OUT OF THE MOUTH OF MOM - PowerHouse Creatives Contest - MY ADVICE FROM MOM by @justclickindiva

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Cream  Gray Massage Logo4.png

@jaynie
The ADVICE FROM MOM Contest - WIN THE POST EARNINGS!

A MOM. A MOTHER. She comes in all sizes, shapes, and colors. She may be called any number of names. But whatever you call her, she's someone who gives birth, adopts, agrees or steps in as a female parent.

She takes on the awesome responsibility for that child's well being, both physical and emotional until that child grows to adulthood. Included in that responsibility is sometimes the financial support. And she can give the best love and affection there is to give from one human being to another.

Being a mom can be a rewarding and fulfilling experience. That's not to say that all moms have the best time of it or enjoys every waking moment being a mom. But you can't say you've had enough or want to quit once you've taken on that responsibility.

And..You can't take the child back. You deal with it. And that, I feel, makes a mom a fierce protector, someone with eyes in the back of her head, someone who knows what you're going to do before you do it.

For all the times a child is disrespectful, unruly, or just doesn't listen, a mom just shakes her head, gives a bit of a laugh, walks off, and keeps on being a mom. In essence, a mom loves in spite of. At least that was my mom in dealing with me and my siblings. But me especially.

My mother was born in the 1920s. This era was a particularly harsh one for females. Unfortunate circumstances would prevail in her life. She grew up after the age of four without her own mom. Not that her mom was deceased, but divorce can cause separation nonetheless.

By the time I met her, she was in her mid twenties and had gained plenty of knowledge of how to conduct herself as a mom. With four children already under her belt, she was definitely seasoned and ready for anything I thought I was smart enough to get away with.

Anyone who grew up in a large family can tell you that raising seven young children at the same time is no small feat.

Copy of Cream  Gray Massage Logo3.png

She raised all of us to adulthood. Sadly we lost here about 25 years ago. We all miss her dearly, including the many friends, neighbors, acquaintances whom she befriended and never turned away. She was the most generous woman I know. She was "Big Mama" to everyone outside our family who knew her. She was the funniest, wise, straight-forward, and no-nonsense person I've ever met.

But she left us with her most precious words of advice. Sometimes we loved them (especially when they were about other people), sometimes we hated them, sometimes we didn't want to hear them, sometimes we needed to hear them, and sometimes they was just haha funny. Either way, when she looked us squarely into the eyes, we knew she meant business, so we hung on her every word.

That's why even now whenever we talk of her, one of us will look around and just blurt out one of her classics, such as:

heart_flourish_pink.png

  • It's what's on the inside of you that counts. Take a look sometimes and see what's there.

  • If you think you got it bad, just look around you.

  • If you see someone without a leg, help him to stand on his own; or without an arm, give him a hand.

  • If you meet a man who says he lives with his mama...leave him there. You got enough problems taking care of yourself.

  • If you keep on running after trouble, sooner or later it's gonna stop and let you catch up.

  • Be careful who you step on when you move up cause you may need that person to catch you on when you get knocked back down.

  • If a person can't look you square in the eye when talking to you, they're lying. Pure and simple.

  • If it's in you, it's gotta come out.

  • A fool, is a fool, is a fool...stop holding your breath thinking he's gonna change. You gonna be stuck looking like a fool. Believe you me!

  • Never let a man put his hands on you, except to give you some money and some love. If you can't tell how the hand is coming at you, don't accept either one.

  • If you keep on walking around with gas on your stomach...one of these days you're gonna blow up.

  • Keep others out of your bedroom by feeding them with a long-handled spoon.

  • Don't let your mouth get you in trouble your [behind] can't get you out of.

  • You know how to avoid "she said"? By not telling other folks' business.

  • If you're always on the receiving end, you'll never know what it feels like to give.

  • If every time you see someone they're begging, you hate to see them coming. Don't be like that.

  • Never play favorites and don't listen to tattlers.

AND, this one has served me well.

  • If you don't wanna listen to my advice, I understand the University of Hard Knocks has openings for fools just like you.

heart_flourish_pink.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my Mom's wisdom in her own words.

