Sort:  

Hello, dear @jayna. I think I will participate in this initiative. For weeks I have been flirting with the idea of writing a post with "moderately uncomfortable" considerations in front of different events and experiences in Hive. But I've given it up. Among other things, because one of the reasons for being here is to get away from the conflicts (my reality has plenty of them), and I suspect that I would have to defend my position? But, as @jaynie says, it is necessary.
Thanks for the invitation.

I have read your post carefully and share some of your ideas and concerns. I hope I can explain me better when I write my text.
I would like to send you a hug, taking a leave of absence, as I have been touched as a mother and citizen. I hope the people of your country are wiser than those of mine. We usually think that it is impossible for our country to do what others do. We Venezuelans have a long enough experience of totalitarianism swallowing up democracy to know that the latter is always more fragile. I wish with all my heart that everything goes well in your life and that the future is serene.

@adncabrera, thank you for your comment, and I'm glad you are (or were) thinking about how to give voice to the challenges you're experiencing. I wish I was inspired by turmoil to write, but it unfortunately makes me retract more within myself. I like writing articles and blog posts when there are joyful things to remark upon, not when the whole world seems to be sitting at the wrong tilt. But at the same time, I think it is so important that we write about pain, and about the things that are wrong that need to be set right. I know there is so much wrong in Venezuela today. It is tragic.

I have been offline for a few days for family and holiday events, but I will look to see if you decided to join this challenge!

one of the reasons for being here is to get away from the conflicts (my reality has plenty of them),

I don't even know what to write to you... I am just as inundated and exhausted with domestic problems as you are.

Well those are my thoughts. How about you?

I have also stepped back from Hive. I tried a few days ago to start posting again but just can't find the enthusiasm I once had for it. It is becoming more tedious to find content I am interested in. The lack of a useful search function makes it even more tedious. It also becomes too much to put so much effort into content and get so little attention for that content while watching the same old dribble about crypto get votes and comments galore.

I will stop in occasionally and look for some of my favorites follows and what they are posting, but until someone can come up with a better search capability for the Hive blog or Peakd, I just don't feel the juice is worth the squeeze anymore.

Best to you and your future endeavors.

Thanks for weighing in, @joebrochin. (And as I've said in other comments, I apologize for the late reply. I have been tied up with holidays and family events.) That's so sad that the search feature is the thing that prevents you from having an enjoyable experience on Hive. Ugh!

My efforts here are primarily focused on communities like Power House Creatives and The Ink Well. The best way to browse the communities is to access Hive through Peakd, and click the Communities tab at the top. I like being able to go to one of my communities and browse the latest posts, and I can always find great content that way.

I hope you'll check out that option, if you haven't already. Come back, Joe!!

Also, have you tried the Explore tab from Peakd?

I received the same tip from @slobberchops about communities. I am going to give them a try. I do wish @PeakD would at least make it where you could sort the search results based on the newest posts being at the top of results. It stinks having to weed through one to two-year-old posts to find something more current.

Thanks for the thought, it is much appreciated.

Hmm, that is bizarre, @joebrochin. I haven’t seen that. There must be some weird setting. Do you have Discord? There are some communities there where someone could help sort out why your view is set the way, specifically The Terminal.

No, I uninstalled Discord. I just didn't use it that much. I may give that a try though.

It's a great adjunct to the communities here. Most communities have their own Discord channel. I find it indispensable for really connecting with people. 😅

Hi @joebrochin,

Perhaps finding one small thing to focus on (Hive related) would help. Personally I have decided to make steps (and digital #HighFive's) my focus.

Steps are something that unites us as we all make steps forward in our lives. It's a healthy activity as well and so many people have positive things to say about the adventures they go on. I have found this to be a great way to stay connected with the community as well!

I hope that my words encourage you to look for the bright spots... Because if you look for them (especially when times are dark...) you will easily find them! 😊

-Wil

P.S. Followed and #HighFive'd you! (Check your wallet... There's 5 Hive there from me!)

Thank you. Looks like someone is working on a search function for Hive. It is called #Hivesearcher. https://hivesearcher.com/

@nathanmars told me about it. This changes things for me significantly. Can't wait to see what they do with it moving forward and if @PeakD adopts it for their site.

Yes, thanks for reminding me about the steps. I need to get back into my walking routine now that we are all moved in. @jayna was supposed to keep on me about my walking routine :-)

Well this is good news! I'm glad there is optimism and innovation still happening on this blockchain! So many projects are dead with crypto winter lasting the duration of 2020. We have a lot to be grateful for! We have so much to look forward to!

Ok! I guess that makes the two of us! 😁

Now @jayna and myself will keep on you about getting those steps! 😂

I'm a certified personal trainer with the @Actifit project (and a couple other projects that I personally am developing as well!) so it's sort of my job to help motivate and inspire people here on Hive to prioritize their health and fitness!

