Does anyone have diet tips for me?( that actually works)

Image source

I think everyone hates dieting.  The fact that you have to deprive yourself has never really attracted me.  Due to the fact that I have started exercising, I thought that it was a good time to do something about my eating habits.  If I was going to change one thing, I could just as well throw in something else then I get used to it at the same time. 

I have been going through all the previous diets I have been on, and I remember the agony of each one.  Ever since I was a young child my mother has always put me on diets.  We also had a strict routine for exercise and at that time it didn't bother me at all.  I was young and energetic and it was part of everyday life. 

After I had my two sons I started to struggle to lose weight.  It has never really bothered me and the only reason why I now want to lose weight is for myself.  I'm turning fifty next year and I have set a goal for myself to lose most of the weight by then.  

I am not in a hurry at all and prepared to do the work one day at a time, but to be honest I am just so confused. I have no idea way which way to go and google is not helping at all.  

To me, a diet feels like being in jail.  I don't want that.  I am not prepared to go hungry for days on end and then not lose an ounce.  I have tried intermittent fasting and that doesn't work for me.  It's like my body knows that it's being starved and then it holds on to everything with a vengeance.  

I have tried Keto for a while but due to a kidney issue, I stopped that.  

The very popular 28 - day diet is not for me as they put in some very weird food combinations and I am quite picky when it comes to food. 

 I can name numerous diets I have been on, but then when I stop the weight just creeps back on. 

The only thing that I am going to do now is to cut carbs and sugar and to eat a healthier plate of food.  If this doesn't work then I am not supposed to be thin as a rake. At least I will be a healthier person.  


 

Sort:  

With you cutting out Sugar and Carbs look at The Fast 800 diet :)

Thank you @karenb54 I have already found a link and I will do some intensive research on this. So far it sounds like something I will be able to follow as I can choose what I want to eat.

You are welcome. Its a really great diet, only one that works for me. Here's a couple of links that might help.
https://thebloodsugardiet.com/recipes-by-meal-type/dinner/

https://www.you.co.uk/5-2-diet-recipes/

Removing unrefined sugar and cutting back carbohydrates is a terrific start. Add tons of seasonal vegetables and berries/bananas too.

The Mediterranean Diet was recently voted the best for overall health. I'm an advocate. And if you're going to eat something "bad" do it early in the day so you can burn off the calories.

If you can stomach the taste of organic ACV, add that to your diet. Does wonders! Bragg's is my favorite. There are many other options, as well as pill/capsule forms available. (ACV = apple cider vinegar).

Good luck! @giantbear

Hi @ninahaskin! I am going to check it out. At this stage I am on no medication at all as I have taken myself off everything in the last three months. I will go to our health store and check what I can find in a capsule form. Thanks for the advice!

The carbs and sugar elimination is a good start, stick to that, and other sensible intake of appropriate food and plenty of water and you should be losing a kilogram a week I'd say. (After the initial two weeks).

Congratulations @giantbear! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 62000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 64000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP