Cracked eggs

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Every now and then I come across a cracked egg; When I say cracked egg I mean a broken person, someone fractured inside, simply not right and whom feels the need to tear others down in a bid to raise themselves up. In truth they are everywhere but in the main I'm able to avoid them which is a good thing for I have little tolerance for toxic people.

At those times when I have come across them in real life, and not managed to avoid them, I limit contact and have, at times, had to deal with them in other ways. This is reasonably easily done in the real world, but what happens when those cracked eggs hide behind a computer?

In this digital age it's easy for cracked eggs, lets call them online trolls, to vomit vitriol, hate, negativity and toxicity upon others with relative impunity; Most often this stems from jealousy and a lack of self-esteem and often they simply feel irrelevant. They cower behind their computers spewing-forth an ever-escalating stream of bile upon others, championing their just and righteous cause, or simply attacking others, often using words they'd never use in real life, or barely understand, with levels of passion and fervour they don't really feel in real life. The internet is full of them.

Here's the thing though, I find them so much easier to deal with than the cracked eggs I meet in person. I've heard people complain about online trolls being free to regurgitate their toxicity with impunity and to some degree that's true. However dealing with them is often quite simple; Ignore them and they will go away.

Sure they may hang around for a while, excreting their verbal faeces and disgorging their puss-like negativity like a hagfish gone wrong; However none of it has the ability to touch those it's aimed at, not through the computer anyway. It simply dribbles from their maw, runs down their chin and plops into their own lap to fester and stink, and for them to collect, swallow down once more and begin the process all over again.

FYI:

Hagfish: Can grow over four feet in length and have a skull but no spine. They ooze mucus from their pores all along their body and can produce 20 litres of the phlegmy substance in some kind of solitary bukkake session.

Yep, sounds a lot like most online trolls to me.

You see, these hagfishy online trolls may have the ability to cower behind their computers vomiting the phlegm and faeces now and then...But they have to spend twenty four hours a day, every day of their lives with themselves and there's the kicker...The very person they truly hate above all others is the very person they are stuck with their whole lives. They can't escape themselves, and whilst they could fix the cracks if they wanted to, often they choose not to because they just don't have the spine for it.

The internet and real world is full of human hagfish online trolls...Have you come across any? How has it made you feel and how have you dealt with it? Feel free to comment below. I'd even welcome the hagfish themselves should they choose to comment...It'll help hammer home my point I guess.

So, tell me about the cracked eggs you've come across and how you've handled them.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Would you also call wise asses cracked eggs? Those that want to impress with their infinite knowledge by trying to belittle others with a cock eyed remark that is off subject and then leave a "lol" behind the remark?
There is a golden rule for these and all others that you mention here, but I doubt that they have the depth to understand it, for in fact; what you do to others, you do to yourself!
Yes, indeed ignorance is the answer and not worthy of a reply!

The world is full of all sorts of people; Some offer value and others not. Online trolls mean very little in the grand scheme of it I guess, and they tend to simply fall away lost in their own hate and negativity... Drowning in it sometimes..It's what they deserve.

As you know, at the charity we work with a multitude of different cases and it is most difficult to work with bitter people. As if life owed them, they lash out at others and walk around with a dark mind every day.
Very little that one can do about it as they also mentally block all counseling and for them this world is hell to survive in. Normally weak souls and bodies that have great grudges against the successes of others. In fact they cannot stand others and normally have only a few friends that are of the same kind.

Let me tell you that I actually feel sorry for them, as life was gifted to us to enjoy and once we have accepted and embraced our own weaknesses, we can turn them into strengths to help others.
This is how life should be, but so sad that many will never do this and they will continue to lash out at others, as it gives them some degree of worth.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you kindly!

I find a lot of people avoid valid criticism (and opportunity to grow) by dismissing it as "trolling".

