Thrive on Hive! A PowerHouseCreatives Initiative

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

JaynaHiveProjectCoverrev.jpg

Thrive on Hive! Learn how to join the community.

"Coming together is a beginning, staying together is progress, and working together is success." – Henry Ford

Hive is not simply a blockchain - it is a decision, a mindset and a like-minded community that shares in the growth of such.

THE WHAT, WHY, WHO & WHERE OF IT ALL

These are my five...

WHAT

A place to share my content and join great communities

I discovered this social blockchain three years ago (then Steem, now migrated to Hive), and began dabbling, sharing my short stories and amateur photography. Then I found contests and joined communities within the larger community, and now it is a way of life.

I post every day and get to showcase work I’m proud of as well as my daily thoughts and photos. I have friends all over the world and have even traveled to meetups and events, both domestically and internationally.

WHY

Connecting, learning and earning!

I love Hive because I’m earning something for my content. I’m building value in my account over time, and that value is going up. So it’s like a long-term investment. But that is actually secondary to the best part of Hive, which is the relationships. I can upvote my favorite content producers and help new content producers to grow their accounts. I also love the caring, friendly atmosphere. More so than on any other social media venue, Hive to me is about what we have in common, not about our differences.

The thing that amazes me most is the great content that people share. We have writers, essayists, cryptocurrency experts, photographers, artists, health and fitness enthusiasts, chefs and cooking enthusiasts, gardeners, pet lovers and gamers. There are communities to support new members, to help people break through writer's block and unleash their creativity, communities for homesteaders and natural health enthusiasts and on and on.

So there is something here for everyone, but it’s also a way to expand your horizons. You can see the way people live all over the globe. You can exchange recipes and learn about history and culture and places to travel. It is like a window to the world, but for any place you want to go, you can have a personal tour guide.

WHO

The communities I love

The communities where I am most active are Actifit, Power House Creatives, The Ink Well, the Freewrite Community and Photography, though I dabble in many more and wish I had more time to get to more communities! I also love OCD, Gems, Palnet, The City of Neoxian, Qurator, The Terminal, Amazing Nature, Wednesday Walk, Foodies Bee Hive, The Ramble, Natural Medicine and dPet, and have a new fascination with Urban Exploration.

Some of the most amazing community builders and content creators I love to follow are: @jaynie, @mariannewest, @zord189, @felt.buzz, @dswigle, @old-guy-photos and adetorrent. To even try to make a list is ridiculous because there are so many I love and who inspire me daily!

WHERE

Front ends/dapps I use

The two ways I post most often are through the Actifit dapp (decentralized app) and through Peakd (peakd.com), both of which post to my blog. I also use Steempress, which posts to my Hive blog from my Wordpress blog. I think this is probably one thing that confuses most people when they first look at Hive, but it’s one of the coolest and most powerful things about it. All of your content posts to your blog, from whatever front end you use that is built on the Hive blockchain.

You have different options because each has different features. For example, every day I post to my blog from the Actifit app (actifit.io), writing about how I got my steps for the day and notes about my excursions. Because it is usually a walk in nature, I include pictures from my walks. I like Peakd as the front end for most of my other posts to the blockchain because it has a great set of features and is designed for ease of use. I use the steempress plugin (steempress.io) when I want to publish a post to both my Wordpress blog and to Hive. For example, once a month I post a writing prompt for my Write Club group to both blogs.

#THRIVEONHIVE

Final thoughts and conclusion

There are many ways to spend your time, and only you know what’s right for you. I have found Hive to be an absolutely wonderful way to connect, explore, publish articles and short stories, share my amateur photography and feel like I am a part of something unique and fun with really interesting people.

Studies show that social media can be depressing for some people, and I think the reason for this is that it often has the illusion of being about connection, but you can’t really connect on many platforms. You log on, and there you see people sharing the best pictures of their beautiful lives and you might feel like there’s something wrong with your own life.

On Hive, it’s different. You can get as involved as you want. You can share what’s real and true. Talk about the school of hard knocks and the hardest lessons learned, even if your story includes trauma, abuse or recovery. Write blog posts or short stories or share art or photography or anything else that feels meaningful to you. As long as you share from the heart and connect with other people and treat others with kindness and respect, you can find a home on Hive.

Most communities have a Discord server as well, and this is a place to connect daily with your community, laugh and share ideas and become better connected. Every community is built with people of many different nationalities and walks of life, and it makes the world a smaller, friendlier place. Check it out. There is a lot of help for you in The Terminal on Discord!

MY SHOUTOUTS

Hey guys – yes you – join the fun!
@adetorrent
@preparedwombat
@comingalive
@blewitt
@shanibeer
@kaminchan
@lacrucita

text15.png

TO THOSE JOINING IN....


  1. Create your own selfie with the tag #THRIVEONHIVE - similar to the headers you have seen.

  2. Copy the same post format and insert your OWN feedback and insight under the relevant headings.

  3. Tag 5 people to join in!

  4. If you are on Twitter... share your post using the tags #thriveonhive #powerhousecreatives #hiveisalive #hive

  5. Use the following tags on your post: thriveonhive, powerhousecreatives, hive (additional tags up to you)

  6. PLEASE PUBLISH YOUR POST TO THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES COMMUNITY FEED – IE. https://peakd.com/c/hive-114105/created


text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the shoutout! And I can't believe that I didn't mention Actifit in mine. I was so tired when I wrote mine lol
And like you, I think the people are the very best part!!!

Well I'm just amazed by all you do, @mariannewest. So pat yourself on the back that you got it done!

and now it is a way of life.

It really is, isn't it!!!

Studies show that social media can be depressing for some people, and I think the reason for this is that it often has the illusion of being about connection, but you can’t really connect on many platforms. You log on, and there you see people sharing the best pictures of their beautiful lives and you might feel like there’s something wrong with your own life. On Hive, it’s different.

WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! Love that!!! In fact I love EVERYTHING you wrote in your conclusion!

This whole post is filled with so much positivity - one aspect that you have always been consistent @jayna! It is really awesome, thank you! I am honored to have been able to be a part of this journey with you and am looking forward to lots of shenanigans ahead.... the good kind obviously haha!!!

Thank you for this amazing contribution to our initiative!!! LOTS OF LOVE! !tip


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that encompasses ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

Thank you so much, @jaynie. What a fun and amazing initiative this is. I'm glad it is carrying on from the big blowout on Day 1. So many more people have jumped in. It's so fun to see. What a brilliant idea to storm the place and make a big splash! Thanks so much for the kind words and the tip. :-)

It is fin isn't it!!! haha :D Looking forward to the next one. 140 and counting now :)


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that encompasses ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

Hive is a fun place. I dont know why everyone that has Facebook has not at least tried Hive.

I second that!

I totally agree. I mean I like Facebook, and I visit it periodically. But I don't spend time there the way I do on Hive - addicted to all of the interactions and interesting content and great people. It's more like... I don't know... rubbernecking?

I’m building value in my account over time, and that value is going up. So it’s like a long-term investment.

I never thought about the blockchain like that. I like the "long term investment".

Thank you for writing.

Thank you for visiting, @hope777! That is the way I have thought of it since I joined Steem in 2017. It occurred to me that if I just started "investing" a little of my time each day, I would build value without having to pull money out of my pocket. After three years, I still have not pulled any money out of Steem or HIVE. (Well, I might convert Steem to Hive soon!) But I'm a HODLer!

Lovely idea and thank you for the tag ... but I have no idea how to create the selfie header. Is there a post somewhere that explains how to do it?

Hey @shanibeer :)

Not sure if you have jumped on board yet... but you can find a header in our discord server....


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that encompasses ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

Ah lovely, thank you @jaynie 😍

Pleasure xxx

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.