🖐️ My Five For #ThriveOnHive 👳 by @JustinParke

thriveonhive.png

"No person is able to understand and solve one's own problem better than one's self." - Emperor H.I.M. Haile Selassie I

Hive is not simply a blockchain - it is a decision, a mindset and a like minded community that shares in the growth of such.

THE WHAT, WHY, WHO, WHERE & WHEN OF IT ALL

These are my five...

WHAT

(What Hive offers you as an individual)

     First and foremost, especially under COVID-19 and being stranded in bankrupt Suriname with a failing economy, the Hive blockchain gives me a way to survive.

     There are no jobs here and I can't obtain a work permit anyways. Even if I could find work, because @Sreypov and I's immigration and residency process has come to a halt under the pandemic, and now also a brand new government, we would't

     As I watch our life savings dwindle away, it is nice to see it being replaced with HIVE, something that could be a much more important asset for us in the future.

     Another thing that Hive offers me as an individual is freedom of speech. For example, as a "Rastafarian" (I don't like using this label), I don't admire the Nazi Supporter Henry Ford, so I removed his quote from this template and replaced it with one from Emperor Haile Selassie I of Ethiopia, the man whom Mussolini and the Catholic church tried so hard to kill long before Hitler invaded Poland, and all throughout WWII.

     "No person is able to understand and solve one's own problem better than one's self." – Emperor H.I.M. Haile Selassie I

     "Coming together is a beginning, staying together is progress, and working together is success." – Henry Ford

     Freedom of speech is far from even the top 10 on my list of highly valued freedoms, but I still like knowing it's there. I've been living in countries without full freedom of speech for 10+ years, and it's not something I've ever missed greatly. Most of my wildest ideas I prefer to keep to myself anyways.

WHY

(How Hive is different to other social media and blogging platforms)

     I should compare the Hive blockchain to Facebook, as it is the only other social media platform I engage in or know much about.

     I hate to admit that my interactions with Hivers are much more genuine than my interactions with non-digital friends and family on Facebook, but it's true. I have to be very mindful of what and who I post about on Facebook, especially during this pandemic, and a very divided USA.

     One wrong step on Facebook could end up with me "shunned" by a family member, a weird Amish custom that, for some reason has taken hold in the culture of surrounding non-Amish families.

     Don't get me wrong, I self-censor on Hive too, but only for financial reasons, as one misplaced step on this Hive journey could represent major financial losses.

     I'm a realist, so I must admit there is no social media Shangri-La yet, but the Hive blockchain is the most engaging and entertaining social media platform I've ever been an active member of.

WHO

(People & spaces you find Hive support and gain enthusiasm from)

     That list is a long one, and it would be hard to mention all the communities where I've found awesome people and content. I support and am supported by far too many communities to mention them all within this post, but I'll try and list the ones I put the most efforts into.

     First has to be the underapprecialoved The Terminal Community, ran by some real salt-of-the-Earth Hivers doing painstaking but extremely valuable work for the Hive blockchain. I am the creator of #HiveComic, which lives within The Terminal Community, and supports @TheTerminal as 10% beneficiary.

     I can't mention them without mentioning PowerHouseCreatives Community, spearheaded by the lovely @jaynie, who initiated this #ThriveOnHive challenge. There is a lot of overlap between these two communities.

     I also post frequently within and/or find inspiration from the ReggaeJAHM Community, ASEAN Hive Community (which I am the creator of), NaturalMedicine.io, InnerBlocks, WeedCash.Network, @canna-curate, Home Edders Community, The Man Cave Community and Foodies Bee Hive Community.

     My Hive engagement legend has to be the @joshman, who answered tons of questions and guided me early in my Hive (Stee*it back then) journey, and also helped me reach dolphinhood.

     Commenting legends are @thekittygirl and @trincowski, whose names are constantly in the comments section of my family's posts, always full of inspiring and uplifting words. Your comments are just as valuable to us as whale upvotes, just so you know.

     There are many more folks I get inspiration from, and my own family shouldn't go without being mentioned, the @KidSisters and @Sreypov, have allowed me to witness a Hive journey through a different worldview than my own.

