Monochrome Monday - War Memorial

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

714E796E27CD41729C6D49262C114F2F.jpeg

There is a beautiful walking area near me, which I posted about yesterday, and on one side is a war memorial.

It’s really quite beautiful and moving to visit. It honors the service of war veterans, those who had supporting roles, and those who died in World War II.

61DAEA6AD82E4B218A3C537F60F809FB.jpeg

I have been reading a lot of literature about that time in history, and visited one of the concentration camps in Poland. It feels more meaningful to me as a result of spending this time learning about the effects of war on so many, and how devastating it was in so many ways.

3A26A0D444F84777871C3B4227F3E420.jpeg

EC087C9ED1F54CB6B6AA0A2833AB4402.jpeg

Monochrome seemed a fitting theme for pictures of these monuments reminding us of that terrible time in history.

A6D2F72F5D9840269919333944E2D6FF.jpeg

8CA0C91B1FFF45B2BB4AE64F404889BE.jpeg

Thanks for visiting my post, and thank you to @old-guy-photos for hosting #MonochromeMonday.

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

Then join cool communities! Here are just a few examples:

Copy_of_Copy_of_join_us_.png

The Ink well Logosm.png

Sort:  

Remembering the past knowing the history, this is an expressive view of places you visited in monochrome photography @jayna - yes we hopefully learn from our past.

@tipu curate

Thank you for your thoughtful comment, @joanstewart. I dream of a world without war. Probably not realistic...

Great time for the monochrome, I agree! Looks like the memorial is for those who served in all wars past and present based on some of the uniforms worn by the statues and items displayed. Looks like a solemn place to visit to do some reflection.

I need to really spend some time reading the plaques and learning what all is represented there. Generally I am walking through on my way to the trail. But that is observant of you. It maybe multiple wars.

I would love to just sit there and reflect. Being retired military, places like that bring me back to earth and remind me of all that has been sacrificed.

Perfectly done in mono!

Thank you for the compliment, @old-guy-photos. 😊