I'm referring more to people engaging in vitriolic behaviour towards others simply to drag them down and get a reaction...Especially to people they don't even know. Just words of course, but to some they could be very damaging. I've got no time for people like that; People who spew toxicity upon others for what they see as personal gain, to prop up their feeling of low self esteem perhaps.

Constructive criticism is a whole other thing; Those who ignore it do so at their peril. I've seen many take constructive criticism as trolling and it's not only small-minded, but limiting to one's growth quite often, so you raise a very relevant point.

I guess the world is made up of all sorts of people though, and they all have the choice to act as they see fit, have their own opinions and to voice them in the manner in which they deem appropriate.

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, much appreciated.✅

That's true, I just mean that too many people use the "you're a troll so I don't have to hear anything you say" as a way to avoid legitimate criticism and opportunity to grow. On the other hand, allowing genuine trolls to have their way with you is just as unhealthy.

too many people use the "you're a troll so I don't have to hear anything you say"

Exactly. I know what you meant and agree completely. People need to cowboy-up and not be so soft, especially when it comes to valuable intel that can make a positive difference. But yep, those other trolls...Need their hearts cut out with a blunt spoon. (Too forceful?) Best to ignore them in my experience, they will end up sinking back into the quagmire of misery from whence they came.

I come across cracked eggs on occasion too! It's usually when the chickens have kicked to much of the bedding out the nest boxes and they are laying directly onto the hard bottom. Or when one of the older hens lay and it's bit thin shelled; that can really ooze some mucus, which gets on the other eggs too! 😜

a lack of self-esteem

The very person they truly hate above all others is the very person they are stuck with their whole lives.

These are both completely on point and I'm glad you brought them up. It's also the very reason why it's best not to engage them. It helps neither them nor yourself to get nasty back. Nearly all of us have some form of self esteem issues at some point and we deal with them in different ways (few of them are very good for us), but I find they this is the oddest way.

It's funny because I've just been writing some thoughts down on this very topic.

The worst thing for one of these online trolls is to gain no reaction from their target or others around. It infuriates them. It magnifies their irrelevance and feeling of unworthiness and that's why their attacks or vitriol progressively grow more disgusting; They just want a reaction and push harder to get one.

Eventually they turn inwards though, hating themselves even more for the inability to get that reaction, hating everything about themselves, and then moving on to seek a softer target. If no one, literally no one responded to them at all eventually they may seek seek help to address their mental issues, or just commit suicide. This happens a lot.

Thanks for commenting, I think it's an interesting topic and one most of us have had some exposure to. Also, funny to not that many who engage is the most severe of this sort of behaviour are often bullied in their own lives; It's like they have to pay it forward in a way to mitigate their own feelings. Quite weird.

Yes, when it comes to being bullied, there seems to be two main responses. One is to never make anyone else have to feel what you've been through and to develop more empathy and the other is to make others feel as bad as you feel. Thankfully, I think the first response is the more common response.

Sad but true...But yeah, mostly the former I think. People learn from their experience and don't project that negativity upon others. Those who subscribe to the latter are truly diabolical though and it'll end in tears...Ultimately their own.

The people who are unhappy with themselves end up producing so much damage. And when someone is feeling miserable about their own life they try to spread it and "infect" others with their drama and negative behavior. It is sad and I wish those people would get the right help to change their mindset. I avoid them though, just like you do. I think it is also useles to try to change them. A person will never listen when being attacked or told that they are wrong. Naysayers will always exist. It's about our own attitude when it comes to this. I just close my mind when I see people trying to bully me or behave badly and I learned to leave them to the Universe. And they are already sad by having to live with themselves already, that is a punishment in itself.

Yep, people like this will often get nowhere in life, despite all the bluster and big talk. They mostly remain the insignificant people they are, bitter and self-loathing.

I agree. You can't help people unless they are willing to help themselves. I always like to think that people can be good or try to be. But being bitter, aggressive and plain mean never helped anyone. I think there is a lot of sadness and trauma behind this type of people and I wish them healing.

sadness and trauma

Yes, bullies and trolls often come from a history of this...But how's that a license to inflict it on others? I'm not a forgiving man in this regard. It's just my nature.

