Just some Decor Ideas for OUR HOME...

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE3 years ago

our home.png

I felt the need for a little bit of distraction today, something a little lighter and productive... so I decided that I would start taking a look at decor ideas. Some of you on Hive are already aware that sometime in the next few months (if everything goes according to plan), the building for our new home out here in country bumpkin land will get underway and at some point, I will obviously need to make decisions regarding finishes etc.

So, this seemed like a fairly relaxed and fun way to spend some of my Saturday afternoon and I figured I would share some of the ideas and styles which I have for the various rooms in the house. No doubt when this all actually unfolds, it will end up somewhat different - because pretty much everything I do results in being more like a kaleidoscope of ideas, haha - that is just me, unlikely it will change now.

I have pretty much hit Pinterest for the images on this post, because stock photography was not quite going to cut it... so I have actually just linked the images directly to the original pins where I found them, in case anyone here would like to go check them out for themselves or pin them onto their own decor boards.


the lounge.png

I have and always will be a hippie at heart and my decor tendencies have always reflected such. This space will be not different, but because I will essentially be starting from scratch and also because I am turning into an old fart, I think a slightly more mature spin on it all is where I would be heading...

Below are three shots from the place back in Cape Town and as you can see... VERY eclectic! I mean, I made a curtain out of scarves, lol! That feature may actually make it's way into the new place, because firstly - I loved it for the simple reason that it was light and because I hate curtains in general, but also because it always brought my mom to mind as most of those scarves were hers.

20210128_182319.jpg

20210128_182357.jpg

20210128_182540.jpg

I love green! I find it incredibly soothing and a great colour for a lounge or living area. Combine that with neutral and natural tones, wood and ceramics and you have a really gorgeous looking combo - although... I like my COLOUR - and leaving it just like that simply wouldn't do it for me. I would need and want to bring a bold pop of colour into the mix... so a feature / accent wall in a nice bright turquoise would be perfect in my mind.

An accent wall does not need to be a massive section of wall. It can be a panel wall and can be done with a plain coat of paint, patterns, bands or even prints. At the end of the day - that judgement call can only really be made once I stand in the actual space, although I will say - I have always like a banding across a section of wall as shown in the one image below. The last two shots below are purely to illustrate the "feature wall" - nothing more. I definitely don't want any plastic yellow chairs in my lounge... well, um, maybe in some random corner that nobody except the cat uses... :)

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

The living, dining area and kitchen will all be open plan which I am thrilled about because I love to cook as well as entertain and it is always nice when you can do that without feeling isolated from the social activity happening in the home - something which I have never had the pleasure of experiencing before as all the homes I have stayed in thus far have had separate kitchens.


the kitchen.png

I would love the kitchen area to incorporate some warm and bold colours, perhaps orange... and the pop of turquoise on a feature wall in the living area will help to link the colour palettes really well, without them overlapping - keeping each specific spaces identity in tact. Mostly, I would like the kitchen to be a good balance of rustic as well as clean... so again, the wood but combined with white and then the pops of colour.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


dining area.png

Probably the most important area of the home if you ask me. This is where all the good stuff happens! I want it to be elegant, yet relaxed - comfy and welcoming. I also want it to be fun, so I think A little more of the eclectic side of my nature will probably shine in particular part of the home.

A greater mix of colour, some focal floor tiles, mis-matched dining room table chairs and plenty of character - FUN! A little bit of modern meets vintage. A space where all personalities and tastes meet in the middle and appreciate all the facets of each slice of individuality over a good meal, a great glass of wine and endless conversation.

image.png

image.png

image.png


bedroom.png

Jude's bedroom would probably have to be left to an entirely separate post, lol - he is at an age now where he knows what he likes and doesn't... so his input, combined with my adult guidance is where we would start... but as for the main bedroom... I have always been a fan of white. Your bedroom should be a place and space of complete tranquility and peace... white creates that... add a few light warm greys, a spot or two of warmer tones, other accents and you have a beautiful resting space, perfect for afternoon naps as the sun filters in across the bed. The key in this particular space of the home, for me anyway... is casual simplicity!

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


the bathroom.png

Another space in the house which should have a clean cut feel, is the main bathroom. I quite like a decadent bathroom though... again, something bold and creative... mixing geometric with old world. I had a bathroom once before with a black and white checkered floor and I loved it! I probably wouldn't go with checkered... probably something a little more ornate... but again, fun!

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

So there you have it! My internal "processing" and planning moving forward. Nothing I do in terms of decor is ever "cookie cut"... I mix and match, get the imagination involved and more than anything, love creating "something out of nothing - and with nothing at my disposal"... that has ALWAYS been the challenge I enjoyed when furnishing a new space. I look forward to doing the same with this one!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

ll.png

JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


text15.png

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

Hiha wow that couch, that rug and the bathroom what a dream. This is the fun part of building the house the decorating and giving the house a hart and character
Love the colors great blog and inspiring

Thank you sweetie! I had fun turning something that I actually "needed to get to" into a blog. Was a good way to spend the afternoon.

xxx

Erm...Jaynie, could you leave some awesome for the rest of us?

Seriously though, I know perfect doesn't exist, but perfect enough does and yep...I reckon you're going to nail it. But that doesn't surprise me.

lol, thank you. Should prove fun!

Hey @jaynie, I loooove your style, those curtains are just the best! I'm sure you're going to turn your new home into something that could also end up on many people's wishlists. The bicycle stand is such as awesome idea as well! Looking forward to seeing what you do with your new home;)

Thanks honey! Appreciate that! Yeah, I am looking forward to it. And yes, I also loved that bicycle idea!!!!

Aiie, this is not the motivation I need right now to give myself even more house projects to work on! 😂 Once I'm done outside I'm moving inside to the kitchen, and also back to an accent wall; my wall is going to be focused on clocks. Non running, of course, because I do not necessarily want to hear tick-tock-tick-tock from multiple clocks all day, but it'll look brilliant.

I hope.

Thanks for making me want to do more.

my wall is going to be focused on clocks. Non running, of course, because I do not necessarily want to hear tick-tock-tick-tock from multiple clocks all day, but it'll look brilliant.

That is going to look SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! but yes, agreed on the no tick tocking... that would be enough to drive anyone dilly haha!