G-dog's haulin' ass on a Friday

It was a 0500 wake-up, although I may have slept in until 0515. It's not unusual for me to be up so early on a work day but this work day is a little different to some of my others...It's more of a "work day" meaning a day I'm supposed to be working at my day-job, but am not. 😁

I showered, you can let your imaginations run wild here if you like, 😂 and after some kissing and cuddling with my lovely wife Faith I grabbed a protein bar, bottle of water and saddled up the Big Dog, my 4x4, for the run north.

I'm off for a two-day shooting competition this weekend.

I love road trips, the hum of the tyres on the road, the wide open spaces and tunes playing, usually country music...It relaxes me. Of course, so much better than the hum of tyres on bitumen, is the crunch of dirt and gravel tracks beneath the tyres and plumes of dust obscuring the road behind; This weekend I'll be finding a few dirt roads for sure.

I'm really looking forward to this trip, short though it may be. Faith and I have had a torrid 2020 and it's not going to get any better so this little trip is a bit of respite for me, a mini-break as such. I wish Faith could come but she had an operation last week and is unable to. I almost cancelled the trip to stay with her but she insisted I go; I guess she knew how much I was looking forward to it and, supportive as ever, insisted I bugger off up north.

Most of the run is bitumen, due north from home and into the southern Flinders Ranges. It's a nice part of the world which you can see pictured in this post. I like the dirt sections the best though, and considering I've just done some major modifications to the big Dog recently I'm eager to reach that point where the blacktop meets the dirt, get it into four wheel drive and give those systems a workout.

I've done some preparation for this event and am almost certain I'll do very well...One can't shoot as much as me, have the history I have, and not shoot well I guess; I'm not bragging, it's a practice and effort thing. I'll be excluded from the overall results though - I'm one of the event organisers so am ineligible to get a placing...I'll know where I finish though, before my name is omitted from the results. I'm thinking top five is probable, although there's several interstate shooters who I don't know and maybe they will kick my ass. Time will tell. Either way, I'll have a lot of fun and find some relaxation.

Anyway, I just stopped at a roadhouse for breakfast, bacon and eggs on toast and coffee but need to haul-ass north as I have a full day of setting up the event ahead of me before the paying-competitors arrive on Saturday morning.

I hope y'all have a great end to the week and find something cool to do over the weekend. Also, don't forget the #weekend-engagement topic post will be out in about twelve hours from now...I'll be driving 40 kilometres into town to post it if the phone service is dodgy at the event location, which is highly likely as it usually is...I'll get it posted one way or the other though.

Take care y'all! Finish the week strong and fly into the weekend like a bird of prey!


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Post your weekend-related content in the Engage the weekend Community - A community dedicated to the weekend!

Sort:  

Gaaarh! That's what birds of prey say, right?

The weekend is far away, still. It might include horsewatching or gamedesigntesting, or a bit of both. The morrow shall tell me where to put more effort.

Good luck and have fun with your adventure!

Hmm, seems like you have options although I like the sound of a bit of both. Seems more balanced. Enjoy.

Enjoy the weekend,stress breaks are always great breaks. I am sure the shooter and audience, (if any), will have a bang up time.

It's likely to be a great weekend, and I'm looking forward to a break. Will be nice.

What kind of 4x4 do you run? Oh.. and is that a DEAD Kangaroo just to the left and back a little from the sign? Yikes!! That sign isn't lying. @bashadow probably noticed that before I did.. he's good at that kind of thing. haha.

Have fun and forget about life for a while!

Well spotted, yeah that's a dead roo next to the sign. 80 million of them around the place...Well, clearly one less.

I have a Toyota LandCruiser 200 Series (V8 twin turbo diesel). Google will help if you don't know what it is.

🙂

Nope.. I know exactly what you have. Very cool. You don't see many of them around here, as far as the disel goes. Great 4x4 for your area though!

It's White Tail Deer around here that eveyone hits causing thousands of dollars damage to their cars. I got a beefier bumper to help thwart that issue.. lol

1256515615616515661189451.jpeg

Diesel 4x4's are the go here, very few run petrol. I'd never buy one that wasn't diesel.

That bar looks good, necessary too I guess. We have them here also.nin fact ai had some work done to my 200 only last week. I'll write about it when I get some good pictures. Here's the lead-up post so did outlining what I had done.

https://peakd.com/hive-168042/@galenkp/getting-ready-for-action

P.s. That's the sort of Jeep Faith has wanted for a long time. Maybe one day I'll surprise her with one huh?

Thanks for dropping that link. That first photo is incredible! I would be in heaven riding that trail. So Jealous. Looking forward to the update post. Your Bull Bar is much nicer than the one I have. Mine is so basic. Working on getting a winch and some other fancy stuff.. in time.

ARB has a North America headquarters too! I'll be browsing the catalog later.. My wife thanks you.. hahahaha.

snip263645653764.PNG

Lol...Your wife won't be thanking me soon...She'll be cursing me. 🤣

ARB is worldwide...A good Aussie company though. I worked there for a time. Thats why my Ranger was fully loaded.

That first picture...That's where I am shooting the event this weekend...I'm there now obviously. Beautiful spot.

I like dust. Means I've been somewhere. :)

I have a map of the US that is shaded according to road density. I like to head for the white spots :)

Have some fun. Do a little work. Shoot. Sit by the fire and tell lies. It's a tough life but somebody has to do it!

Work, shoot, fire and lies. Sums it up pretty well Tom. 🤣

Hoping you have a fantastic weekend shooting etc.

Have a good weekend! Hope it goes well.

Thanks mate, should be a good weekend.

Nice, lucky you! I woke up this am thinking it was Friday, then looked at my work schedule and saw only Thurs, what a disappointment! Just finishing another 12 hour day and looking forward to the real Friday tomorrow. Maybe I'll get a bit of early out. Got my new .35 cal pellet rifle yesterday, but been too busy to play. Will definitely get scope on and get it out this weekend. Good luck in the shoot, looking forward to pics and video.

At least you know what's coming . weekend I mean.🙂

I'm looking forward to that post, keen to see what that bad boy pellet rifle can do.

Damn those photos are beautiful. Making me wistful!

Good luck brother!

Yeah, nice spot for sure. 🙂

We'll see how I go huh, might go well, might suck. 🤷🏽

Glad Faith is feeling okay enough that you are able to take off for your comp :D

I don't think I'm going to be able to finish the week strong, I'm thoroughly exhausted XD My sibling is up and doing Christmas shopping and whatever else plus also enjoys shopping so guess which person who loathes driving and shopping has been playing Uber driver XD (it's fine we like spending time together) I think I'm going to be staggering into the weekend like a lame duck XD

It might be a good weekend for you to rest up and recharge by the sound of it. 😉

Don't think much of that will be happening either ^_^;

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Oh man I'm so jealous! That sounds like an awesome weekend. Road trips are absolutely the best (I've been dying to get on one for a months, now) and breakfasts at roadhouses are to die for. Awesome. I hope you have a great time and get to relax!

Oh it sounds like you're going to have a well deserved fun G.! That's awesome!