     I get lots of inspiration from the posts of @dmilliz, @chrisinphuket, @riverflows, @vincentnijman, @belemo, @wolfofnostreet and @kennyroy, but there are too many awesome Hivers to mention all of them here.

     Last but not least are the major upvotes which I've received that have kept my family financially alive as we eternally wait for the right borders to open and appropriate plane ticket prices. @canadian-coconut, @themarkymark, and @buildawhale have all given me long-term support, and in turn I've tried to always provide the highest grade content I am capable of producing.

WHERE

(The front ends / Dapps of your choice and why)

     This section doesn't need to be long at all, as I basically build every single post within Peakd.com, even if I plan on transferring the post body to another frontend and releasing it from there.

     Peakd.com is just too user-friendly, so it's an easy choice on using which frontend to design a draft. I use a few other Dapps for various things, such as PinMapple, Ecency - formerly eSteem, 3Speak and TravelFeed.io.

     PinMapple is great for dropping geo-tag on your post, especially if it is an awesome travel-related post. TravelFeed.io is a great place to post primo travel content. I use Ecency for commenting and interacting with posts, and I use 3Speak as my main video uploading platform.

WHEN

(There wasn't a when in the original #thriveonhive draft)

     I added this "WHEN" section myself, as I only counted four question words, and this is 🖐️ My Five For #ThriveOnHive, right?

     I was on Hive before it was cool, back when it was called Slammit, no...Stormit, Shoomit, doesn't matter, can't remember. Anywho, I was merely a viewer of the blockchain for a year or more before becoming active.

     In my daily life, Hive is from morning to evening, as it is now my full-time job, and one of the few sources of income I am able to get from here in bankrupt Suriname.

#THRIVEONHIVE

(My final thoughts & conclusion)

     In closing I feel it best to say that Hive is a really interesting experiment, and one I truly believe in. I love seeing new Dapps, new ideas and problems that Hive can be a solution too.

     Once we're back in Cambodia, I fully intend to open up a Hive-Blogging School, and I would be glad to accept HIVE as a payment. I would really love to see HIVE used as a direct payment instead of something most users eventually exchange for Bitcoin.

     We hope to be the Hive spark in Cambodia once we get back there, and I feel the cheap cost of living really gives us freedom to experiment with business ideas like these.

MY SHOUTOUTS

(Tag 5 people to join in on the fun!)

     @InALittleWhile is the one who summoned me here, so I shall pay it forward and hail 5 more Hivers.

     I think this #ThriveOnHive challenge might be something the family can do, plus I know a few other people I can tag to join in on this challenge.

@Sreypov
@KidSisters
@ChrisInPhuket
@ElizaCheng
@KennyRoy

text15.png

TO THOSE JOINING IN....


1)Create your own selfie with the tag #THRIVEONHIVE - similar to the headers you have seen.

2)Copy the same post format and insert your OWN feedback and insight under the relevant headings.

3)Tag 5 people to join in!

4)If you are on Twitter... share your post using the tags #thriveonhive #powerhousecreatives #hiveisalive #hive

  1. Use the following tags on your post: thriveonhive, powerhousecreatives, hive (additional tags up to you)

  2. PLEASE PUBLISH YOUR POST TO THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES COMMUNITY FEED – IE. https://peakd.com/c/hive-114105/created


text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

🙏 THANKS FOR READING 🙏

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and reblog.

ReggaeJAHMLogo.png
Untitled.png
pinmapplefinal.png
Abundance.Tribe.png

Sort:  

Seeing your posts always puts a smile on my face and I'm happy you got all the support you get. Thanks for mentioning me and did you know that wolfofnostreet is my girlfriend? We actually talked about you and she only had nice things to say about you and how you supported her in the Minnow acceleration program.

I hope everything works out for you and this whole situation gets fixed. Looking forward to better days ahead bro

Give thanks @belemo. I knew you knew @wolfofnostreet, but not in the biblical sense of the word. I remember seeing one of you post about meeting the other one, so I knew you must not be far from each other in Nigeria.

Well, makes sense, the two of you have an awesome sense of humor, and that's why I enjoy reading your posts.

