Delicious Sticky Wings with Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

gnocchi.png

Every now and again I love doing a finger supper for us and sticky chicken wings always gets a resounding yes! However, finding sides to accompany the wings (other than chips obviously) can get a little challenging, especially when you want everything to be easy to eat without cutlery. I recently spotted "cheats gnocchi" in a local magazine and I thought that it would be a fantastic fit for the wings, so decided to give it a try.

I will say though (before I even get to the recipe) that whilst the gnocchi was really successful, I genuinely didn't like the taste of the lemon zest and mint in it - it jarred my senses big time! So, have since made it -excluding those two ingredients and replacing them with well drained, VERY finely chopped fried bacon and onion and a little garlic... it completely transformed the flavour profile and creates an amazing finger snack all on it's own!

Sadly however, I will have to do those again to showcase them because I had company at the time of making them so could not really spend the time needed to take pics. Anyhooo, the concept is the same really, and as they always say "different strokes for different folks" perhaps other people may like the zing of the lemon and mint... to me it just reminded me of toothpaste haha.

You will need:

400g of spinach (I used baby spinach)
500g of ricotta cheese
125ml grated parmesan
2 eggs, lightly beaten
250ml flour sifted
15ml grated lemon zest
60ml chopped mint
salt & pepper to taste

First of all you will need to blanch the spinach in boiling water for about 1 minute until it is gorgeously bright green in colour. Then drain it WELL and chop it.

20191127_170337.jpg

20191127_170427.jpg

20191127_170632.jpg

20191127_170738.jpg

20191127_171457.jpg

20191127_171603.jpg

Place all the ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix them WELL! Once that is done, your can grab a large board or clear a large, clean working surface and flour it. Take out fistful sizes of the mixture, and roll them out on the floured surface into long ropes. Make sure to compress them nicely, otherwise they will break apart later...

20191127_172044.jpg

20191127_172059.jpg

20191127_172635.jpg

20191127_171304.jpg

20191127_173007.jpg

20191127_172132.jpg

20191127_172442.jpg

20191127_174500.jpg

20191127_175006.jpg

20191127_175107.jpg

20191127_175311.jpg

20191127_175942.jpg

Once they are rolled nicely, you can then cut the rope into 2cm pieces. You will then need to heat a deep pan or pot with water and once the water has reached a gentle boil, gently place each piece of gnocchi into the water. Initially they will sink and once they rise they are done and can be removed from the water. This normally takes about 2 - 3 minutes. Do not over crowd the water, rather do them in batches.

20191127_180354.jpg

20191127_183000.jpg

20191127_183205.jpg

Once they are done you can place them on a greased baking tray, coat them with a little beaten egg or milk and then grill them in the oven until nice and golden on the top. That's it, you are done!

20191127_185305.jpg

20191127_191818.jpg

20191127_191911.jpg

As I mentioned in the beginning, the reason reason I decided to do these in the first place was because of our finger food dinner and the main was the sticky chicken wings. I find that meat these days is so pumped full of water/brine that if you put chicken into the oven it actually boils first... so when I make chicken wings, I always cook them as is for about 30 minutes first just to get rid of the liquid which you can just drain from the oven tray.

Once that is done, then I add the marinade and pop them back into the oven to cook until they are deliciously golden and sticky looking! In this particular instance I used a sticky marinade and a Mediterranean glaze.

20191127_173955.jpg

20191127_170244.jpg

20191127_174109.jpg

20191127_174249.jpg

I generally toss them throughout the cooking process adding a little more of the marinade combo each time, this way they get wonderfully sticky and crispy all round.

20191127_190042.jpg

20191127_193551.jpg

20191127_193626.jpg

Everything on the plate needs to be easy to eat without cutlery, so I served both of the above on a bed of fresh baby spinach leaves and a few rainbow baby tomatoes. Although the gnocchi takes a little extra time to prepare, there really isn't much else to do, aside from the chicken wings which is as simple as pie, so it is totally worth the effort and the result is a super Summer dinner!

20191127_194511.jpg

20191127_194456.jpg

20191127_194621.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

Copy of lifestyle  inspirations.png

text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
LIKE OUR FB PAGE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER


Created by @derangedvisions

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

Oh boy, this looks absolutely yum @jaynie, fabulous photography as well!
I'm really keen to try this with Kale a friend gave from his garden.
So much healthier than chips not so!
Gorgeous foodie post.

Thank you sweetie! Appreciate the compliment on the photos. I am SURE it would work VERY well with kale... but just take note of what I mentioned re. the mint and zest... unless of course that sort of flavour profile excites you. I am not normally partial to that sort of thing (even lemon zest in butternut soup annoys me haha) so I don't know why I thought I could fool myself... HAHA!!! !tip

🎁 Hi @lizelle! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I like 'no-key' I seems like way too difficult to make. The chicken wings look great. I made some awesome ones last weekend, myself. Bon appetite!

hahaha Thanks @abitcoinskeptic :) Well... guess you could just stick to the chicken wings then hehehe.... never too many of those!!! !tip

Yeah, solid advice. Just ate great ribs I made tonight. Going to a halal country for a few weeks tomorrow, so I need to get my pork fix.

