My day of Flowers (and laundry)

DSC_0010.JPG

That tree almost destroyed the house with me in the basement about 7 yrs ago

So today began with a trip to my old residence, where in exchange for my occasional services as stand-in caregiver, I can come use their machines to wash my clothes.

My niece's husband is a quadriplegic, so when she has to go to the Dr herself, I go and "baby sit" (as it were)
DSC_0001.JPG
While the clothes were washing and he was fiddling on his computer, I walked around catching some delightful, if I don't mind saying so myself, images of the flowers around their home.
DSC_0005.JPG
Most are from her back deck
DSC_0006.JPG
New Guinea Hybrid Impatiens I think
DSC_0012.JPG
a piece of "Folderal" hanging from a porch swing
DSC_0014.JPG
↑From the patch of woods out back↓
DSC_0015.JPG
Then, moving around the house to the front yard
DSC_0017.JPG
↑I'm kinda proud of that one↑
DSC_0019.JPG
↓I don't know what these are↓ but they take no maintenance, grow and flourish in dry, poor soil↓
DSC_0020.JPG
↑And they never stop blooming!↑
DSC_0021.JPG
I had NO IDEA she had a statue of me in her flower beds
DSC_0022.JPG
↑I just love that Iris↑, then the ↓"Stump Rose"↓ from the opposite direction
DSC_0025.JPG
And thus ends my

"Day of Flowers"

and laundry
by

Jerry E Smith
©04/27/2020
All images original, taken with my Nikon D5600

These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



cyktlq.png

Sort:  

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.


Vote @bdcommunity as a Hive Witness.


Are you a Splinterlands player? Get instant 3% cashback on every card purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket has the highest revenue sharing in the space, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

BDVoter Team

Thank you very much @bdvoter.cur.
No, I don't play games, but thank you anyway

Great flower posts!!

Beautiful photos Jerry. 💕

Wao what beautiful photographs, I loved your publication, colorful waste of nature that is undoubtedly the best gift in sight. Thanks for sharing, my support and my reblog ready! A hug from Venezuela (your photography looks great).. @jerrytsuseer

¿colorful waste of nature?
Surely there is a mistranslation there somewhere @marybellrg,
But I thank you for you comment, vote and reblog ♥️

I'm sure the translator failed, I don't speak English, a thousand apologies, but none of this is foolproof. Thanks for the observation, the flowers are beautiful, I loved the colors. Thanks for the correction. Greetings.

Wow that seems like such a lovely residence. I love how everything has a shade of green around the place! Nothing beats nature :)

I agree @simplylife. When I lived with them, the labor of my back and hands were required to help keep all that healthy.
I didn't mind that so much, but it was required on top of all day cleaning, washing dishes, taking out trash AND being "Go To Caregiver" (all unpaid) all the time working outside (at a job) AND paying them rent.
Those are the reasons (after years of build up) which required I seek other living arrangements. 😒

I can totally understand that Jerry. It's sad isn't it...how you can spend so much to build something, only to have to let it go.

I'm not sure if you do understand @simplylife, at least in this instance.

  1. I spent 7 yrs living with them, in their basement, in my opinion being taken advantage of and taken for granted.
  2. I love my niece, we are the same age and were close(er) when young and my sister would bring her family from Ohio to Ga for a visit, but then life happened;
    I became a drug and alcohol addict, she got married and became a control freak.
  3. I began my recovery in 2008, just before coming to "help them move" so I was still floundering around trying to get my footing. They ¿gave? me a safe. warm place to stay, but at the same time I was being used, just like many of the drug dealers used me.
    Their house is beautiful, it is not mine and I did not build it.
    THEIR existence is abysmal, since he is paralyzed from the neck down and SHE is the only one he will allow (other than me) to care for him, so she is his body slave.

Should something (god forbid) happen to her, I know he assumes I will step in to be his 23/7/365 caregiver, and I'm sorry, that ain't gonna happen.
I'm 65 now, having wasted most of my youth and health, now I have enough income to live, and perhaps travel for a while before I TOO, will be faced with life altering health circumstances.

Oh yes, I did misunderstand it the first time. I'm probably not in my right frame of mind recently, so I think I missed the meaning. Sorry about that.

I get it now, thanks for clearing that 🙂

No problem on my end, I hope I didn't offend you.
I didn't mean to. My tone offends folks,
And I get short and snippy without
Meaning to.
image.png

No no, not at all.

I don't know what these are↓ but they take no maintenance, grow and flourish in dry, poor soil..

Looks like our lovely local flower that has good medicinal use, Natal sour fig (Carpobrotus dimidiatus), thrives in poor soil and hot dry area.

Enjoying the garden and everything in it is one way of keeping outdoors, have a lovely day Jerry.

