Hike #77 Heughs Canyon In The Dark

img_3916.jpg

It's probably a little corny. But I feel like this hike is what started me doing a lot of crazy things. I decided to go for a walk last minute on Halloween. I was struggling with my feelings over relationship stuff. I went when there was still light outside, and I didn't expect it to get dark. But just in case, I did bring my light. Good thing I did. As I noticed the sun going down, I rushed to get back to my car. I had never gone for a hike at night before. And the thought of it horrified me. I was barely starting to hike alone at this point. I also wasn't in a good place in my head. Eventually, it got dark, and I wasn't back to my car. I still had a lot of the trail left.

img_3866.jpg

I was horrified. Without my light, it was pitch black. Every time I heard a sound around me, I thought it was a wild animal that would hurt me. Or a serial killer was lurking in the bushes. All I had was a walking stick. I didn't have any weapons on me. At one point, I almost screamed when I saw a man standing there on the trail just looking at me. He was wearing white, so he was easy to see with my light. He was an older man, Who was taking a short break. He said hello, and that was it. It appears he also got caught in the dark.

Eventually, I ran into a couple who complimented my bravery for hiking alone in the dark. But I had no choice; I didn't choose to walk alone in the darkness, and it was merely a consequence of my actions leaving too late, being random as hell.
img_3922.jpg

I was shaking uncontrollably, so freaking scared. Every step seemed like it took forever. I wanted to be in my car more than anything, but I could do nothing. Except keep going despite it being not very pleasant. When I finally got back to my vehicle it felt like a massive accomplishment.
The fact that I made it through. Despite being so freaking scared. It made me realize many things in my life I had been waiting to do But stopped myself because I was afraid; there were no other reasons for it except the fear. Something that I wanted to do with my life, like getting a tattoo, having the confidence to tell someone how I truly feel, not going to events because I'm afraid of people, then stupid little things, like talking on the phone or the radio at work.Staying in an unhappy relationship. Or not posting videos of my face.
It's incredible how many things we don't do because we're scared. Sometimes we don't realize that fear is the underlying reason. That we become our worst enemies making excuses and trying to justify why we are not doing something. But at the end of the day, it's all bullshit. You must be realistic with what you want out of life, and you must be realistic about the price.
It would be best if you started taking those actions, even smaller ones at first, like talking on the phone, to get yourself up to go to a business conference eventually. Maybe that sounds like a big difference, but it's not. This hike started everything; shortly after this, I got my first tattoo, I then told the person how I felt; I got rejected. But at that point didn't matter anymore because I started doing things to scare the shit out of me. I never imagined I'd start learning Japanese again or even go to a business conference because I was just too freaking scared. Little did I know, That six months after this hike, I would start doing all of those things. This hike changed everything.img_3864.jpg

img_3907.jpg

img_3909.jpg

Sort:  

This is a really magnificent experience ❤️ I found that very interesting.
Very impressive photography and article. God bless you dear @kaylinart

@kaylinart Wow - A trek in such low light! I admire your courage. This is a new side of you I am seeing I think!
From personal experience, I know how scary it can get on an unfamiliar trail at dusk or early daybreak, when it is almost dark. I go into jungles regularly for my wildlife and bird photography.
So - hats off. Great share and great accomplishment.

singature small avatar.png

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kaylinart.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more