The Wreath of Thanks and Giving


It’s no secret around the familial circle that I love the charm of seasonal wreaths. Maybe it is the surreptitious meaning. Probably not. In my mind, it’s that circular shape that represents eternity, for it has no beginning and no end. The unending circle of life, if you will. There is a certain cozy feeling wrapped up in all that evergreen. It's simple and it makes everything simply delightful.

Wreath.png

In the weeks before Thanksgiving, the one in my heart, I piece together a wreath to hang on my door. Normally it would be there to greet the guests who would be coming to my house, and yet, like everything else in the abnormality of the past year, changes have been made and there will be no guests. Most everyone in the family will be in on a zoom meet up, preparing the feast as a group, We have decided to make this a fun day, despite the forced by circumstances separation. Sometimes the best times come quite unexpectedly


12303918_10153777256068832_5144560920388719091_o 1.jpg

I cannot help but, be a little thankful this year. Undoubtedly, most of us give some thought to being grateful as the year winds down and we become reflective, especially as we come closer to Thanksgiving. I was pushed beyond what I thought was capable of me, in so many ways. I am happy to say that I watched many people step up to the plate and give of themselves, and then a little more. I am thankful for the strangers that I encounter through daily living. Their gifts ripple out upon the spiritual waters of the earth and uplift the bond of our shared humanity. People make my day. Yes, you and you and you.

I encourage you to listen to the music in your heart and soft whispers in your soul, letting the moment cover you in a blanket of joy.

12308090_10153782512193832_1781729355630855265_o.jpg

I don't know where it began, or if it will ever end, but I love putting wreaths on the inside doors of my house. I make a new wreath every year, using some of Mother Nature and some pieces of comfort and joy from the various stores that carry craft paraphernalia. When you need an instant feeling of Christmas, try this on for size.

Coffee Heart L.png

Yes. May there always be a flower. #alwaysaflower And just like that, these words are over. Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again. Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, just how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Leafy Vine (S).png

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimmed:
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Shakespeare


Heart Vine (L).png

#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

The circle of life, what a fitting description here and for years I have been pondering this circle.
It also means the continous overcoming of the tests (problems) that we endure in life in order to grow and for our characters to be formed. Until we learn that love is the greatest tool at our disposal.
I bet that you are looking forward to the zoom adventure (problem solved) and we hope that it is going to turn out fabulous.
It is with friends like you Lady Denise, that we make our way through life and we wish you everything of the very best for the Thanksgiving Day party!

Blessings!

Thank you! You are so sweet! Love is our greatest tool, isn't it? I am looking forward to the zoom meet up! :)

It should be a lot of fun! Thanks so much @PapillionCharity!

Yes, I thought that you would turn the zoom meeting into an adventure of love, life and fun and it seems that I was right.
We can go through life bewailing our lot, or we can flitter through life like a butterfly in love and laughter. The simple choice is ours!

Blessings to you and your happy soul my dear friend!

2bp4pjr4wvimqcwjyimxje2cncgn4dwujwpa4ctwydg.png

https://peakd.com/@dna.org

Hello; @dswigle


We appreciate your work and your post was manually shared on Twitter by @papilloncharity from the DNA team!
Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!
Please also visit the @combination account and participate in the weekly giveaway draw to get this badge and to stand a chance to win some Hive!

Thank you so much!!! xo

❤️❤️❤️

What a delight. The circle and the evergreens are pretty powerful symbols, aren't they? Your prose, once again, is just wonderful. Thank you.

My Thanksgiving will be a lot like last year, actually a normal Thursday for me with the exception of some sort of special cooking. Sam and I will walk and look then spend most of the rest of the day in contemplation.

I do have new family to call for my first time. How exciting is that? A lot, for me.

Just now, between the time I first read your post and started to answer, I opened a new bag of coffee and am brewing a fresh pot. The smell makes me think of family and gatherings past, and always makes me smile.

You are always so kind, I love reading what you have to say. You say it will be normal, but, it really won't be. :)) Your holidays will never be the same again as your family will be part of your day, and it is a big deal! I remember when you didn't have a family, so, this is such a wonderful gift, Tom.

I know you know, just letting you know that I know it too.

Spending the day in contemplation is pretty cool too. Most people don't give enough thought to the wonderful life they have or anything else. When I read about your coffee, I had just put mine on, so yes... family gatherings, or especially my mom. She and coffee were great mates. Thanks, always, Tom! @bigtom13 You are awesomeness itself!

Thanks Denise. I can say things in a sort of 'shorthand' that I know you'll get. That alone endears you to me.

You are correct of course. My family is a huge part, and the fact that I'll not be with any of them can't take away one iota. My aunt was a truly mean spirited woman that loved me so on Thanksgiving I'll miss her too. We spent quite a few together over the years...

My mom and her coffee. She kept a pot going all day. She didn't invite you for a talk or visit, she invited you for a cup of coffee. Pity the people that never figured that out...

It is the best time of the year! A pretty wreath is a simple thing that gives a lot of pleasure. I love making things from nature!

I do know that about you! Making beauty out of nature is such a fun thing to do. We just cannot get enough of it.

It is the best time of the year!!! I love it! The wreaths just happen to add the right touch of beauty to the house! It is like living the dream! :))

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your kind words.

Reading your post I started to think, to wonder what I like best ... evergreen plants or those with leaves that die in winter. I am a man who would not have succeeded in the US, because I am an indecisive man. The inner state and the feelings of the moment choose one variant or another, usually the worst.

I know and I like the joy with which you look forward to the winter holidays. It's a magical way to keep the baby out of you!

Not at all!! You would have done fine in the US. They are all just people, individuals of all different kinds. I feel like each is very unique and I see no reason why you wouldn't have fit in.

I do love the winter holidays, for so many reasons,many of them irrational, I am sure. I do not have one specific thing, but so many different ones! Now that you have a young one in your life again, it will be the same for you!!! Just wait and see!

Thank you, as always for stopping in and leaving your words~

It's about competition. In communism there was no competition, we were not used to hard work. That's what I thought.
I know Santa will come again for my niece.
My pleasure, Denise, whenever we can talk!

Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, just how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.

I love this

Thank you so much for your words. They are appreciated! And yes!! I truly do believe it is wonderful!

Have a great day!!

It really is going to be difficult for lots of people around the world but we will all do our best to appreciate what we can 😊

I agree, but, we can all do the best we can. I think that is all we can do... and be grateful for what we do have.

You are right.

I hope you have a great day!

Been grateful for what we have is certainly better then nothing 🙏

Have a great day also my friend 😊

I'm wondering if many people are thankful for the day after.

Yes!! If you read mine. You would see, it is all year long! :)

Hi, Ace!! Hope all is going well in your world!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 32 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

luigi_big_heart.png my beautiful friend !