My Head's Filled With Secrets, Monsters & Heroes

My week has been lost in ebooks and audiobooks, till I got a headache- a headache so bad, my whole Saturday was wasted trying to shake it off. Too much of a good thing I suppose. Now I understand @mariannewest's obsession with audiobooks. Listening to stories while doing my chores made it almost fun.

Why did I not try this sooner?

Yeah, sometimes I like hanging on to the familiar... I think you call it resistance to change...

When it was time to buy my first car, even though I had many pros to why I should get an automatic (I'd drive mostly in trafficked city roads), I insisted on a manual. Where's the fun with no gear-shift right?

When clubs started switching to CD DJ-mixers, I hung on to my vinyl for dear life. These days, you don't even need CDs anymore. How do you scratch and feel the beat if you can't touch the "music"?

Took me some time to pay with my debit cards. I've had quite a number of incidents with the salesperson insisting I could just pay with my card and me insisting they give me a couple of minutes while I run in search of the nearest ATM for cash.

I know, I know... many are shocked that I am dabbling in Crypto - unbelievable!!

So back to the ebooks and audiobooks. I had subscribed to scrbd some months back but after reading a couple of books, I found the app would heat up my phone and suck out my battery life. And so I uninstalled it. Then this week, as I had less time on my laptop (the kids need it for school work), I decided to give the mobile app another try and yay!! Not heating up my phone or sucking my battery life. So since Monday, the stories that filled my head...

story.png

Go Ask Alice by Simon & Schuster
This book was introduced to me by @stevenson7 in the Hive Book Club and even though, he gave the ending away haha, he did such a good job reviewing it, I was compelled to read it. Which I did half-way on my laptop before I was told I had to come back in a couple of days to finish the book. What?!!

This is what made me check the audiobook and surprisingly there were no restrictions to it and so I subsequently downloaded the app to listen and you know the rest.

It's about a teen who is addicted to drugs after unintentionally trying it at a party. The book is actually her diary and the thing she said about parents picking on children's hair made me promise myself to stop picking on my kids and how they want to wear their hair.

──── ⋆⋅❣️⋅⋆ ────

The Stillwater Girls by Minka Kent
Narrated by Lauren Ezzo and Melissa Moran

The story is told alternately between two characters, Wren and Nicolette. One is a young woman living in the woods, with no modern-day amenities, waiting with her sister for the return of her mother and youngest sister, who had left almost 2 months ago. And the other, a wealthy woman who believes her husband is cheating on her.

It's about kidnapping and how the kids are tucked away so nobody can find them. You won't be disappointed if you like happy endings and all questions are answered by the end of the story.

──── ⋆⋅❣️⋅⋆ ────

The Sky is Falling by Sidney Sheldon
Narrated by Karen Allen

TV anchorwoman Dana Evans starts to investigate the death of the charismatic Taylor Winthrop. Racing through countries, unearthing secrets, putting her young son in danger and possibly losing her fiance to his ex makes for a twisted tale to get your heart racing.

But out of all of Sheldon's books that I've read, Master of The Game tops it for me. It explores every twisted emotion and action humanely possible. I was tempted to listen to the book, because it has been at least 3 decades ago since I last read it, but instead, I listened to the sequel.

──── ⋆⋅❣️⋅⋆ ────

Mistress of the Game by Sidney Sheldon and Tilly Bagshawe
Narrated by Karen Ziemba

The story continues with more twists and turns of the Blackwells and what they are capable of. The book is filled with more secrets, greed, manipulation, determination and the like. And the way it ended makes you want more.

──── ⋆⋅❣️⋅⋆ ────

And that wraps the books for the week. I am reading Shantaram by George David Roberts because I still do enjoy reading. I would love to flip pages, but ebooks will grow on me (fingers crossed).

Just to throw it in there, in between all this, I managed to watch Sweet Home, Netflix's Original K-Drama Thriller-Drama series with monsters and heroes.

The White Tiger, another Netflix original about a servant's rise from a poor villager to a successful entrepreneur with secrets to be ashamed of.

And for tonight, we are probably going to watch Lupin, which is apparently getting more views and raves than The Queen's Gambit.

Netflix is a family thing since reading/listening is a solo one. Looks like this round of Lockdown will fill my head with all kinds of stories and a clean house too - haha

Hey, have you got any audiobook recommendations for me? Please share.

Thank you for reading😊
Till next time, Carpe Diem❣️
Sh33la

Sort:  

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Omg! You really had a fun-filled week (my kind of week)! I guess most of us are resistant to change as I took a while adjusting to my auto transmission before letting go my shift gear car. 😄

You read all these books just this week alone! 😖 I can't wait to grow my hive account to the point I have enough free time on my hands to read as I used to! I still prefer paperbacks and ebooks to audio.

Very interesting books you reviewed here. I'll add them to my tbr list. I have read Master of Game too and it was like my best Sheldon's. I'll have to get Mistress and read up. I don't have any audio books to share at the moment but I certainly will when I do. Thanks for sharing, I enjoyed reading your post. 😊

It is the audiobooks that helped me get through more than 1 a week
I can multitask, listen and go about the cooking, cleaning, laundry while the kids do their distant learning using. my laptop and the hubs works on his laptop

I too prefered paperbacks which is why it has taken me so long to even try listening to an audiobook... so I totally get you :D

Thank you for dropping in @kemmyb

I've never tried audiobooks before. Could you share the app so I can try it out ?
If I'm home, I would on my TV and let whatever is playing on run on it's own though I don't focus much on it. Just needed some background voices to keep the silence in the apartment away.

The one I am subscribed to is scribd :D
Not every narrator will be your cup of tea, but there are tonnes of audiobooks you can choose from :D

First off, I'd gotta say thank you for the compliment and also I apologize for the spoiler, ;) I'm Happy you picked that up from the book too.

Its very commendable how you've juggled all this task together and still come out top. You still were able to watch Netflix and the likes, its brilliant. I started Watching queens gambit, i hope its good.

Turns out you're a fan of Sidney Sheldon as I am, but you're a real fan than me, haha. I have 4 books of Sidney Sheldon on my e-library, "bloodline" "a stranger in the mirror" "the other side of midnight" "if tomorrow comes", and I have only being able to read the last one only halfway after so long, I hope I get to them soon.

I tried audio books once and it turns out i get distracted way too easily, silly me. I only listen on transit. I currently have "rich dad poor dad" by Robert Kiyosaki.

Finally, i deal in ebooks and a very small hard copy library but I will always choose hardcopy. Your post was great, I have more S.S books to add toy library, haha.

Have A good one.

I loved The Queen's Gambit - I am sure you will too :D
Yes, I love Sidney's twisted tales of the human psyche haha
You have to read Master of the Game :D

Perhaps you are more visual than auditory... not that I know what my style is
Also, perhaps it worked for me because I was doing chores and my kids stay away from me when I do chores in case they have to do something for me hahaha

I think that's the magic and PS, you style is perfect ;)

Thank you for choosing to publish your content to The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE Community, however we have recently undergone a complete revamp and re-brand (from PHC to Lifestyle Lounge) and the outline of suitable content for this community has changed dramatically. You can read THIS post to get a clearer idea of what type of content is now suitable for publishing in our community, or you can skip straight to the new community guidelines HERE

Hope to see you in our feed again with some awesome lifestyle content!

Please note that content which is not suited to the Lifestyle Lounge community will be muted – thank you for your understanding.

ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER