Pretty like the sun

Copy of dazz (3).png

It's a rare day that goes by in which I don't listen to music; It's an intrinsic part of my life and helps soothe, comfort, excite, exhilarate, energise and relax me depending on different factors. I choose my music largely around mood, attitude, emotion and feelings and it speaks to me, deep down. I turn to it often and, unlike people, it has never failed me. A broad musical interest means there's always an appropriate track to support me, bring me happiness, inspire memories or emotions and generally keep me company.

I'm fortunate to have some skill in music and can play three instruments: Piano, trumpet and bass guitar. It's the piano that I'm really good at though as I began playing at an early age, before I was five years old. This means I can create my own music which I do sometimes; I don't write it, although could, I learn to play music I like and simply play for my own enjoyment. I have a piano and whilst it doesn't get used every day, it gets used.

Mostly though I just listen and I find I become quite moved by the music, I feel it to my core and in times of sadness or when hope seems lost I find it supports me, just as it maintains feelings of happiness, conviction or anything else I happen to be feeling.

Music, quite simply, is one of the most beautiful things in my life

Today I looked back on the tracks I listened to this week and decided to share the most played track of my week with you just because I can, and I love the track.


This track was sent to me by a girl who means a great deal to me - She's one of those special people that has become so entwined within me that I can't even tell where I end and she begins - There's no explanation of how or why. She's one of the most amazing, beautiful and unique human beings I have ever known and this track reminds me of her every time it plays - Not that I need any prompting to hold thoughts of her of course.

"All pretty like the scars, we both have ours, it's who we are
Oh show me everything, where you're going, where you've been
All time its not too late, I'm standing here, the world can wait
And as the night falls low, away we go"


Pretty like the sun - Prime Circle

It's a cool track, and video too, and one I like a great deal, obviously, hence why it played so many times this week. I just listened to it as I wrote this post too. Just one more time.


Anyway, I might do this again sometime as been it's interesting to look back on what tracks I've played over the week - A very mixed set of tracks I can assure you. Just in case you're wondering what track came in second place it was one of my all time favourite pieces of music. This one: I'm sending you away [M83] If you have the sheet music to this please send it to me.

So, there you have my most played track of the week, and my second most also as a bonus. I wonder about your most played track of the week though - Do you ever play a single track multiple times and if you do, why? What track have you been playing this week and why? Tell me in the comments below.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Image is mine - Semaphore, South Australia

Sort:  

Didn't know you played bass and trumpet as well :D

I want to ask if trumpet is as difficult as it looks but I don't know how you'd answer that question given that people don't always have the same difficulty levels XD

Do you sometimes just loop a playlist or even a single track until wifey throws something at you?

I don't have the getting stuff thrown at me problem because J lives in headphones most of the time >_>

I'll be honest and say I'm only very (probably) average on the bass and the trumpet...Well, I can make it toot when I want to. The piano is my thing.

The trumpet is not that easy, but then most musical instruments are not, despite possibly looking like they are. I have about 5 years of lessons, made easier considering I'd already had 12 or so years of reading music. Getting the lips right on the trumpet is the hardest part, it's critical really. I don't mind having a toot now and then but a solo trumpet isn't too fun. I was in a jazz band for a few years; That was more fun.

Anyway yep, I loop my playlists and individual tracks at times. Music is a good way of keeping the mind occupied and off other things...Or to give relevance to those things. I mostly use headphones but spend a lot of time alone so don't have the issues others do with people hearing their music.

I hadn't heard of Prime Circle before...good stuff though after I took a listen. I love M83; my brother and I have been fans of theirs since their first disc...sort of shoegaver things going on with them, which we like.

My track this week is this one:

Not sure why I love this one so much..those harmonies have been stuck in my brain this week; especially starting at 2:00 or so. Ridiculous!

That's a good track, can't go wrong with the Beach Boys I think, easy to listen to. Do you get fixated on a song? I do...I try not to put a single track on repeat usually, but it happens. 😁

M83 make some good music, like almost all of it is awesome. That track that was my second is my favourite though.

I'm glad you liked the Prime Circle track...It's just sort of nice. The band wasn't on my radar either but are now.

yeah I get way too fixated on a song...I'll hear something and listen to it over and over and over. Then it gets really stuck in the head. I have the tendency to hear a song a few times, not think much of it, then it just clicks, and it's obsession time. Then I bring out the electric bassoon, and rock it (just kidding, of course...it's been a time since we talked electric bassoon, lol)

Electric bassoon jam session coming up! 🤣

#musthappen

First, the music is very soothing. I love the love songs because it calms me and thoughts are appearing into my mind especially when I'm writing. The voice of that man who sang is very clear and it's perfect to listen.

