A Picture says a Thousand Words...

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE3 years ago

1000 words.jpg

“A picture says a thousand words” I think is the actual quote and pictures really do tell entire stories! Landscapes can set a scene or mood, offer you momentary escape or just allow you to dream. People in photos tell endless stories too, from the eyes, facial expressions through to dress and body language. There is always a lot to see in a photo if we really open our eyes and see.

This consideration is what inspired me to have a go at one of the first – actually, no… it was THE FIRST post prompt, from the very first issue of The Weekly which I publish every Monday, which is a compilation of Lifestyle Lounge post suggestions and inspirations. Below is a snapshot of the prompt.


Untitled.png


1000 words about a picture

If you had asked me a year ago if I thought I would be standing where I am today, I probably would have laughed. Capetonian born and bred, I had no real intentions of leaving – not unless absolutely necessary of course and that would have revolved more around emigration which up until that point… had not been a “thing” and I have now decided I will not do – again, unless absolutely necessary.

A regular end of year holiday visit up to my dad’s place ended up playing catalyst to an entirely new life moving forward. Granted the craziness and chaos of city living can get to you, we stayed in a place which was pretty sheltered from all of that – until you drove out of the exit gate that was… but I really did not think I was going to turn into a completely authentic country bumpkin sporting “plakkies” (flip flops) and shorts in pretty much every kind of weather, quite as soon as it has apparently happened.

This photo was taken about a month ago and marked an important shift within myself and the way I saw things changing within myself having been removed from city life for a few months. The dissolving of fear, appreciation for the endless beauty which I was now surrounded with daily and really, just the simplicity of it all. It had been raining earlier that morning so the air was laden with the uplifting and consuming delight of petrichor. I stopped for a good few moments and absorbed it ALL! Contemplated my life, my sons and what lay before us and all my reservations fell by the wayside.

Yes, I had reservations about uprooting and moving out to “almost” the middle of nowhere. My life had been lived where we “were” and change is not always an easy thing to process and absorb, but in that moment, I asked myself – what are we actually leaving that we cannot re-create right here and probably in much healthier forms… especially for my son. I had no answer. No reason not to do it. Suddenly, the idea of spending more time barefoot in the garden, watching sunsets dip below mountains every single night and being surrounded by peace and quiet appealed to me greatly! A simpler life – one which ultimately requires a lot less money and eradicates the “pressures” and generally negative influence of society… I quite fancy the idea of my little boy growing up with a whole lot more “wholesome” in his life!

In that moment, I let go. I did not only accept it – but made the decision that I wanted it. It felt so good! The universe never ceases to amaze me because it was just about this point in time when another blessing came my way… well, truth be told – I did not just trip over it as it lay crossing my path, lol – no… I kinda had to go fetch it… haha! and truth be told, I didn’t even know I was doing that… but I was. Not a simple blessing – in fact, it is one weighted by ALL sorts of complication but a blessing nonetheless - some things in life which you are graced with involve great effort to finally reach but are absolutely worth it… this is one of those. I am excited, scared, nervous but mostly… overflowing with happiness!

Life, with all its twists and turns – challenges and adversities… always pops out with something every now and again which reminds us why our hearts continue beating and why we never gave up on everything or ourselves. There is always something more about to evolve, you just need to trust that, let it go and forget about it – then it arrives. Suddenly, the sunsets and simplicity took on an entirely new meaning and perspective for me. A wondrous one! Funny how that works really… you can exist for years on end being “accepting” of circumstance and in the blink of an eye you step over the threshold of a moment and absolutely everything changes. An entirely new beginning in the making – completely unexpected but welcomed with open arms, craved in fact!

It all works like a perfectly conducted orchestra – life I mean. Even in those classical pieces there are the moments of minor which your heart and mood sinks alongside, but as quickly as it dips it rises back to major. As rain comes and goes, so does the sun – it is a balance, harmony and perfection in its own right. Again, if you had asked me a year ago if I thought I would be blessed with that shift over and above everything else, I would have told you that you are crazy, never would have believed it possible… but apparently it was – is, and now it is!

I came out here with no expectations, but in the time spent, I have re-connected with myself. It changed it all – everything. When you are in harmony with your true self the doors of opportunity open and oh… have they opened, more so than I ever dreamed possible. I do not take it for granted – not one little bit! I am grateful to my core for the way things have unfolded, the blessings I hold in my hands right now as well as the ones which I have to look forward to moving forward. Life truly is amazing! Everything we could ever hope for, dream for and desire is literally right there waiting for us to embrace it – we simply need to believe that it is. A deep sense of trust as well as release within that trust, because the letting go is a part of that process and the starting point – the beginning of a beginning if you will. It is a beautiful thing, when you allow it to be just that. I look at that picture and it warms me from the inside out because I know the best is yet to come and I cannot wait!

Untitled.png

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

ll.png

JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

I'm a small-town lad, a southern son from a small rural town as you know, and I long now for the simplicity I found there, albeit as a kid through to my middle-17th year. Sure, life gets more complicated as one gets older and one needs to deploy differently to suit...But I have never lost that need for dirt roads, silence, nothing but nature, that can only come when away from other people.

I remember when you told me you'd moved and were in a smaller less-populated place and I also remember saying that I was a little jealous, a personality trait that comes up now and then. Envious is probably a better word though. It seems your move away has been of great value and again I find myself feeling jeal... envious of you considering I'm not there yet. I live in a city, sure a fairly small one and I'm only a short distance from the wilderness and outback places, but to have that simplicity of life you have found...It'll happen, I know this, but ya, I wish now.

It all works like a perfectly conducted orchestra – life I mean. Even in those classical pieces there are the moments of minor which your heart and mood sinks alongside, but as quickly as it dips it rises back to major. As rain comes and goes, so does the sun – it is a balance, harmony and perfection in its own right.

This is all a beautiful and reflective post; Your meaningful thought comes through strongly but that part above...Beautiful...If only you'd leave some scope for us lesser beings to write like this...But in truth I don't mind, reading it has the same effect as it would had I written it.

Lekker post bumpkin.

I only have one thing to say...

<3

I'll take it.

Smart man.

Some would disagree.

Not me.

Grazie mille.