Sort:  

It is promising :) I really wanted sunrise and I was in a little bay that wasn't oriented north/south and sunrise was a dud. But sunset....

This is US highway 1 or 101, right along the coast from San Diego, CA to La Push, WA. It is glorious.

Both are good, sun rise and sets...But yep, sometimes the fizzle out...Or one isn't fast enough on the camera to get the right shot.

We have a Hwy One too, goes right around the country on the coast, sort of. I've driven a lot of it and have been rewarded as have you.

A couple of things conspired to rob me of the sunrise, all were operator error :) I thought I was looking straight west when I was actually looking north west. A huge hill behind me that completely blocked sunrise. It just got light... At least it was a beautiful setting to begin with...

I'm aware of your Highway One. I'd love to ride it. Canada also has a Highway One but it runs East-West. I have ridden some of that, and have a friend that holds the current unofficial time record for the whole thing :)

Haha! I shouldn't laugh really, because I've done stuff like that too, but life is there to be laughed at. I'm sure you'll have plenty of anecdotal stories like that. You'll need one for the WE tomorrow. 🙂

I'd love a road trip in the States...So much to see.

It was outrageously funny. I stood there thinking that the Pacific Ocean was straight west. I figured out where the sun would set and rise and it looked perfect to me. I should have realized when the sun didn't quite set in the right place but I was tired. And I don't mean sort of... I was in a relatively small bay that just wasn't oriented North South.

Lol...Well stuff like that has happened to me, and to everyone else as well I'm sure! something to laugh about I guess.