Spirit of the Scents

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Walking through my garden with the abundance of fragrance from flowering plants made me think of how we all leave our own special fragrance on life's pathways.

GARDENIA

IMG_20181028_073750_1.jpg

The intoxicating sensual fragrance of the Gardenia reminds me of those special friends whose moods swing from high and exuberant to being down in the doldrums.
They shine and lighten up the room when they’re on a high, but withdraw when down.

Just like the Gardenia that blossoms into a stunning white fragrant flower overnight but suddenly withers, shrivels up and dies before you know it.


LAVENDER

IMG_20171123_100333.jpg

The delightful delicate fragrance of Lavender reminds me of the gentle souls that come into our lives; those who encourage and soothe with a kind word or gesture.

They are the quiet demure ones who attract people without even trying; the ones who have a willing ear, give the best advice and manage to calm the most volatile situations.


YESTERDAY TODAY & TOMORROW

IMG_20180923_071154.jpg

The exquisite intense fragrance of the Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow with its shades of purple, lilac and white is reminiscent of those friends who are the life and soul of the party.

Those divas with the bold makeup, wild hairstyles and dressed to kill are the ones who make grand entrances wherever they go!

What would life be without these colourful friends?


JASMINE

IMG_20181002_074012.jpg

The sweet nectar of Jasmine attracts butterflies, bees and birds, a sure reminder of the pretty and well-endowed gals who are like magnets to the guys who cannot help but hang onto their every word!


STRING OF PEARLS

IMG_20170608_145250.jpg

As dusk settles in, the spicy clove & cinnamon scented String of Pearls gets stronger, as do most of these other fragrant flowers.

Don’t we all have at least one drama queen in our circle of friends?
The one who has the knack of turning ordinary events into a soap opera!

They know everything about everybody, and if you need to find out what's happening in someone’s life, they are the ones you call.

These friends certainly add spice to life!

floral page break.png

So my friends, have you thought about what scent you leave behind?

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  

Friends are our flowers in the garden of life. Beautifully written @lizelle.

They certainly are, I've known a couple who are real angels, disguised as people:)
Nice seeing you Ceci!

What a stunningly lovely post. That's serious stuff right there. I just love the way you compared those scents to people in your life. Really nicely done.

Here, in the spring, we have wild verbena. At first it is a gentle sweetness and after a couple of weeks it is almost oppressive and everywhere. It's too much sometimes. After a month or so, it starts to leave-and I really miss it when it's gone, leaving anticipation for the return.

When I saw your post title I thought you were after the letter S. I was already composing my first sentence. :)

Thanks Lizelle. It's a wonderful piece.

I'm so very glad you enjoyed it @bigtom13! Some of these scents also become overpowering as they age, almost like some of us when we try too hard not so.
But just like you, I really miss it when there's no more flowers left with that glorious scent all gone!
Thank you so much for the lovely comments, really appreciate it!
PS I do like the scent you leave behind here;)

Friends and flowers do spice up life, some flowers definitely trigger fond memories linking plant to person always, I think here of the Gardenia which my Mom loved, had one in their garden, my offshoot of the same plant got eaten by termites here at the coast.

Have a wonderful weekends and #alwaysaflower to take us further in nature.

@tipu curate

Gardenia was very popular back in my younger days, my mother-in-law had one growing in her garden as well. I'm going to have to watch out for termites then, I have seen ants on it, will have to spray it.
Thank you for the nice feedback Joan, have a lovely weekend as well!

amzaing look

Thank you:)

Beautiful flowers!

This is great Lizelle. I enjoyed reading the characteristics of each and could see myself in some. 😁

Funny I see myself in some of these as well, a bit of a mix though;)
Thank you for stopping by @redheadpei, nice seeing you here.

Hi @lizelle, really enjoyed reading your article. I wish I can smell all these flowers myself. I can't find myself among all these friends of yours hahahha, I am mostly quiet and a home type person, so I am always inside my home all the time. Some of my friends have gotten tired of trying to meet me. They can call me and chat over WhatsApp but it's very rare that I join any gatherings. I am an introvert so that's why :) . Have a nic! cheers, ainie

Hi @lizelle, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON