchain social media site. Decentralization, censorship resistance, scalability, transparency, efficiency, user base, and many more. And in these factors Hive comes out in the lead by far... but most importantly... where Hive really excels above all others is the people here. The amazing communities full of incredible individuals. That is what really sets Hive apart from all the rest!

WHO

(People & spaces you find Hive support and gain enthusiasm from)

As I alluded to in the last part, Hive is really all about the WHO. So this section might be a little longer because I have found lots and lots of amazing people here! Far too many to include them all. First I have to start with the community that started it all for me... the #powerhousecreatives! The PHC is ran by the two of the most incredible people on this blockchain, @zord189 and @jaynie. With these two amazing leaders at the helm the PHC has grown and evolved to become THE community for all the serious bloggers on Hive. If you are a quality blogger on Hive and you're not in the PHC... let's just say you need to quit wasting time and go join!! Secondly I'd have to talk about the community that I started myself... @thesocalhive!! Inspired by the success of the PHC community as well as the #teammaylaysia community I decided to start building a community for crypto bloggers here in Southern California. Now, when I started it I admittedly didn't know what I was getting myself into. Being a community leader definitely isn't the easiest. But I also couldn't have imagined how rewarding it would be. I've made so many great friends, read so many awesome blogs, chatted online with members late into the night, and enjoyed lots of super fun in person meetups!! There are far to many awesome SoCal Hive members to name them all, but the one that I absolutely have to mention is my good friend (and gardening guru) @mariannewest! Without her wisdom and support I would never have been able to make @thesocalhive what it is today. Some of our other awesome members include @steemseph, @brian.rrr, @angrysage, @inalittlewhile, @stever82, @jnetsworld, @alaqrab, @torrey.blog, @silversaver888, @armentor, @artedellavita, @kunschj, and @krazypoet just to name a few! Another really awesome and supportive community has been the @pinmapple group! This is a community of traveling bloggers that is ran by @martibis, @livinguktaiwan, @choogirl, and @lizanomadsoul. Travel bloggers can pin their posts onto the Pinmapple map. And every day the pinmapple team posts a "travel digest" which features the posts added to the map! One of my greatest pleasures is getting to travel along (online via reading their blogs) with some of the most intrepid adventurers to some of the most incredible locations all around the world. Thanks to Pinmapple I've seen so many incredible blogs from tropical island beaches to big inner cities to the highest remote alpine mountains! My next 'who' is the guy that was probably my first real friend here on this blockchain. The man, the myth, the morning bowl legend... Mr. @davedickeyyall! When I was pretty much brand new on the chain I met this guy Dave... he likes smoking, and I like smoking... and so we just hit it off right off the bat. (great minds think alike lol!) And it's three years later now we STILL follow and support each other! It's a beautiful thing to find real genuine people like Dave. Now lastly, on a somewhat sadder note I have to mention my late friend Sharon (@fitinfun). I met her through Marianne West, and although she was currently living in Malaysia, she enjoyed posting about when she lived here in California so I was happy to let her join the SoCalHive community. Not only was she an awesome member, but she took the initiative and became a community leader and really helped me quite a bit with the weekly community operations. I was later introduced to her son Caleb (@bxlphabet) and I let him come live with me and tried to help get him off the streets. While Caleb was here I talked with Sharon regularly and got to know her quite well and we became good friends. Unfortunately it's a sad story, as Caleb continued to struggle with life and ended up back on the streets, and Sharon continually struggled with health problems and eventually she passed away. But I will never forget either of them or the impact they had on my life. And when it comes down to it none of these experiences and friendships would have ever been possible without this wonderful blockchain. THANK YOU HIVE!!

WHERE

(The front ends / dapps of your choice and why)

To contrast the last part, this will likely be a shorter section as I mainly just use PeakD.com. Which is in my opinion the BEST blogging interface on the Hive blockchain. PeakD has a bunch of awesome features like templates, post scheduling, communities, and badges. And they are always working hard to continually improve the user experience. But there are LOTS of other UI's and Dapps on the Hive chain. There's 3speak and Dtube for video content. I watch lots of videos on both of them. There's also lots of fun games like splinterlands.com, dcity.io, piggericks.com and exodegame.com, just to name a few. Which I also think is really cool. Unfortunately I don't find much time for game play, but I would recommend anyone that enjoys gaming go checkout all the many Hive blockchain based video games!

