Sunday In My Garden - My Salute to Africa

IMG_20200816_175804018.jpg

What Southern garden would not have some okra growing somewhere?

Okra came to the United States from the West Coast of Africa and is a very popular vegetable throughout the South.

Okra is a very hardy plant and easy to grow. The real trick to growing Okra is when to harvest and how to prepare. If you wait too long to harvest, Okra can become rather "woody".

IMG_20200808_091334529.jpg

The pod on the left is a perfect size to harvest, the larger pod behind it is probably a little too large.

However, a pressure cooker can make almost anything soft in a hurry.

IMG_20200816_164416447.jpg

I dice the okra along with an onion and a jalapeno pepper. I added a can of diced tomatoes (the tomatoes I grow in the garden are best for slicing and not so good for cooking).

IMG_20200816_163923795.jpg

I dropped everything into a pressure cooker and viola perfect Okra that I serve over a bed of rice.

Easy and delicious.

This year I tried to grow almost exclusively in beds and containers. The Idea was to grow fresh vegetables without having to spend most of my time weeding.

IMG_20200628_082346983.jpg

I tried growing potatoes in an old whiskey barrel.

IMG_20200628_082007547.jpg

So did it work??????

IMG_20200808_091023998.jpg

Not a bad little haul of potatoes from a whiskey barrel.

This week I finally harvested the Brussel Sprouts!

IMG_20200906_090906246.jpg

I will steam these up tonight!

IMG_20200906_090925062.jpg

I also harvested some baby beets and boiled these up.

IMG_20200829_113825440.jpg

I will have these in my salad tonight.

The Summer garden is fading fast, no more cucumbers and squash.

I have already pulled up the plants and tossed them into the compost.

The tomatoes are still coming in strong BUT some of the vines are starting to die off.

IMG_20200902_183240293.jpg

My peppers are really coming into their own this week.

IMG_20200808_091307545.jpg

Since the Summer garden is fading I will be planting the Fall and Winter Garden this week.

I hope you have enjoyed the tour of my garden and my salute to Africa with Okra!

Peace out

Sort:  

Staple good vegetables to come to the table, those red peppers what healthy looking plant and colour.

Enjoy the Okra, plus additional variety you are now enjoying at the end of season @handofzara

!tip

Beautiful garden and harvest! So many veggies. I never had okra but always wanted to try just didn't know how to prepare it, may I'll try it now. Thanks for sharing. We had too much rain and all our stuff rotted except our potatoes, I can't wait to see if our experiment worked.

I am very interested in seeing how your potatoes turn out. I have long wanted to build a potato box.

Well this year wont be the best of yields tho, not a good year to compare experiment results, we had a late winter and a rainy summer and seems like it's going to be winter pretty quick here but I''m going to try to leave them in the ground until right before the first frost, this was a really short growing season for all of Alberta but I'll keep you updated.

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

🎁 Hi @handofzara! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @joanstewart!

Check out @joanstewart blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!