Past trauma does not give a permit to be a bully, you are correct. I saw that many use this excuse when they hurt others. It is a way to deflect responsibility for their own actions. An easy way out.

Humans have a lot to answer for.

I mostly just ignore them, all they are doing is showing how ignorant they are to other people. If they get to much out of hand I mute them on Hive. I don't really need to worry to much about them in other parts of the internet because I don't do social media anywhere but here.

I don't come across them much online for the same reason, I'm not on social media except for hive. Like you say, they tend to show their true selves pretty quickly and others see them for what they are...The damage they do is more to themselves than others in the long-run; To blinded by hate for themselves to see that they could turn it all around.

With online cracked eggs my strategy if i can is isolate and ignore. When theyre starved of the vampiric Joy sucking they move on to other pastures. In forums though where they can just stick around forever like a parasite. I say cut them down to size and put them in their place. Do it publically so they're more likely to succumb to their insecurities and think twice about posting again lest they need to summon all their strength to fight the backlash.

Another strategy which us one i use often is low profile. Don't be the person they want to engage with. Stay out of their radar.

In real life I have a few family members that are cracked eggs. They're too toxic to be around. Sadly my mother is that way. She looks for any opportunity to throw her ascerbic vitriol onto others. Its far worse when shes drinking.

On hive i haven't run into any yet although there is plenty of drama for me to gander at if i felt like watching a shit show. Bad eggs are why i limit my facebook time. Everyone there wants to shove their unsolicited opinion down your throat and are in your face. They dont realize how immature and pathological they come across doing that.

I couldn't have said this better.

Drama is something I'm not inclined to take on board. It just drains my energy and I don't see the point. When I started here I saw some, would take a read, but then realised how valueless it is to me and I stopped.

Ignoring these types of people is the best way to go, I never hit back as that's the reaction they want; It feeds them. They are meaningless, powerless and not worthy of a response.

What's funny is that when people respond and the drama unfolds I see those, who would normally be level-headed and intelligent, lose their fucking minds! They get dragged downwards to the level of the troll. Makes no sense.

Soar with the eagles, don't stay on the ground with the turkeys.

Hagfish is an apt if icky description.

Ignore, Mute, Block. I'm not at all shy on line. I don't have to do it often but it doesn't bother me in the least. The ones I meet off line are often more difficult but some practical use of the three terms is generally enough. If not I wish them a hearty bon voyage (or fuck you) and move on.

I'm old. I just don't have time to 'humor' assholes. I refuse.

Yeah I agree...I've been around too long to let them bother me. They always seem to have such strong motivation from within their self-loathing personalities that nothing anyone says would get through to them anyway. Best to let them wallow in their own misery, slowly decaying inside. Someday they'll come to realise they could have led a better life, but by then it's usually too late for them to salvage much. They die, and are forgotten.

Assuming I could be injured by the arrangement of pixels on my screen says more about your own sensitivities than it does mine.

A generic your here I assume; not mine per se.

Very generic. Absolutely not referring to any one specific wanker.

Lol 🤣

Cracked eggs are not the ones you need to look out for, they might still be good on the inside. It's the rotten ones you need to avoid. But I get what you mean. The way I handle these kinds of people is by avoiding them completely. It differs per person of course and if that person is open or not to another's opinion or if they actively want to change themselves. But the ones that are clear lost causes, I steer clear off.

I have no time for finding out if a cracked egg may be good on the inside...Why would I bother? Cracked, rotten...All the same to me. If a person behaves poorly, preys on others to tear them down and hurt them...Well they're simply not worth a moment of my time. If they want to change themselves then fine, go ahead and do it...It's not for me to determine if they need help or not, it's their responsibility. I cut them out like the cancer they are.

Each day that I see what humanity is capable of I grow closer to your state of mind. But I guess I'm not completely there yet and occasionally I tend to have a dialogue with someone like that. Usually they're people who are unavoidable to a certain extent, like team members at work or a family member. But true, even those you have to cut off eventually, if there is no sign of good behavior.

At my age, and with what I've seen humanity do to each other, I find I'm very intolerant to this sort of behaviour. It's sad really, but a fact. People trying to support their own feeling of well-being by destroying others' are a plague and best avoided.

Unfortunately it leaves me with very little trust for others and no patience for the bad actors of society. I wasn't always this way, but time and experiences have taught me much. Thanks for commenting again, I appreciate it so much.

I guess that's the inevitable conclusion for those who are hyper-aware of their surroundings, or as the hip people would say 'woke'. You are welcome.

Cracked egg-Never heard so far that kind of description for people like that :D But totally agree

It's just a metaphor used for what is a broken person inside, not a term one would use generally.

Sounds like a fucking dobber, mate. Best ignore!

I wondered what is hagfish and now I know. I understand what it means compared to the people around us. I smile but it is really true. The more I laughed when the description of the cracked egg is given. It gives me more lessons to know and understand some important facts in our life with people. I knew some people inside the blockchain. They have no patience and want to have easy earning without sweating. When someone earned a lot, people are peeping behind. They will be active and quit in a while. I think this is normal for every human but if you care about the future, you have to be consistent on whatever we are doing.

The cracked egg thing is simply a metaphor for someone who's brain is fractured and feels the need to tear others down in a bid to raise themselves up...It never really works though as when that person is alone and has time to think they realise they are the same fractured individual they always were...And they hate themselves even more.

A negative kind of person and even they eventually no appreciation to all the the blessings they have. They are a kind of people who do not happy with the success of others and try to drag them down. Thats an ability of a sick minded person.

Sick-minded is a good term.

Jealousy is the reason and devil dares so people would go astray.
God helps us!
Have a nice day .

The best thing to do is really to avoid them.... do not show any effort to talk to them. I have encountered several people who want to climb the upper ladder at all costs come what may.

Yeah, like I said I guess. I've rarely had any come past to be honest as I am not on social media other than hive and they're easily muted here anyway. They mean less than nothing. I guess I was just wondering what experiences others may have had.

Great post @gelenkp. "The very person they truly hate above all others is the very person they are stuck with their whole lives" That's so true, that's their punishment. But I think that ignoring them is the most healthy thing to do.

Thanks for looking at my post and commenting.

I offer them up the opportunity to meet me face to face, none have ever done so, then they are blocked and deleted from every aspect of my day to day life. Online or off. Toxic and Negative people are sometimes family. I have not spoken to my own mother since 1990-ish. There are 3 other very nice ladies that I call Mom, that did her job for her. The first 10 years was My Grandma Hazel, What an awesome mother she was. I have not spoken to my only brother since 2009. He could have told me my sister was dying of cancer, but he chose not to. So I never got to say goodbye. His explanation to my wife Kelly was... "I thought I had more time." He was already toxic to my life and was in very little of it before that.

Why could I not have had a really kewl family like my @pooky-jax? They are my real family. What a great bunch of people. I even asked them if we could change my last name to theirs in the wedding preparations. They thought I was joking. I was not. I come from a horrible family. I take this very thing you speak of in this posting to heart. I live it to the letter. 1939631_10202735673047031_5468622660847394901_n.jpg

Negative or toxic people can be strangers, friends and even family I guess; History is full of examples of that and I'd say your situation is not altogether isolated. I do not believe that one should, or must, keep a toxic person around due to the fact they are family; It's not a good enough reason to do so in my opinion. It's good learn from them though, what not to do, and I think that's the best thing to come from negative people.

I hope you're well, and will have some time for a break over the weekend.

Yep the pandemic has them all on steroids as they have nothing else to do with their lives.

Isn't that the truth...This was specific to an individual, not generic at all, however bad actors of this nature will never see the error of their ways, or very seldom so anyway.