#THRIVEONHIVE

(My final thoughts & conclusion)

Hmmmm.... I'm not one to give some profound conclusion. But what I can say is... join Hive, blog, follow, read, upvote, reblog, comment, make friends, build communities, earn crypto, and most importantly... have FUN with it!! If you do that, I guarantee you won't be disappointed!!

MY SHOUTOUT'S

(Tag 5 people to join in on the fun!)

@hivetrending @sn0n @minnerz22 @socalsophie @teenagecrypto @tristancarax @ackza

text15.png

TO THOSE JOINING IN....


1)Create your own selfie with the tag #THRIVEONHIVE - similar to the headers you have seen.

2)Copy the same post format and insert your OWN feedback and insight under the relevant headings.

3)Tag 5 people to join in!

4)If you are on Twitter... share your post using the tags #thriveonhive #TGFH


text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Sort:  

You forgot the awesomeness @theterminal

That is very true. My apologies @brittandjosie!! The details for this PHC initiative came out just before I left on a long mountain climbing adventure so I was a bit rushed (only had a few hours!) and had to schedule my post way in advance in order to have it post on time. @theterminal is definitely the #1 community for helping the new Hive users and I have been honored to have my small part in it! I wish I still had more time to spend helping out over there at the Terminal Discord group, but unfortunately I've gotten in over my head with obligations ATM. I get excited and take on way too much sometimes. I still LOVE you and everyone at the Terminal and want to give you all my support. I see the Terminal as the main front line support of the Hive blockchain!

Hahah you know I was joking and we love all the help that you hive us and the PHC hive pitch was a great one

BTW I guess there is someone pretending to be me on Discord. Asking all my friends if they have some "coin" they could send. lol. Just know that it is NOT me!! If you see the "fake me" please ban/block them.

It's a great place for me to share my life experiences with others

And damn do you have some awesome experiences hahahaha!!!

Being a community leader definitely isn't the easiest. But I also couldn't have imagined how rewarding it would be.

You know it!!! hahaha - but yes, it is incredibly rewarding!!!

We certainly have traveled a long road together @derekrichardson and you know, it is people like yourself that have made it all worthwhile!!! Looking forward to plenty more good times ahead!!!

Thank you for making the time to be a part of this and for your valuable contribution!!! You never disappoint! !tip


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that encompasses ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

Thank you so much @jaynie!!💗

It definitely does feel like it's been a long road sometimes... especially with how much everything has changed so much over these years... but at the same time somehow I swear it still feels like yesterday when I first saw your post about joining the SteemitBloggers!

And I'm SO glad I was able to participate in this!! When you first announced the time I was kinda worried since I already had a trip planned. But you got me all the details just in time, and luckily PeakD supplied the scheduling!🤓

I'm really stoked to see the success of #thriveonhive, but not surprised... after what you did before with #mysteemstory I already knew this one was gonna be awesome!😎

Cheers to more good times ahead!! 🍷 🍺 (yours is the wine, mine is the beer. lol. 😜)

I will think about it

Very nice man, I will see if I can take part.

I can't wait until we can meet in person again. And I have more time and energy to get involved in our little discord community again.
You rock!!
And I miss Sharon a lot!!!

Same here @mariannewest. I miss the meetups!! I always really enjoyed them even when it was just a few people that show up. And I know all about the time/energy thing... I can't believe I can keep up with all my stuff, and you do 10X what I do!!😵
Sharon was awesome. She is definitely missed. It's been a wrecking ball of people in my life dying this year.😥

Same here. In my husband's family, it has been 5 relatives this year. Crazy.

and often, the small meetups are much better :)

Nice to see everyone feeling the thrive life

@stever82 @teenagecrypto Don't let your dreams be dreams. lol!!

external-content.duckduckgo.jpg

🎁 Hi @derekrichardson! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.