I'd like to invite @carmenm20 ; @misschance; @antoniarhuiz ; @librepensadora ; @trangbaby ; @isabelpena ; @deni9ssemata ; @darkfemme ; @nildssalazar ; @mariale07 ; and @ambarvegas to join in this PHC Contest.

IF YOU'D LIKE TO JOIN IN THIS CONTEST, JUST SEE THE RULES BELOW:

HOW TO ENTER

Step 1
Create a post titled "My ADVICE FROM MOM contest entry by @yourusername". NB: PLEASE put a link to this post as a part of your introduction paragraph so others know how to enter.

Step 2
Concept of the post detail exampled above. Minimum 300 words.

Step 3
Publish your quote to the Power House Creatives Community Page and share a link to your post in the comments section of this post.

Step 5
Tag 5 of your Hive friends to participate.

Step 6 (only if applicable)
If you share your post to Twitter, please use the hashtag #powerhousecreatives as one of your hashtags so I can easily find the posts.

The contest ends on the 17th November 2020
Winner will be announced on the 18th November 2020

@traciyork 30-day blogging initiative #nablopomo (Day 6 : Published my PHC contest post today)

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published my post for my blog today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Rest in Peace Mom image created by me in Canva utilizing its free background and my personal wreath image.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

Great sharing @justclickindiva 💖. I havent become a mother but I love and admire all of you mothers who are brave, loving, caring and giving their babies unconditional Love. Mom is the greatest gift.
Huge Respect to your beautiful Mother. Lots of my friends and I have talked about having children topic and we have to accept that its not easy to raise babies nowadays. But your Mom raised all 7 people at the same time- aww how strong and amazing she was.💖

Hello. Thanks so very much for stopping by and reading my mom's advice. She was a spit-fire. Take your time in having children. Tell your friends that also. Even with how hard you think it is, it's 10x that. You're not expected to be perfect. Just do the best you can.

I appreciate your kind words about my mom.

Thank you @justclickindiva for such wonderful advices, much appreciated it.

Hello, my friend @justclickindiva

I loved your post.

Your mother's advice is excellent. I will take them into account, as they show innate wisdom in the author of it (your mom).

A big hug

Hello Libre. Thank you for stopping by and reading my mom's wise words. She was one-of-a-kind, and imparted some of that wisdom and tenacity to me, I feel.

Hae a good rest of your weekend. Take care, and stay safe.

What a beautiful way to honor your mother. I really liked your publication and the advice your mom gave you (and you gave us with your post)... it's pure gold.

Blessings ✨

I appreciate your ever-so=kind words. Yes, she was wise in an old=fashioned way. When she was small, she picked cotton in the fields, working all day long. She's stood in the food handout line during the wars. I feel that makes a person strong and gets them ready for future hardships. But what's amazing to me is how mothers can stretch food for a large family.

Have a great rest of your weekend.

What an incredible experience, she really had to live difficult experiences! Many mothers (I think all of them) have that ability to distribute food so that everyone can eat, among many other ability that only mothers have.
It was a pleasure to read your story.

Happy weekend

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you for stopping by and bringing me good news of @thekittygirl's curation on your behalf. I appreciate that she felt my mom's wisdom in her own words were worth sharing with all members of Hive.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 30 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I just realised that I didn’t leave my comment😬 It's what's on the inside of you that counts. Take a look sometimes and see what's there, It's what's on the inside of you that counts. Take a look sometimes and see what's there ~ these are favorite !!
The last one was great for the rally 😬 University of Hard Knock is a great name

That university your mother was talking about ... it has a lot of students nowadays ... but she did provide the wisdom for you and now US not to go there! Thanks for sharing!

I grew up with my Granny as well as my mom, and Granny had tons of those sayings, too. She threw out one-liners effortlessly, and they were full of wisdom I only realized when I was an adult. Thanks for sharing your mom's wisdom with us. !CTP

Love all the common sense wisdom in those pieces of advice. She sounds like a wonderful woman. Thanks for sharing.
!CTP
!ALIVE

@justclickindiva! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