Baby Corn & Green Bean Salad

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

Makeup by Adora.png

Yesterday, although a little on the windy side - was still an absolutely gorgeous day here in Cape Town and despite the fact that we had braaied on Thursday night, we decided to to a lunch time braai yesterday too. I really enjoyed the sides we had with the braai on Thursday which I shared in this post here, but I hate repeating things, so was looking for something else to have yesterday.

I stood staring blankly at all the veg in the supermarket and really had no idea what to do. I looked at the mielies and thought perhaps to roast some of those, but I was not overly excited by the fact that this is such a common braai side. Then my eyes fell on to the baby corn and I was suddenly inspired! The end result was completely unique and super tasty!

So, I bought two packs of baby corn, a pack of fine green beans, a small tub of fresh pomegranates, a small tub of fresh bean sprouts... and this is what I concocted :)

Firstly, I threw the corn into boiling water for about 4 minutes. Then I did the same with the topped and tailed fine green beans. I drained them both and set aside.

20191201_133114.jpg

20191201_135959.jpg

20191201_141312.jpg

20191201_142825.jpg

Then I heated a pan with a little olive oil and butter, added a finely diced red onion and some chopped garlic. I then added the the corn to the pan once the onions and garlic were cooking nicely and I cooked the corn for about five minutes - just enough to give it a nice golden char.

Then I tossed in a handful of the bean sprouts, some freshly chopped parsley and continued to cook it for a few minutes further. While that was busy, I threw the green beans into a serving dish.

20191201_150717.jpg

20191201_150943.jpg

20191201_150949.jpg

20191201_151510.jpg

20191201_151557.jpg

20191201_151852.jpg

20191201_151941.jpg

Once all that was done cooking I tossed it in with the green beans, added the fresh pomegrnates and then topped it with a little finely grated parmesan cheese.

20191201_153648.jpg

20191201_153710.jpg

20191201_153838.jpg

20191201_153815.jpg

I let it cool and just a little while before we wanted to eat, I warmed it a little in the oven - so I suppose if you are one of those lucky individuals that still has a warming drawer, you could just pop it in there... but I essentially use my oven as a warming drawer by putting it on the minimum 50 degrees Celsius and that works perfectly fine!

It was such a simple salad to make and the combination of ingredients went beautifully together! I was pretty impressed with it considering it came together on a whim in the middle of the grocery store haha!

The other side I added for the braai was nothing new to most I am sure - but it is not something we do very often and that was grilled mushrooms! Again a super simple thing to prepare - and yes, you can get a LOT more creative than I was yesterday, but we already had a star for the plate, so I left them simple with a little butter, garlic, parsley and a little grated mozzarella. YUM! They are always a hit!

20191201_162638.jpg

20191201_162851.jpg

20191201_162901.jpg

20191201_170601.jpg

20191201_171613.jpg

It was a super combo and a really delicious plate once completed with the braai meat. A great way to end the weekend!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

Copy of lifestyle  inspirations.png

text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
LIKE OUR FB PAGE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER


Created by @derangedvisions

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

That's tempting! I know what I'm going to prepare tomorrow! Thanks, Jaynie!

Pleasure :) Hope you enjoy it if you do! !tip

🎁 Hi @bloghound! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

My Wife Kelly loved the Shrooms.!!

We are going to try that.

awesome!!!! !tip

🎁 Hi @krazzytrukker! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

In my Venezuelan country we say this dish Spectacular! Blessed are those who became part of this dish. I congratulate you friend. Brilliant recipe and creativity. I will take it into account to write an exceptional food poem. Blessings.

Thank you very much @elpastor :) !tip

🎁 Hi @elpastor! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Yummy. 😋

It was :) Thank you! !tip

💕💕💕

🎁 Hi @wonderwop! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Every time I see baby corn I think of "Big" with Tom Hanks. Looks too healthy for me but still looks good.

🎁 Hi @cryptoandcoffee! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thanks for the tipu. Stay healthy and well this may go on for a while yet.

hahahaha - Always accompanied by something "less" healthy anyway... like a steak or whatever haha! but yeah, it was good - thanks! !tip

Although I don't like fine green beans very much, I must say it looks very delicious.
I do love mushrooms in any preparation.😋

hehe thanks hon :) and yes, those mushrooms are always a win!!! !tip

🎁 Hi @mballesteros! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Baby corn👍...love those tiny sweet one....I hardly find them in open market but always delight the taste on big restaurants.

I must admit I really enjoy them too! !tip

🎁 Hi @steemflow! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Wow! All delicious looking I hav'nt taste pomegranate with other veggies, for us here im our area it is a fruit to be eaten directly the then the mushroom hmm grilled? I want to try. I used to buy the dried once.

pomegranate has an unusual taste lol... sometimes I love them and others, not so much! Thanks for stopping by @jurich60 :) !tip

🎁 Hi @jurich60! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @rehan12 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Thank you @duyhub and @rehan12 - much appreciated :)