I'm amazed you can play 3 instruments. Well, for me I can't play even one maybe because I don't how to hit the timing in playing it. Even when I sing because I really love to sing but singing doesn't love me so I just forgot it. lol

By the way, I'm curious how that woman became part of you. Since you said you don't how it begins and how it ends. I just leave it with my mind that there's an existence of that woman in you.

Good day, it's been awhile.

I began to learn the piano at about four and a half and at that age a person's brain is very supple so things sink in. I built on that as I got older and through constant effort, lessons and practice, my skills developed and I became better. If I had to embark on that path now at 51 it would be much harder.

In respect of your last paragraph, I don't know the answer. I have no clue how a person manages to mean something to another. A family member I understand, but how does it happen with a person who was once a stranger? I don't know, but am glad it happens. I feel fortunate to have that person within me as someone special and for a man who doesn't allow many people to get close I cherish that feeling and that person.

That's about all I've got for you, I hope it's a reasonable answer.

Yes, it does. It was supposed to be a joke but I don't know how to express it through words since language borders interfered. Sorry for asking and yeah that's reasonable enough.

A joke? Oh ok I didn't see that. Sorry.

Honestly, I really mean it. I'm sorry for the humor was different in approaching you. I'll just not do this type of approach next time. I'm really sorry.

Don't worry about it bro, nothing to apologize for at all.

Congratulations @galenkp! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Congrats on the 4 years mate and mine is on this coming Saturday, I think hahaha.

I also love music but are still stuck in the 60s and 70s.
My estranged father could play any instrument and he played in bands for most of his life, but I was born ambidextrous and so I can only play a Harmonica, or mouth organ.

My dad was pretty good on the harmonica. Last year after my dad died I gave his harmonica, given to my dad when he was a teenager, to one of my younger brothers who will pass it on to his son. Probably won't get played, but it's a good memento I think.

You'd rock the harmonica I reckon. Do you play still?

Ah! So you have given the harmonica indirectly to that little boy that loves you so much. A good choice methinks.

Our little dog Troy has the strange habit of howling when I play the harmonica, goes to show what he thinks about my playing hahaha.
But yes it is strange and the vet reckons that it is certain notes that sets him off. Maybe he longs for his Astec forefathers.
So, the harmonica has found a nest on my bookshelf.

Lol...Maybe Troy is howling in enjoyment? (Probably not)

Yeah, I figured the little fellow would appreciate it. As the only nephew he'll be the recipient of a lot of my stuff, knives and things like that, but also stuff from my grandfather and dad as he gets older. I have my grandfathers pocket watch that he'll get, I really look forward to handing that over. My brother is bringing the boy up right so I know he'll appreciate this stuff. The two nieces won't miss out though, there's plenty to go around.

Good to pass things on into the younger generation of the family. So he has two girls and a boy?
We are also two boys and a girl and so my children are also two girls and boy.
But I also have one step daughter and six grand children, 3 girls and 3 boys.

How is Helen doing?

Nope, just the lad. The other two brothers have a daughter each so three in total. Myself and my sister do not have any children. It won't happen for me now but maybe my sister will have a child at some stage. We'll see.

I presume your sister is younger than you?
Yes I figured it after I posted and I know smallsteps, but not the other one.
If I don't have it amiss, you guys are 4 or 5 brothers?
I know only you and Taraz.

Nice...

Let's not forget, while feeling all fuzzy, warm and tingly, puppies and kittens, etc.

It is a gravity captured, massive nuclear explosion.

That Sun...untitled.gif

I find it a comedy that man kind, the fleas on the elephants back, think they are more of a global warming cause than the SUN is...

untitled.gif

If the SUN cuts a fart... We are gone. And ask the dinosaurs how they feel about those pesky meteorites...

untitled.gif

Just keeping it real...

And spending the day on a layover load. Trying not to cook my co-pilots in that warm wonderful sunshine.

spending the day on a layover load

I hope you had a good break, recharged. You were at a truckstop?

Nope, These loads are called, Same Store Layover Grocery stores called Food Lion.

$500 to sweat it out on a 150° black top lot parking lot.

untitled.gif

Oooops..!

Wrong kind of Blacktop...

Lol...Easy mistake to make brah.