Book Review | A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

A closed case. An A-grade student who won't let it go.

• • •

1998CAM_2020_08_15_15_42_54_FN.jpg

Trigger Warning: Murder, Rape, Drugs, Violence, Animal Cruelty


Synopsis from Goodreads

The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the murder, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn't so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final year project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth?

• • •

"A Good Girl's Guide to Murder" is a debut novel by Holly Jackson. The book is about a 17-year-old straight-A high school student, Pippa Fitz-Amobi, who decided to investigate a murder for her senior capstone project. The crime happened five years ago. A pretty and popular girl from Connecticut High School named Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who killed himself a few days later because of guilt.

Sal was consistently kind to Pip when she was a kid. That alone resulted in her doubting the original investigation. Pip had a feeling that there was more than what was investigated and published. Pip thinks that her project is the key to finding what really happened five years ago and could lead to proving the innocence of the kind guy she knew.

From a simple investigation, it became an obsession. She teamed up with Sal's younger brother to solve the murder case. She immersed herself in Andie Bell's life and soon discovered a trail of dark secrets. Her person of interest list becomes longer.


THOUGHTS


I had mixed emotions because of this book — anger, shock, second-hand embarrassment, and sadness. I even shed tears. I like how the romantic relationship was not highlighted nor rushed. But I do have one issue regarding this book. I am not gonna disclose it, though.

As the story goes, Pip's obsession makes her very impulsive in her every decision and her moves. An act of bravery and a touch of stupidity, I must say. Pip was sinusoidally developing. It was both good and bad. I had a few moments where I was deeply annoyed by her. But still, my heart was racing because of her decisions.

Nevertheless, I did enjoy the book. The lengthy list of person of interest had me predicting numerous times. It is well-constructed with plot twists. In between chapters, the book has a production log and a transcript of the interview conducted by Pip. Sorting the three makes the flow of the book a pleasant one. It becomes more perceptible and easier to understand. Reading it feels like I'm reading through the journal of Pippa.

I highly recommend this book if you love YA Contemporary Mystery. If you love audiobooks, then better go for its audiobook. I listened while doing my laundry. It was undeniably good.

Also, this book comes in a series. There will be two sequels and book two is already out last April 2020.


Rating : ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


This is my first time writing a legit book review (or maybe not a legit). I have Goodreads but I seldom write one. I decided to pursue this book review, as what I have mentioned in my Hive Introduction, so I can read more and reach my quota per year. I've been slacking for several months and this might help me through.



K N E E L Y R A C
InstagramTwitterGoodreads

Sort:  

I think this is as proper as book reviews go. And you worded and formatted it beautifully. I'm curious, how did you do that initial Goodreads synopsis box? 🤔

This looks like a whodunit mystery book. I'm not much into YA but the plot insinuates it'd be a fun book to read.

I'm glad you finally went through writing it. Hoping to see more book reviews from you. 😊

I use the table (the second one), then use 'break' after the header and in between the paragraph. You can also use code syntax (the first one). Though the letters appear smaller.

image.png

Thank you! Yes. That's the right term whodunit. If you give this one a chance, let me know if you like this book.😁

Hopefully!! I'm still stuck with book two. 🤣 Planning to read another book with a different genre. Then I can write again the next weekend. 😁

Since you listen to audiobooks as well—good luck with the next book! 😃

Thanks! I've never really messed with that setting. You know a lot about formatting it seems! 😯

Not a lot. Just a few. My work uses markdown but only a few are applicable in this front end. Try exploring the settings. It's fun. 😁

Shared to Twitter

Congratulations @kneelyrac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER