You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finalising life

Gosh, this made me think who will do that for my last parent when the time comes. I’m last of the line and at the other side of the world, with no real plans to return any time soon.

Although I must admit their increasing age is slowly but surely starting to change mindset about that.

Sort:  

Oh yeah, that's not going to be easy and at risk of giving you advice, I'd say you need to start looking into it. Wills, Power of Attorney, funeral plans and payment, executor etc.

Being an executor can be brutal. My little sister is mine, lives 1800km away in Sydney...Won't be easy on her so I left her $10,000 from my estate for her trouble.

It's a shit topic of discussion but one that needs to happen. The alternative is usually absolute turmoil for those left behind, on the person's passing.

Good luck with it...I don't know what country you and your parents are in, but you'll be able to a great deal by email.

First apologies for a self-centric reply to an absolutely personal post. But it was the thought your post triggered.

I think if they manage few more years, I may move in with them. There was recently an explicit opening made by my father but I don’t think the time is right already and I don’t have a positive mindset about it... yet. But it was definitely a rather tempting proposition as they’re both still (reasonably) fit and active. I could perfectly combine contributing to their life and life with my own work.

As for the rest, there’s no doubt that after all those years away I will want to do that myself when the day comes. Let’s call it a little payback for the years of “not knowing” I gave them when just leaving.

And lastly, while I always said I don’t want to inherit a thing... that house, many hours of my own sweat went in it. If that’s sold... our name (family line at least) ends there if I don’t return. Weird topics and thoughts which come up as one ages and parents age as well lol.

It's ok man, I didn't mind you taking the personal aspect from my post. These things often inspire reactions and to be honest I'm glad it did.

I went through this with my mum and so my second time was easier. Depending on how it goes with Faith's mum...There'll be a third...Never gets easy, but being prepared is smart. So I'm glad you looked inwardly based on my post.

We are also considering moving in with Faith's mum...A post a few days ago called deliberating debt free covers off on our initial thoughts.

It seems you have a plan, loose as it may be, and from someone who has been through it I can say that a plan is a good thing.

We can never get time back and so often I hear people hold regret over not spending it with those they value...It's got to be the right thing of course, and only you know when it is...The family home thing...I get it man. I get it.

Good luck Mayhem, you'll go fine. 🙂

Let’s call it a backup plan. :D

I guess there’s a slight guilty nag. Since contact rekindled two years ago and especially since that opening it’s now less subconscious. We’ve been separated for a quarter of a century now. Maybe it’s slowly time to go back home. After all I left only for the weekend.

!ENGAGE 42

Lol, left for the weekend.

I was booted out by mum at 17 and a half...She tried to call my bluff...Never went back. It was the best thing as I learned to stand on my own.

I don't know your story, but I'd say the same...We can't get time back...Only you will know how you want to spend it. I'm sure you'll come to the right decisions for you...My life-ethos is relevant here...

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default.

🙂

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.