Never too much pork either hey @zord189 :D

🎁 Hi @abitcoinskeptic! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

OMG ! What a meal. You sure can cook girl.
I have to try the ricotta spinach gnocchi recipe, thanks for sharing and giving such detailed instruction.
Love the display, served with style.
Be well!

hahaha thanks :) and yes... it was a pretty awesome combo! Even Jude loved it which was great! If you do try it... like I said to @lizelle.... just take note of what I said about the lemon zest and the mint.... because personally I WONT dot that again. lol !tip

🎁 Hi @farm-mom! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Very delicious indeed even just watching it but the process in rolling that spinach with egg seems hard. I have no idea that spinach will have a light colour by boiling it with just 1 minute.

Do you have experienced in a restaurant? I noticed you just said about the company. I asked because the finished product looks like it was served from a first-class restaurant.

Well done.

Posted using Dapplr

It really wasn't hard! I also thought it would be! I expected it all to fall apart, but it didn't lol! No, I have never had anything like that in a restaurant - but thank you for the compliment :) I just saw it in a magazine and decided to try it! Appreciate the positive feedback x !tip

Oh, sorry for exaggerating I mean no harm. Just kidding, thanks for sharing by the way and the tip.

Posted using Dapplr

hahaha!!! you do NOT need to apologise lol ;)

🎁 Hi @mrnightmare89! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Oh yum! These look terrific - both the gnochi and the chicken wings. I have a hunch I would like the mint and lemon, as those are flavors I always enjoy having lived in Greece for half a year back in college. That's where I fell in love with mint and realized that lemon complements far more dishes than I had imagined.

That's a great idea to twice-bake the chicken wings to get the water out first and then let the sauce adhere nicely!

Thanks hon! Yeah... some people LOVE IT - I don't and I KNOW I don't, so not sure WHAT I was thinking hahahahaha!!!! Mint I love in food and cook with it ALL the time... I think it was more the lemon zest that jarred my senses.... I really only enjoy it in baking.

As for the chicken wings... yeah, well if you want sticky wings these days (at least with the chicken here in SA...) you don't have much choice, because the water content injected into the meat is CRAZY!

!tip

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Oh so much attention to details! Love it! With you cooking becomes a form of art!

What a lovely thing to say @creativemary, thank you! !tip

You deserve it👏💪

🎁 Hi @creativemary! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

That looks incredibly good!! I imagine it tastes even better! :D

Thanks!!! Yes, the first round was good.... but the second round was AMAZING :D !tip

🎁 Hi @nikolina! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

My dear! All the food look so yummy

Thank you :) !tip

🎁 Hi @denissemata! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

wow. Looks so yummy. The final image is vibrant and those colours are juicy.😀
Ra

Thank you !tip

🎁 Hi @rmsadkri! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Now you just being afshowerag lol, unless there’s HIVE dinner dates coming to a plate near me too

hahahahaha!!!!!!

unless there’s HIVE dinner dates coming

This can be arranged... once Cyril stops being such a toet! :D

!tip

🎁 Hi @chekohler! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Delicious Sticky Wings With Spinach & Ricotta Gnocchi Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

this is not only impressive, detailed and well explained, but it also looks soooo tasty,😃

Dankie Skat! :)

Ooooh looks yummy yummy

Thank you hon! So does everythign YOU make!

Looks quite delicious....and looks very similar to Indian pakora snacks......do u know abt it ?

Thanks @steemflow and no... never heard of that! Educate me!

It is a normal snacks where spinach mix with gram flour and little but if ginger/garlic paste are fried and made into a crispy item.

Now that is what I exchanged the lemon zest and mint with the second time around (well, garlic... not ginger) and it was MUCH nicer! but I imagine the ginger would be super too!

Part of Indian kitchen nothing complete without unless u leave it to get moksha 😉...anyhow it add taste to the mix...but upto your taste add or not...we usually have it with green coriander chutney or sauce and a cup of tea is just like icing on the cake

Oh You got me at coriander!!! - AND chutney!!! As for tea, that ALWAYS completes a meal!

Tea.....Especialy the spicy tangy Indian pakora...😉

Woo woo woo!! Everything looks delicious! The final dish looks like a painting, it would be a shame to damage it to eat it.😋😁

Thank you!!! but hey... we were hungry!!! :D

Wow it's very delicious indeed. I am hungry to see your testy food. Do you like share with me?

Thank you :)

Mouthwateringly good 🙂 I'll be adding the ingredients to my Tuesday's shopping list.

Thanks for sharing this with us!

I need this. Looks delicious

Posted using Dapplr

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @stevenson7 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Ding dong, chicken and gnocchi, look rather good, I haven't had gnocchi in ages you've inspired me to make some this week, spinach and ricotta a classic combo.