!ENGAGE 35

!bro

Thanks Justine. yeah, we currently live in different parts of the country but hopefully, we'll be living together soon.

bro.gif

You have just been bro-fisted by the guys in the man cave and now have 1 more BRO. Enjoy!**

For more info, please give us a look in here: https://discord.gg/qd8J2x3

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 First has to be the underapprecialoved The Terminal Community, ran by some real salt-of-the-Earth Hivers doing painstaking but extremely valuable work for the Hive blockchain. I am the creator of #HiveComic, which lives within The Terminal Community, and supports @TheTerminal as 10% beneficiary.

We are so grateful that you are part of the terminal and we hope you and your family will soon get all your wishes for relocating together. And I also love the COMIC contest Blog soon

Give thanks @brittandjosie. I love @TheTerminal, you are all such bright, lovely and helpful folks. Supporting the project a bit with the #hivecomic is the least I could go.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for the shout-out! 😊 Great job on the #thriveonhive post! 🙌

No problem, thank you for being such a positive part of my family's Hive journey.

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This got me looking up some history. I really had a big blank where Haile Selassie is concerned. I thought I remembered he had been accused of human rights abuses, or worse, and couldn't remember much else at all. So I learned quite a bit by going to Wikipedia. That's so interesting that his fame lives on and that he's now a religious figure in the Rastafari movement. Wow!!

It must be challenging to be stuck in place due to the pandemic. I'm so glad Hive is helping to support you. That is an amazing thing, and something Facebook will never ever do for you.

I hate to admit that my interactions with Hivers are much more genuine than my interactions with non-digital friends and family on Facebook, but it's true. I have to be very mindful of what and who I post about on Facebook, especially during this pandemic, and a very divided USA.

Oh my, you nailed it. I said something related in my own #thriveonhive post, about most social media just feeling like it has the illusion of being about social connection. By contrast, Hive is where you get to be real. I don't understand it. Maybe it's because in the micro-social universe (a bunch of people mostly connecting within their geographic region) the environment invites judgement. "You look kind of like me, so why don't you think the same way?" But in the macro-social universe no one would expect others to conform to their narrow views and beliefs so therefore, by its very nature, a globally-oriented social platform is more accepting. Just a theory.

Your children absolutely way too cute!

Thanks for the kind words @jayna.

Funny how interactions with Hive strangers are more genuine than FB interactions with family and friends.

There has been a lot of international effort to discredit Emperor Haile Selassie I's reputation. After all, he was such a threat to the power structures of the world, that WWII was started all in order to remove him from power.

Haile Selassie I tried to prevent WWII, warned the League of Nations about Mussolini and the slaughter of his people. The world turned their back on Haile Selassie I, even the USA and the UK, and the greatest human rights abuses in the world happened because the world neglected the Emperor's words. Always two sides to history.

!ENGAGE 100

So true - about two sides to every story. In fact if I could give our world powers, our media, and our citizens who are seeking information on what is happening around the world, and why, it would be that one thing. Don’t make a decision about what’s true until you get the picture from more than one angle.

Thank you for the Engage token, @justinparke. And also for the historic background.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This is the unquestionably most unique #thriveonhive post I've read. Just marvelous, from the quote change to the last word. Very nicely done!

You and I might possibly disagree on some details, but not the ones that make us brothers in Hive. I also believe in the possibility of this place. I'll be really, really interested to see the (results seems a bad word here) effect of your Hive school.

Yep, I'm going to have to follow you to keep track. Thanks for a truly refreshing and great post.

Give thanks @bigtom13.

I acknowledge the Hive school will be an experiment to say the least, but the potential income, even within the first week, may be enough to give rural Cambodians more life choices.

Given you a follow as well, not sure I've made your acquaintance on Hive yet.

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Nice idea of having a school on Cambodia. I do hope you’ll be able to follow your plan for traveling soon!

Fingers crossed, hoping things change soon.

!ENGAGE 10

Yup! Fingers crossed! And pray for good vibes!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for the tip!

Nice quotation change out!

You got er done and at precisely the perfect time. Reblogged and Tweeted. I'm on hiatus from FB. 😁

I do my best, thanks lighting a fire under my arse to take part in this. FB is a hot mess right now, especially if you're an American.

!ENGAGE 10

I bet it is. Makes me smile thinking about what I'm not missing. 😁

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @justinparke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day