And what better time for a focus on health... Our good health is more important than ever in times like these!

we have had it as part of the site for a long time (even when it was paid and super limited in number of api calls we could make) ... however we have also planned on doing some significant upgrades now that it's less limited... upgrades to both our algorithm adaptions and our UI for some time now but keep having things come up before it.

It seems the way it is setup it doesn't sort by most recent which makes it hard to weed through to find current stuff related to the search term.

A very sincere publication @jayna.

I didn't come to HIve for politics either. Although I know how to form a community.

I think, like you, that people are depressed.

I, for example, have thousands of domestic problems that people can't imagine. I have to cook with firewood because there is no domestic gas in Venezuela.

I have to stand in queues for 3 or 4 hours to put in 20 liters of gasoline.

I have no cash. That means in Venezuela I buy everything more expensive.

And, I have to be creative and optimistic to make my publications!

Everything is very complicated. The USA (I think) has suffered a terrible damage with the elections. It no longer matters who wins because trust was broken.

Anyway... "piano va lontano". Better times will come. Cheers @jayna

Thank you for your comment, @marcybetancourt, and my apologies for the delay in responding. I have been enjoying the Thanksgiving holiday and not getting online much. But I'm back!

I agree - people are depressed. It's just hard to have the drive and energy and excitement to build something new when there are all those things going on that you mentioned, and the pandemic and the politics... etc! I think we are all mentally worn out.

But I am hopeful for better times to come. And I certainly hope conditions improve in Venezuela. ❤️

it seems to suck up all the airspace and take me to a place where I just feel like I'm in such a yucky place that no one would even want to hear from me.

Trying times and yes Hive is a place to read pleasant news, if I want one-sided political events, or coverage of ugliness all around us I just have to visit Facebook of late!

Pandemic or not we all paddling upstream of late filled with doubt, seeing the raw revealing truths in many ways, being "locked-down" which is not healthy has given many time to reflect, that I do see very much in writings of friends.

Take care and appreciated your opinion in Jaynie's contest, unfortunately I too am one that goes quiet, plus have had too much work I 'shelved' due to feeling lost of late.

I'm sorry to hear that, @joanstewart - that lost feeling. I would not be surprised if it becomes a well-known side-effect of the pandemic that researchers study far into the future. It affects everything!

I hope you get your mojo back. You have always been such a great community supporter!

I think Hive truly is a great place to be, and I hope we all find a way to improve our collective angst and get back to writing great content and supporting others who are doing the same.

Finding my bearings and making each day count in good company is the plan. Once mentally settled one can achieve whatever we set out to do, and yes Hive has many amazing people prepared to keep all happy.

That sounds like a great plan, @joanstewart. I pretty much have the same one. For me, finding my bearings is about establishing the right mix of time devoted to my passion (fiction writing), time spent in good company, time outdoors getting fresh air and exercise, and time online. We can’t be at our best when the important things are out of balance.

Wouldn't it be great if something happened and Hive turned out to be that nest egg. I think everyone is just tapped-out. Finding it hard to find the time to just sit a write and sound intelligent around any topic. Anyhow, I did do a post as well. Thanks for tagging me and getting me going.

Sorry for the late reply, @jasonbu. I've been completely caught up in holidays and family stuff. (Of course I did see your awesome post!)

I agree. People are tapped out. This past year has devoured our souls. We will recover. The world will right itself. But it may take another year. I hope it's not the case that a dark cloud will hang over us all for the duration. But it's possible it will.

A great piece. I promise to write a story this week and stop worrying about myself. It's time to support the community by participating. You know that saying, "It's not about you...." It's not. It's about us. I'm going to write something with a blush and send it in for us.
Thanks @jayna. You stay well. Dark times but we all carry our own light.

Great! Be brave, @agmoore. You can do it.

Hello @jayna, you constantly inspire me :)

Glad to hear there are glimmers of hope for you for the future. I agree it is and has been scary in the world with lots to pre-occupy people.

My own approach with Hive has always been to go my own way and do the things I'm interested in. I don't pay a lot of attention to politics and if I were to venture an opinion it would be that some elements of Hive are a little inward-looking and possibly have a few unrealistic expectations. Hive is just part of my life, an interesting one where I've made rewarding connections and friends, found support, had fun and learned loads but it's not the totality and, sometimes, not the priority.

My experience of Hive is that there are always things going on in the background and behind the scenes, and lots of networks of people who are enjoying Hive and getting value from it that we don't even know about. When there's a problem people come together to resolve it - one of the wonders of Hive. I agree with a comment someone else made: it's sinusoid, it ebbs and flows, and it is all still, even now, early days.

