Creamy Butternut, Bacon and Blue Cheese Soup

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

20180420_203743.jpg

❤ Ola Foodies ❤

Soup is one of those really easy "go to" meals...
throw it all in a pot, leave it and hey presto! haha!
Normally, my favourite would be a lamb and vegetable soup,
but for whatever reason, yesterday I felt like a creamy soup
and so butternut was a total no brainer for me haha...

Except I decided to PIMP it up a little...

Creamy Butternut, Bacon and Blue Cheese Soup

🍴

Now before I get started,
I do realise that blue cheese is quite an acquired taste,
so for any haters out there... I just want you to know,
that the blue cheese is added at the end,
so you could just leave it out altogether if you don't like it -
but seriously... it absolutely MAKES this soup!!!!
And any blue cheese fan will testify to how this stinky cheese
can completely elevate a dish to a completely different level!

YOU WILL NEED -

A pack of chopped sweet potato
A pack of chopped butternut
One chopped onion
A little chopped garlic
One chopped carrot
Some freshly chopped french chives and parsley
Salt and pepper to taste
250ml cream
A pack of diced bacon
A blue cheese triangle

🍴

Right, so as with like 99.9% of dishes,
begin by heating a pan with some olive oil...
Add some chopped onion and garlic and saute until golden.

20180420_162522.jpg

20180420_163354.jpg

While that was busy, I chopped up some carrots,
french chives and some parsley.
As usual I did not peel my carrots, I never do anymore...
I just wash them.

20180420_163101.jpg

Once the onions have finished browning,
add the chopped carrots etc. into the pot,
along with one pack of chopped sweet potato
and one pack of chopped butternut...

20180420_163330.jpg

Then you can add all the seasoning you want.

I added chutney (what a shocker hey @rwedegis lol),
salt, ground black pepper
and one chicken stock cube.

Then I filled it with water -
just enough to pretty much cover everything.
Turn the heat up and bring it to the boil.

20180420_163628.jpg

You can let it boil for a few minutes
and then turn the heat down to medium
and allow it to cook for about 45min
until everything is nice and tender.

Then you can remove it from the heat,
blend it with a hand blender,
place it back onto the stove and increase the heat to medium.
Add a pack of chopped bacon or bacon bits
and allow that to cook for approx. 10 minutes.

Then turn the heat back down to very low,
add 250ml of fresh cream,
put the lid on and leave it for an hour or two
which will allow enough time for the flavours to develop.

About 15 minutes before serving,
you can crumble some of the blue cheese
and place it into the freezer in a tupperware.

This simply prevents it from instantly melting later
when you scatter it into the soup...
so you get these wonderful BURSTS of blue cheese as you eat...
which is simply heavenly!!!

In fact the whole soup was just heavenly,
even if I do say so myself... haha!

ENJOY!!

🍴

20180420_203645.jpg

20180420_203638.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

Copy of lifestyle  inspirations.png

text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
LIKE OUR FB PAGE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER


Created by @derangedvisions

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

That looks simply delicious, nice warm meal during after cold winter day.

Smelly blue cheese, never tried this into soup, giving me fresh ideas on how to prepare something different this winter.

@tipu curate

Lol still don't get what the hate is about with people on blue cheese. Looks delicious by the way

I loved blue cheese, but now I'm on a liquid diet and I'm afraid to eat it. 😢🙏

Hi Jaynie - what a magnificent recipe and amazing photographs. Please consider entering one of these photographs on the @cookwithus contest on Wls. Great prizes - over 3000WLS now and 1000 for the winner. You can find the post here

It looks so good! Cream soups and croutons are so yummy! I never tried this, only mushroom cream soup. Which I really like. Thank for sharing!

This looks delightful and I just happen to have everything to make it including a fresh triangle of blue cheese. What's for dinner tonight? oh yeah!