Top Tips for a Fast, Healthy Breakfast

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE3 years ago (edited)

I don’t know about you, but I find breakfast to be the most challenging meal of the day. I generally don’t wake up wanting food, and I certainly don’t want to start the day with anything sweet. Why are so many breakfast foods sweet?

But I know I should start the day off right, and something healthy and savory is appealing.

So I devised a way to make breakfast fast, healthy, interesting and hearty!

Meet the Breakfast Frittata

7C758560099140BFB7AC8E16573F8DB0.jpeg

You can make countless variations of a breakfast frittata. It all depends on what you have on hand. I will tell you how I make it, along with some ideas for how to switch it up, and then you will be able to make one anytime and get creative.

Note: I cook mine in the microwave. It takes about two and half minutes to bake that way, and it turns out great. But if you wish, you can easily make it in a pan (a cast iron skillet or small Dutch oven works great). You can find cooking times and recipes in a simple search. You would likely want to go this route if you’re making breakfast for multiple people, as the method I’m sharing here is ideal for one person.

I use the microwave because I love being able to make a wonderful hearty breakfast quickly due to my busy work life!

Assemble Your Ingredients

The one staple for this dish is eggs. Everything else is optional.

For this particular frittata, I used what I had on hand:

  • Broccoli
  • Peppers
  • Shallot
  • Cole slaw mix

Other veggie ingredients I often throw in include:

  • Mushrooms
  • Tomatoes
  • Zucchini or yellow squash
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Any shredded greens, such as kale
  • Shredded cabbage (if you don’t have coke slaw mix, like I do 😁)
  • Green onions (scallions)
  • Chopped red or yellow onions
  • Leftover roasted potatoes or mashed potatoes

But wait, there’s more! If you want additional flavor and protein, you can also add:

  • Diced ham
  • Diced turkey
  • Crumbled, cooked bacon

Even chopped lunch meat is great.

Here is what I assembled from what I had on hand.

BA005CC47CE74E3C9945370E40DC23D8.jpeg

E10B4BB750334A189F79F1ECF30A62AB.jpeg

B6A1BF1DDF9C4DA99429DA9474BED253.jpeg

7425E0AAAB0D4A758415EFEFED340387.jpeg

416292C420D0446193E6D68ADB5CBED4.jpeg

Next I chopped everything except the cole slaw. For that I just grabbed a handful from the bag. (Tip: Cole slaw is a great addition to a lot of quick meals, and is an excellent way to jack up the nutritional content of things like leftovers you are heating up. I recommend stocking it in your fridge!)

9E8514BE33964F8C9C0A60E844ECC6BB.jpeg

Throw It Together

I grab a serving size microwave-safe bowl, and spray the inside with cooking spray.

Bowl.jpg

1C60BC64E03F49DEB50ABA6265698889.jpeg

Next, crack two eggs in the bowl and scramble them.

Note: If you’re cutting down on fat, you can do one whole egg and one egg white, or three egg whites.

43551AAD13E64BB39770475AEAE7A7B6.jpeg

3C72BF0085FD4C1584B4134B9EEC1D41.jpeg

Add all of your prepared ingredients.

DEAE5C1CE2424A97967CB4B8B9D39E1E.jpeg

You can also add cheese! I’m a huge fan of either shredded Parmesan or goat cheese. For this frittata I added crumbled goat cheese.

EA2F2F74BAAC45F5AB933D3941F8AEC2.jpeg

Bake It

Now just pop the bowl into the microwave and cook for for two minutes.

Most likely it will not be quite done. It depends on how many ingredients you’ve added. But I find two minutes is a good starting point.

I take the bowl out at this point and cut up the frittata with a knife and fork to distribute the heat and then I cook it for 30 seconds more. You will get a feel for cooking times with your microwave after trying it once or twice.

Add Toppers

Now you can embellish for flavor and heartiness. Here are some of the things I tend to add on top, depending on what I have on hand and what sort of flavor combo I’m going for - such as the Denver omelette flavor (ham and cheese), south-of-the-border, huevos rancheros, etc.

  • Salt and pepper
  • Crushed red pepper
  • Salsa
  • Chopped fresh avocado
  • Chopped cilantro
  • Spices and herbs such as parsley, thyme or oregano

It is all up to the limits of one’s imagination and culinary desires.

This might seem elaborate, but it’s really not. It’s just a matter of chopping some veggies you have on hand, scrambling the eggs and mixing it all together with cheese or other ingredients you like and then popping it into the microwave. And bam! A healthy, hearty breakfast!

FD824117F42B49B8A6FFBE7D512740F6.jpeg

Thanks for visiting, and I would love to hear from you if you try it and how it turns out.

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, blog about your favorite topics, curate content and earn cryptocurrency.

Get started
Sign up an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

The Ink well Logosm.png

honey44501_640small.png

#backtothehive is an initiative I've started to encourage long-time members to return with fresh energy!

Sort:  

I'm no breakfast person either and no matter how early or late I wake up.
My stomach just doesn't seem to go well with food until at least 2 hours after I'm awake.
By then, I'm already about to go to work so I end up just with a hot cup of black tea

That's me, too, not usually able to eat anything until I've been up for a couple hours! 😁

Yup, me too. But then I'm ravenous and I need food! I like this because it's so darn quick.

I have never cooked eggs in the microwave, only on the stovetop. But, I just tried this and it's awesome! I put mushrooms in mine and ate it with a couple of sausage links (also cooked in microwave). It's a great-one bowl meal, and all I have to wash is a fork (which I used for scrambling the eggs), a spoon (used for dipping mushrooms from the jar, and to eat with), and the bowl! What a WIN! Thanks for the great and yummy idea! 😃

Hooray! I'm so glad you tried it... and I'm not crazy. I feel like this is absolutely the best kept secret. And the options are endless. Ooh... I forgot to mention sausage. So smart! And yes, the one dish meal deal is the best.

Glad you tried it and made something yummy, @thekittygirl!