I'm tagging @jaynie: thank you for asking the question and providing the opportunity for people to share their thoughts.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment, @shanibeer. Maybe that's why we get along so well. We have similar views of the role of Hive in our lives. It's very meaningful to me. But it's just one of countless meaningful things. And at the end of the day, there are many such things, and very often my involvement here just can't be my top priority. That is not to say it's not important. Quite the contrary. I love it.

My experience of Hive is that there are always things going on in the background and behind the scenes, and lots of networks of people who are enjoying Hive and getting value from it that we don't even know about.

Exactly. And I can't and won't explore all of those things, but the fact that they are going on means to me that we are a very complex ecosystem, and that is something that has long-term potential. I don't pay attention to those who have gone away. Some I miss dearly, but I respect their choice. And I stay. And eat popcorn. And laugh at some of the antics. And shake my head at others. And the world keeps on turning.

ohmigosh! I'm glad you took some time off to focus on family. Sounds like it was needed. Sending love to you and yours now and always.

Completely agree that politics can be a huge turn off. Also, you're on point with 2020 being emotionally/energetically draining. We only have so much focus and time to spend, and we're going to spend it in places that feel good.

Let's focus on content and community again.

100%! I came here for the content and community. It's the only reason I want to be on Hive, honestly. I like the idea of a blockchain-based social hub that brings creatives and fun people together. I'm sure that's still here at least in part. I'd love to see more of that, and less politics. I tune out as soon as drama gets involved, but I'm definitely here for community!

Yes, I have indeed taken a bit of a sabbatical. I would like to find the energy to come back full force. That is my hope. So good to see you re-emerging as well, @katrina-ariel!

Politics are so taxing on the mental health! I can completely agree with refraining from going there - especially here. Or there. Where are we? 😜 Much love Jayne 🤗

They really are. I think it has riled people up a lot (I mean the record turnout at the election - wow!), but it has also made people so damn tired. We need to get this pandemic under control and get back to civil discourse. I hope it can be done. Love back to you, my friend!

Some good thoughts here @jayna, I've added my 2¢ worth of upvote to your pile of HODL. 😜

Thanks Jerry! I rambled my way through this because I was getting ready to run out the door. I'm glad if it made some sense!

I agree with you, @jayna, there is plenty of water under the bridge, but we don't have to drown, we have to keep swimming.

It's a no-win game. And bottom line, what I really want is for all of us to find common ground and meet in the middle where we can identify the issues we want to tackle together and get things done.

I like that, @zeleiracordero. Just keep swimming, like Dory! 😅

In agreement with everything here. So sorry about what you've been going through. I hope that one day we can recapture the life of this creative party! :)

Thank you, @tezmel. It's all good. And I haven't gone anywhere! "This creative party" is a wonderful way to put it. Thanks for stopping in!

Most welcome and good to hear. Art is life of the party, always! Anywhere. Everywhere.

Still, it has been like an isle of (some) sanity and peace here. At least most people are aiming towards peace and understanding or so it seems in contrast to what other media I read...less and less, for my own sake.

That is a great point and I agree completely, @manoldonchev. In fact, most days it feels like world politics are kind of background noise when you come here, and especially to Power House Creatives. There's thought and feeling and community and information sharing - photography, art, creative writing, essays.... There's much to explore that feels real. We can come here and turn down the sound on the All Politics All the Time channel. Ha ha.

@jayna, At the end of the day Humans have to deal with so many aspects so sometimes they reach to particular destination bit late. Stay blessed.

Yes, at the end of the day, humans have much to juggle. We have to constantly prioritize the many aspects of our lives. Thanks for your comment, @chireerocks.

Hi @jayna,

I meant to comment on this before the voting cycle expired on this post... But things have been busier than they normally are over here and I missed it.

I found your words insightful, genuine, and something I think many people can identify with (I know that I did...) as this pandemic continues on.

Thank you for sharing from your heart.

For what it's worth... I'm glad that your being open with the community. We do care and in small ways I hope that we are able to continue to encourage each other during these very difficult times.

-Wil

Thanks, @wil.metcalfe. I'm glad the post resonated with you. I think we all just need to give each other some slack and understand that everyone has a kind of shackle around their proverbial ankle right now. Hopefully we will start to see some lift in the general malaise and we will all be in a better place soon!

Yeah... That's very true. When life's difficult the last thing we all need is for our fellow human beings to treat each other poorly. Cutting everybody some slack is an absolute must!

As for the shackle... Together we can free each other from the malaise and lift our spirits. A rising tide raises all ships... and Where you focus... That's where your future shows up! 🌞

Thank you for those philosophical thoughts, @wil.metcalfe. I agree about lifting one another’s spirits. I already see the beginning of that as people start feeling hopeful again, with a New Year right around the corner, and a vaccine on the horizon.