Thank you @joanstewart, for commenting and for that name, Now when I look it up
I may come ask you about those "Medicinal uses"

It's amazing how they maintain that beautiful flowers and beautiful surroundings. I adore those people who always want their environment clean, green and beautiful. That first image was a nice scene.

Thank you @mrnightmare, I agree that it IS beautiful, and it gives her distraction
(working on the plants and watering etc) from her high stress
Life. However, she is one of those folks who will buy a plant, stick it
In the ground,(or a pot) and when it begins to decline for whatever
Reason, will pull it up, toss it and plant something else.
To me, that is like buying a dog, when it starts
To get old or sick, you toss it? No you don't
To me, my plants are just as alive as a
Dog or cat, and I've kept my plants
Through every move from place
To place for years, and it
Ain't easy, but I do it.
They are my pets
Sort of.
image.png

Lovely captures of the flowers around your niece’s home. Cute little statue of you in the garden. 🤣

Thank you Joanne, I'm glad you like my post.
The statue doesn't look so much like me
Since I shaved my beard 🤣

That is a gracious trade-off. I am sure that she is more thankful than you will ever know.

The flowers are gorgeous, so many pops of pretty to make bring forth a smile or three. You pushed this post together nicely, adding and subtracting in exactly the right places.

Have a wonderful week!

Upped and Reposted

!tip

Thank you very much Denise my love, I appreciate all the help and encouragement
I can get @dswigle, very much so!

Really cool post Jerry. Visually stunning, glorious photographs.

I understand the bittersweet part too. About a year after I sobered up I could not get a job so moved 100 miles into my brother's basement. It was a brand new house and yard for him, and he might have been punching over his weight class when he bought it. I traded yard work (a mostly abandoned jungle from the previous owner) for room and board. He specifically asked me to NOT find a job for a couple months.

It was damn hard work, but the results were stunning. I lived there 6 months until I had a good job and money to support myself. It was really good for both of us and I look back at that with a smile. I know it could have been so much different.

Thanks for a really good post and a look at you. I appreciate them both.

Thank you so much for this comment @bigtom13. My journey to sobriety was really
Complex, and fraught with pitfall at every turn.
I have a problem with anger management, resentments etc mostly due to PTSD
But every recovering addict user is a different case, and each step along
That journey could turn out in so many different ways... it is almost a
Miracle that anyone gets clean and sober in our society. I think our
Capitalistic world would rather we stay users, to profit off our
Addictions in many different ways.
Bah! Such a downer I am. Stay well my friend

Beautiful, beautiful flowers! Makes me smile, thank you @jerrytsuseer! 😃 Be well!

Good Morning @birdsinparadise, I am very happy you liked the images.

Feels good to see so many flowers in your post! The residence grounds look nice and well maintained. Spring has finally arrived here. In a week or two we will have an explosion of colours. Stay safe!

Thank you @lymepoet, you stay safe as well.
Glad you liked my flower post

What a lovely flower series! I like your photos and think you did a great job on them! Thanks for sharing the beauty! 😊

Thank you so much @thekittygirl,
I am very pleased you were pleased.
image.png

Nice stump flower pot! We used to have one of those. Eventually we had the stump torn out. It was about the size of a small car. Your flower pictures are really stunning.

I also like the statue of you. How charming! Ha ha.

What a nice trade situation you have, @jerrytsuseer!

Why thank you @jayna, I assume you refer to my trade my time there for doing my laundry.
If so yes, that works out great for me; I only live about 6 miles away from them now
Thank you for commenting.

Hello friend @jerrytsuseer

I loved your post and the beautiful flowers that you show in the beautiful photographs that you share with us.

I hope you have a nice day

Hi there @librapensadora (is that 'Book Thinker' in Spanish?)
I am very happy you enjoyed these photos, Thanks for commenting.

I just check google translate, it is either Free Thinker or Proud Thinker.
I think Free thinker is better. 😎

Is Free Thinker hehe

Have a Happy Day

🎁 Hi @jerrytsuseer! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Giving Thanks To The Lights That Shine Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What a lovely garden and so kind of you to 'babysit', must be so difficult for her! Many of those flowers are my favourites, especially the impatiens. Take care of yourself as well @jerrytsuseer!

Thank you @lizelle. I'm glad you liked the post and the flowers

That was a really flowering day.🌺🌸

ha ha ha... I suppose you could say that.
Thanks @mballesteros

Thank you for helping others and finding beauty in nature while doing so, Gnome Jerry!
Stay safe & keep healthy! @jerrytsuseer

Thank you @ninahaskin, I hope you are staying safe and well.
Good Morning!

Love the little Jerry statue! 😁

🤣 well you know, it's just a common garden gnome, but it is all old
Worn out and faded, just like me, so.... I thought I would
Claim some family resemblence.
Thanks @felt.buzz